We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant!”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We booked this Hotel after searching through about 100 Hotels and not reading any good reviews about any of them. We stayed in a room which over looked the Marina, which I would recommend if you are booking this hotel!

We were very excited when we walked into the hotel, the reception area was gorgeous, like something you would see abroad! We were greeted at the Reception by a friendly member of staff who explained everything to us and gave directions to our room, we headed off to our room and got a little confused and another very friendly helpful member of staff came and showed us to our room.

The room had a large living area, bedroom, bathroom and balcony.

The living room had two sofas, a desk, a brewing up area, and a television. There was a teapot and lots of coffees, hot chocolates and herbal teas etc and biscuits. There was also a fridge and some bottled complementary water.

The Bedroom also had a television and overlooked a lovely courtyard with a water fountain and lovely plants! The bed was a Kingsize and absolutely HUGE!!

The bathroom was very spacious and very clean!

We was looking to get room service for something to eat, but the menu was very expensive (£30 for a steak) or maybe I am just a bit stingy! We ended up going across the Marina to a restaurant called The Mulberry, which we had read very bad reviews about but decided to go anyway. It turned out to be FANTASTIC! I had Gammon and my partner had a mixed grill, both highly recommended.

We had an option of Breakfast in bed with an extra £5 charge, which we went for. We had to leave a list of the back of the door of what options we had picked. We had a full Welsh breakfast with cereal to start and a pot of tea and a pot of coffee, The breakfast was lovely!

After breakfast we sat on the balcony and looked at the amazing view of Conwy Castle and the Marina with the hills in the background before we had to check out at 11.

Our stay was fantastic and would recommend this Hotel to anyone!!! We will definatley be staying again but hopefully in the Penthouse Suites if they are available next time!

Room Tip: Room overlooking the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccabrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,483
    626
    249
    105
    68
See reviews for
373
1,463
48
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We booked The Quay Hotel and Spa on the lst minute have had a break in mid-wales and deciding to head into North Wales - we were not to be disappointed. We stayed only one night but from start to finish it was perfect in every way. The staff were attentive, the hotel was clean, welcoming and friendly and the food both at dinner and breakfast the following morning was outstanding. I travel to a number of hotels as part of my role as a Finance Director but it is a long time since I have felt as welcome, comfortable and looked after throughout.

Room Tip: Estuary rooms with a private balcony would be perfect. We stayed in a room with a private balcony ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We re-visited The Quay Hotel & Spa recently after a particularly bad experience there at the end of May earlier this year. We are pleased to say that the new management team (being driven by Steve Ogden) seems to have improved things dramatically and not only is it a hotel in a fantastic location but our stay was a memorable experience for the right reasons this time, not the wrong ones.
Our room was amazing, the view from the balcony superb and the staff certainly seem a lot happier than they were.
Thanks Steve for listening and we look forward to a return trip soon!

Room Tip: have a room overlooking the estuary if at all possible - views of Conwy Castle are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandLManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Booked this hotel for a relaxing weekend and we were not disappointed. Our room was a suite overlooking the estuary including Conway Castle and the mountains of Snowdonia. The lounge having a balcony which on a sunny day would be a perfect place to let cares drift away as it was so peaceful.Everywhere was spotlessly clean and all the staff very friendly and helpful.We had included dinner for both nights in our booking and were spoilt for choice and enjoyed every course We treated ourselves for a spa treatment which although a little on the expensive side added to the weekend. We will definitely return our intention for our next wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: ask for an estuary room in main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We joined some friends on an ABBA tribute night and we had a very enjoyable experience from start to finish. On arrival we were greeted and had coffee and refreshments in the bar. When taken to our room we had been upgraded to a suite with a more than ample lounge overlooking the estuary. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and all the staff were extremely helpful and courteous. The entertainment and dinner was superb, making our stay a memorable one we will never forget. We will definitely return to this well run hotel and will recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This is my third visit to the Quay Hotel, each time for a formal Dinner Event. Staff are very helpful, thank you to Tansy. Hotel is right on the Conwy estuary and looks over to Conwy Castle. Make sure you get an estuary view room, as you can sit on the balcony and watch th yachts and the sea birds. Food was good at the Dinner, but could have put more serving staff on as the main course service was slow, and the chicken dish arrived long before the vegetables and had to ask for more vegetables. Breakfast was fine, good choice of dishes. A large TV was erected in the Grill Bar so fans could watch the Wales Rugby game from New Zealand, which was much enjoyed, despite the groans when Wales lost. They also offer Spa facilities and a swimming pool etc., Large car park. There are some small shops in the village, but it is only a few minutes from Llandudno.

Room Tip: Estuary rooms- for the views of Conwy Castle and the yachts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JiddaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Really enjoyed our two night break at the Quay.
Staff were very friendly and approachable.Nice to see some mature staff too!
Amenities were very clean and tasteful.
Main evening meals were quite expensive,so we opted for a sandwich which was well presented and of a good size.
Lovely views from restaurant.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 58alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveOgden, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your two night break.

We have a high amount of staff that have been working at the hotel since it opened just over 5 years ago. It is always a good sign for a General Manager that we have a happy work force.

I will be sure to pass on your comments.

Sorry to hear you felt our prices were a little over priced, I have carried out price reviews within the area of similar standing businesses and we are competitively priced. As you may know we use the best local ingrediants we can source which can be more expensive to purchase. Since your feedback we have reviewed our menus and prices.

I hope you have the opportunity to return to the Quay for another relaxing stay.

Best wishes,

Steven Ogden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deganwy
1.1 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,139 reviews
2.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
20.6 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Hotel & Spa

Property: The Quay Hotel & Spa
Address: Deganwy Quay, Deganwy LL31 9DJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Deganwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the idyllic Conwy Estuary,the luxury 4* Quay Hotel commands awe-inspiring views of the most magical scenery in North Wales. Offering 74 en-suite luxury bedrooms,including waterfront Suites and Penthouses. All rooms have been exquisitely designed, and boast spacious bathrooms, incorporating all the style and comfort you would expect from this award-winning hotel. Our Waterfront Lounge Bar and Vista Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy an informal meal or alfresco dining by the water’s edge. The 2 AA Rosette Grill Room Restaurant introduces you to a mouth-watering selection of award-winning culinary delights encompassing locally produced and sourced ingredients to present the true Welsh flavour of the region. Advance bookings required.Relax in our on-site Spa offering a host of indulgent treatments using Aromatherapy Associates and REN Products. Advance Bookings required.Our Complimentary Leisure Facilities include a 15M indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, aromatheraphy steam room, hydrotherapy whirpool and life fitness gym. The Hotel offers ample free car parking on site and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all areas. The Quay Hotel and Spa is only a short drive from the Victorian town of Llandudno, the Historic town of Conwy and within a 45 minute drive from the breath-taking Snowdonia national park. On the doorstep there are the award winning Golf Courses - A great location for exploring North Wales! Located only minutes from the A55 and only 2 minute drive from Llandudno Junction railway station with direct links from London, Chester, Manchester, Cardiff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel And Spa
The Quay Hotel Deganwy
Quay Hotel Conwy
The Quay Hotel & Spa Deganwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing