We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip”
Review of Felbrigg Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Felbrigg Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Aylmerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have stayed at Felbrigg Lodge four times. Each visit has become better and better. We find Dee Dee and her husband seem to be constantly tweeking the site in a very positive way. Anything we have asked for they are only too happy to do. All the staff are very polite, cheerful and helpful, including Dee Dee and her husband Phil.

I think the point that people are missing, is Dee Dee and Phil have never called Felbrigg Lodge the Hilton, but it is truly a luxury B&B. Everything is more than acceptable and the entire staff go above and beyond their means.

Some of these people who moan about places on media sites would probably moan about leaves on the path.

Great place, great people, go and see for yourself.

Rick and Alex Osborne

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felbrigg, Owner at Felbrigg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

It was great to see you both again, and thank you for your comments.....

Yes my latest tweak is we will soon have twelve new members to the family, we will have our own chickens and freshly laid eggs on the breakfast menu....we will run a little competition to name them. With some great prizes...

Come and meet them soon

DeeDee
Xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I stayed for three days in late May. The oak suite is comfortable and relaxing but we can understand how some people think it's dated, we like olde worlde though, rather than clinical. We had an issue with blocked drains following all the rain and this was rectified the next morning. The water bottles were not replenished during the stay but tea and coffee were. We booked bed, breakfast and evening meals. The breakfast is acceptable, lots of choice for cooked but the sausages were not to our taste, almost fruity, a bit too much at breakfast. The evening meals were a bit hit and miss, if you are a good home cook then you may be a bit disappointed. I can see how some visitors can take Dee Dee the wrong way, I don't think she means to be abrupt, I just don't think she realises how she comes across sometimes. The steps into the pool do not have a hand rail and the last step is rather a big drop into the water so beware. The frail may struggle to get in and out safely. The outdoor spa is good when it's warm but again there's no hand rail and just two quite flimsy plastic steps to climb in and out on, having suffered with bad backs, we were quite wary. All in all, a pleasant stay, a little overpriced, we would recommend travelling into town to eat, don't expect too much.

Room Tip: If you want privacy go for the oak suite, otherwise all the others seem nice from the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Vlw70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felbrigg, Owner at Felbrigg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Well I was a bit taken back to be honest when I read your review, as yes it is true your drains were blocked, and I spent 3 hours from 9PM after I had finished Dinners in the pouring rain, in the dark, rodding them and ensuring you could use them that night, even though you said it would be fine I wasnt happy and went the extra mile to ensure they were cleared.........other people would have taken your word and went home.....!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Glad I didnt or what kind of review would you have written then....
You seem a bit two faced to be honest as you clearly didnt give me any impression the food was below your standard or you thought the room was dated.... as I spoke to you both at length you did have every opportunity to discuss every element of your stay, and your bill at checkout if it did not match your expectations in any way...I am truly sorry you feel the way you do, we pride ourselves on the number of repeat customers who are satisfied by what we offer and if you would have only spoken to me face to face we wouldnt be having this conversation over social media... but some people do get strong behind a keyboard I guess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband booked for us to stay in the Willow Suite for our wedding anniversary on Saturday 8th June. The Willow Suite is beautiful set in the woods with an amazing spa bath and its own little garden. We had a wonderfully relaxing stay in the peaceful surroundings. Breakfast was delicious and Deedee and her team were brilliant. Thank you so much and we look forward to staying with you again very soon!!!

Room Tip: The Willow Suite was set on its own very quiet and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0vingmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felbrigg, Owner at Felbrigg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

I love it when guests join us for a special occasion , birthday, anniversary, weddings, honeymoon...to be part of people's memories and part of their lives forever is such a huge responsibility and one we take very seriously.....thank you for allowing us to be part of yours

Look forward to building more lovely memories in the future

DeeDee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have just returned from two days (3rd &4th June) at Felbrigg Lodge.This was our first visit and the accommodation was of a high standard. We stayed in the Chestnut suite and were not disappointed. Philip,Dee Dee and the staff were very accommodating,and friendly. The location is very peaceful with beautiful gardens and surroundings.

John

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felbrigg, Owner at Felbrigg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Glad your first visit was all you wanted it to be....chestnut is one of our favourite and popular rooms.. Next time come and stay in bracken the next room to be refurbished , just organising the colour scheme now...
Have a good summer and enjoy the sunshine....

DeeDee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at the Felbrigg Lodge on Saturday the 31st of May for our wedding anniversary, this is the second year we have stayed here and everything was just as good as last year.It really is the most relaxing stress free expierience, the food both diner and breakfast was fantastic as was the service, roll on next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felbrigg, Owner at Felbrigg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

So glad we are not a one hit wonder and we will be seeing again..

Have a great summer

DeeDee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

we have just returned from a 3 night break at felbrigg lodge and despite the torrential rain we cannot fault the place. the accommodation and staff are first class and nothing is to much trouble for Dee dee and her team. cant wait to revisit and will be bringing the rest of the family

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueBoyIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felbrigg, Owner at Felbrigg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Everyone is delighted you had a great stay despite the weather, most things I control, much to everyones disgust the weather isn't one of them ha ha (if only)
Hope to see you and all the family soon
DeeDee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Thank you Deedee and your team for a most memorable family celebration weekend, all of which was just prefect, from the accommodation to the celebratory meal it just couldn’t have been bettered. What a gem we have here in North Norfolk - we will certainly recommend it to friends and will make a point of returning again soon. Thank you and your team for looking after our family so beautifully!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Realgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felbrigg, Owner at Felbrigg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

It is always lovely to know Felbrigg Lodge gives others so much pleasure....House parties, and Family get together's are what we specialise in....be it birthday, anniversary, small intimate weddings and even renewing vows.... Hope we can be part of another celebration for you in the future.
Have a good summer now its stopped raining.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylmerton
3.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
785 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
16.6 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
22.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,372 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Felbrigg Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felbrigg Lodge

Address: Felbrigg Lodge School Road, Aylmerton NR11 8RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylmerton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aylmerton
Price Range: £142 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Felbrigg Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Felbrigg Lodge in a unique small boutique hotel in North Norfolk (we are boutique not because of the modern minimalistic décor, but because we are one of a kind, we have an independent attitude and our clients are individualist too. We offer a unique guest experience)The hotel is not a typical one it has no long dark corridors where someone slams a door at 2am,or drops a shoe on the floor just when you have got to sleep. Nor does it have large empty reception rooms which look like an upmarket furniture warehouse which are only full on high days and holidays.We don't need them all our rooms are suites and have ample seating again not like most hotels that are so small you have to sit on the bed to be comfortable and watch telly. We are set in a beautiful woodland location where relaxation and peace are paramount. There are eight rooms set in the grounds which are all ground floor. The remaining two can be found in the main house on the first floor , the house also includes the small intimate restaurant that even when we are full you will never experience an extensive wait for your food. We now boast a small conservatory which overlooks the garden and babbling brook.As we are licensed you can relax and enjoy a drink, or a glass of wine. All rooms are individually styled 5 having recently been recently refurbished. We have a heated indoor swimming pool, and an outside hot tub. We endeavour to make exceptional friendly customer service our mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Felbrigg Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felbrigg Hotel Aylmerton
Felbrigg Lodge Norfolk/Aylmerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing