We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Eiders Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Aylmerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Arrived late evening after a delayed journey and were made very welcome by Caroline. Coffee and chocolate cake went down a treat. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and the wonderful setting overlooking the pond where the ducklings kept us entertained. Will definitely go back on our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed her for 2 nights for a friends wedding and we couldn't have been happier with our choice! A very warm welcome from the owner and an extra bonus of a large chunk of delicious home made cake and tea brought to our room shortly after a quick tour of the accommodation!
Our room was beautifully spacious, tastefully decorated and immaculately clean and tidy! We also had a beautiful view out into the garden and pond!

Unfortunately we arrived too late to eat at the sister hotel restaurant so we popped over the road to the roman inn for food (pretty big standard pub food so head to an alternative if possible)!

Breakfast in the morning was hearty and delicious and the owners sorted a taxi for us to get to the wedding!

On evening return to room was sparkling again and once again a great breakfast was served the next morning.

I cannot recommend this place enough and I hope we have cause to visit the area again so we can once again stay!
Thank you for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lovely B&B in a nice quiet location. Clean rooms, very good breakfast and a wonderful friendly host, who welcomes you with tea and cake. I don't know what the expectations are of those, who have given this place poor rating but I'd like to say that those people have obviously never seen a poor B&B.

I'd ignore the comments about room 5. The room is clean and tidy. There is no mould anywhere. Perhaps, it's been recently decorated. The bathroom can get a little bit damp after showers but it's nothing that can't be cured through airing the room for half an hour or so, which I would've thought is common sense!

The person, who commented on unfriendly hosts should be ignored too. There is nothing wrong with the host. Caroline is a lovely, very helpful and friendly lady and you'd only perceive her as unfriendly if you are a miserable old git yourself. She isn't going to follow you around either.

I am not sure what the comment about lack of garden space is about. The person, who wrote that one, is definitely mad and should probably rent a field and bring his/her own tent for more space instead of staying at a B&B. As far as B&Bs go, there is plenty of space at The Eiders.

All in all, if you are going to compare any B&B with a large 5-star hotel experience somewhere in Central New York, then maybe you aren't going to be happy but most people stay at a B&B for a different experience and if you have reasonable sense of perspective, you will enjoy your stay at this place.

Thanks, Caroline, for letting us stay with you and feed the ducks at breakfast :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank insolitegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Eiders B&B, is a lovely place to to stay, very clean and the view from our room was amazing. Caroline was very welcoming, we had Tea and Cake on arrival which was lovely. They even brought us anniversary card and a box of chocolates. I would recommend this place to family and friends.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony, which face the duck ponds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

What a wonderful place to stay. Very clean with great décor. Caroline the owner was extremely friendly as well as the other staff. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The setting was very peaceful, especially the ducks in the garden and pond. I would thoroughly recommend this bed and breakfast and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I cant say enough about how impressed we were by the Eiders Bed and Breakfast. from the moment we walked into reception we could tell immediately that we had made an excellent choice. Caroline who greeted us was very friendly and welcoming, the room we booked was a Luxury ensuite and to be honest it was Luxury in all aspects. Great views over the Duck pond !! Great breakfast , place was spotless I cant find anything negative to say about the Eiders, would definately recommend 100 %.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

What an amazing stay we had. After a 4 hour journey, greeted by James who was very welcoming and tea and cake was perfect. The whole place was clean, tidy and everything worked, which doesn't sound impressive but after some of the places we've stayed this was very refreshing.
What a fry up!! Ate at 9ish and not hungry again till gone 2. Very high quality food and sat by the window watching the ducks play. Sorry Caroline couldn't not give you 5 star. You will be recommended by us to our family and friends. The bar is set high hahaha. Thank you so much for making us feel so welcome and feeding us so well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff-Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylmerton
2.9 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
785 reviews
2.5 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
367 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 4 in West Runton
162 reviews
1.5 mi away
Felbrigg Lodge
Felbrigg Lodge
#1 of 5 in Aylmerton
559 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Grove
The Grove
#4 of 26 in Cromer
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eiders Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eiders Bed and Breakfast

Address: The Eiders Holt Road, Aylmerton NR11 8QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylmerton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aylmerton
Price Range: £59 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Eiders Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star rated AA quality bed and breakfast, all ground floor rooms, set in 2 acres of wooded gardens, heated swimming pool, Luxury/double, twin and family rooms available, all with en-suites, some with balconies overlooking pond and gardens, varied breakfast menu and special diets no problem, a warm welcome assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Eiders Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eiders Bed And Breakfast Norfolk/Aylmerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing