We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service that doesn't quite match the setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Request an estuary-view room and you'll be rewarded with extraordinary views: yachts nudging the tide a few yards away, Conwy Castle towering over Britain's largest fully-fortified town opposite, the scenic grandeur of Snowdonia in the distance. Against this idyllic backdrop, the Quay Hotel offers contemporary, stylish accommodation, a practical pool and good spa facilities. At first encounter it ticks all the 'five star' boxes. But at that level, it's the little things that make the difference. And the little things - especially service - are what the Quay needs to concentrate on. Sure, the staff are amiable and well-drilled; but you get the impression they're driven by a checklist, rather than a real commitment to customer needs and expectations. A request for fresh milk and chocolate sachets, for example, had to be made three times before delivery...of tea bags! No apologies, but a return visit produced fresh milk; still no chocolate. Worst of all was breakfast. Staff appeared to believe that guests should give them priority passing between tables. Tables themselves were often left uncleaned, and crockery and cutlery incomplete.
Little things make a difference in the room too: bathrobes provided for two people, but only one small hook on which to hang them. Nowhere to hang towels near the basin, either: the heated rail was on the other side of the room.
All easy-to-resolve items...but the difference between 'good' and 'great'.
Let's be more positive. The breakfast food selection was superb (although some items were labelled on some days, not on others). Hot meals were freshly cooked to order, and were outstanding: top quality ingredients, perfectly cooked. Likewise dinner: an interesting menu, good ingredients, well-prepared dishes.
We'll be back (this hotel takes some beating as a centre from which to explore North Wales), and just hope that the Quay team will be upping its performance to five-star status.

Room Tip: An estuary view is a 'must'!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phrontister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,427 - 2,433 of 2,720 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed in an Executive Room overlooking the estuary for two nights. The room (and the hotel in general) was modern and pristine. Our view from the floor to ceiling window and the balcony outside was absolutely breathtaking and the weather was very kind to us too. There was no mini bar in the room which was a bit disappointing. They do offer to bring one to the room, but it turned out to be a large glass tub full of ice and a curious combination of bottled beers and soft drinks. All I really wanted was a snack. However, this was a very minor problem. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in and the black out curtains made it very easy to lie in. We loved the fitness suite. The pool is probably around 15 mtrs which is longer than those in most hotels. As keen swimmers, this was a boon. The sauna and steam room were also excellent. We ate in the restaurant on both nights. The menu seemed a bit limited, but the quality was very good. Breakfasts were delicious and unhurried. Service generally was of a very high standard. The staff were genuinely friendly and extremely helpful. Special thanks go to Natasha, Sandra, Roccio, Phil and the waitress in the bar whose name I didn't get for making us feel like we were very special guests. We will be back....

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The Quay hotel and spa is a hidden gem tucked away in quite stunning scenery. The views are a joy to behold, especially looking over to Conwy castle.The staff made us most welcome with nothing too much trouble. It was a pleasure waking up to the picturesque views of the marina at Deganwy. Our only quibble was the fact we only spent a night there. Would reccomend this hotel for sure. we will be going back, only for longer this time. A perfect venue for recharging your batteries.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We have stayed at the Quay several times since our first visit (probably in 2007), the hotel is modern, spacious and immaculately clean. Every room we have stayed in has been of the same high standard, they are spacious and the bathrooms are stylish.. Beds are large and comfortable with good quality bedding, the curtains are thick and block out all the light. The estuary view rooms are more expensive but the views really are brilliant. The pool, sauna and steam-room are fantastic, this is one of the reasons we keep returning.
The staff are always efficient, helpful, friendly and professional.
I am very glad that the Aromatherapy Toiletries in the rooms have been re-instated, the aroma is "the essence of the Quay" and make your stay a little more special.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mph99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I was fortunate enough to have an estuary view room, and the view is truly exceptional - the estuary and Conwy Castle with Snowdonia in the background. Rooms are modern, functional and comfortable with free wi-fi which is essential for a business stay. Breakfast is served in the estuary-view restaurant and is very substantial. There is also free car parking and it's less than 5 minutes off the A55 and within 1 hour of all major North Wales attractions. A comfortable lobby area with free newspapers.

Room Tip: Ask for an estuary view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LumCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I had a terrible experience at this hotel a month or so ago, I was that insensed that myself and my family had spent a small fortune on a sub-standard break that I wrote to Mr. Ogden the manager. I was invited back and I must say what a difference a few weeks does! It was a different hotel. Clean, with excellent service. The restaurant inparticular (a bug bear of many a customer it seems) saw the best improvement ... And what was nice to see is that it was exactly the same staff, that were being led well and were extremely professional. The food was lovely (though not the cheapest - not that I could complain, but some probably would). Long may it continue ! And a special thanks to Beckie and Kara that made sure our suite was serviced to a high standard and the lovely friendly porter (I ampologize, his name escapes me) who just oozes enthusiasm for what he does - a credit, as was Ruth on reception and the lovely (blonde, shortish haired- sorry - bad with names) lady who checked us in.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Nov 4th 2011 we attended a function meal at the Quay hotel and cannot fault the service of the staff on arrival and the 1st class attention to detail at the table. Surroundings and staff - excellent. However very disappointed with food standards.
The 1st course of soup was lukewarm despite the waiters efficiency of service, followed by the main course with 'tell -tale' cling film attatched on the undersides of the vegetable dish-these being a mix of icy cold to fairly warm . The cold dessert was excellent.
We thought we were possibly an unfortunate table of 10 however the comments were reiterated around the room.
Despite this being a function for a number of guests I'm sure the hotel caters for far higher numbers. This was our 1st visit to the hotel and with the evening showing such promise - we felt let down by basic essentials.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Hilda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deganwy
0.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Conwy
1,337 reviews
13.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,063 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
2.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,291 reviews
24.8 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Hotel & Spa

Address: Deganwy Quay, Deganwy LL31 9DJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Deganwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Price Range: £102 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the idyllic Conwy Estuary,the luxury 4* Quay Hotel commands awe-inspiring views of the most magical scenery in North Wales. Offering 74 en-suite luxury bedrooms,including waterfront Suites and Penthouses. All rooms have been exquisitely designed, and boast spacious bathrooms, incorporating all the style and comfort you would expect from this award-winning hotel. Our Waterfront Lounge Bar and Vista Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy an informal meal or alfresco dining by the water’s edge. The 2 AA Rosette Grill Room Restaurant introduces you to a mouth-watering selection of award-winning culinary delights encompassing locally produced and sourced ingredients to present the true Welsh flavour of the region. Advance bookings required.Relax in our on-site Spa offering a host of indulgent treatments using Aromatherapy Associates and REN Products. Advance Bookings required.Our Complimentary Leisure Facilities include a 15M indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, aromatheraphy steam room, hydrotherapy whirpool and life fitness gym. The Hotel offers ample free car parking on site and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all areas. The Quay Hotel and Spa is only a short drive from the Victorian town of Llandudno, the Historic town of Conwy and within a 45 minute drive from the breath-taking Snowdonia national park. On the doorstep there are the award winning Golf Courses - A great location for exploring North Wales! Located only minutes from the A55 and only 2 minute drive from Llandudno Junction railway station with direct links from London, Chester, Manchester, Cardiff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel Deganwy
The Quay Hotel And Spa
Quay Hotel Conwy
The Quay Hotel & Spa Deganwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing