We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Xmas Party (Vegas Style)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We went to the 'Vegas' party night for our staff Xmas PArty . Our experience was a very positive one. We enjoyed the welcome cocktail and then went upstairs for the meal. The room was 'wow', very impactive, we loved the black covered chairs and the candelabra. It was a set meal and one of the best we have eaten at the Quay. The Staff were very profeesional and well Organised The entertainment, black jack table and roulette, was exactly that 'entertaining'. The disco was also good.
My thanks to Simon and all the team at the Quay
WE WILL BE BACK !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments following the Vegas Party Night recently attended. Good to know your experience was very positive and your appreciation of the "wow" room, best meal at the Quay, professional, well organised staff with a good Disco and casino entertainment.

Your thanks to Simon and the Team have been forwarded and we look forward to welcoming you back next year !

Best wishes to you for 2014

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,632)
There are newer reviews for The Quay Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,610 - 1,616 of 2,633 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

We went to the 'Vegas' party night with 10 friends on Tuesday. Our experience was a very positive one. We enjoyed the welcome cocktail and then went upstairs for the meal. The room was 'wow', very impactive, we loved the black covered chairs and the candelabra. It was a set meal and one of the best we have eaten at the Quay. Infact it was one of the best meals we have had at a 'mass catering event'. The rolls were fresh, the goats cheese starter was beautifully presented. The turkey dinner was served on hot plates with lovely veg. The pudding was scrumptious and we would have liked seconds! The entertainment, black jack table and roulette, was exactly that 'entertaining'. The disco was also good. The only thing that would have made it even better would have been 2 bottles of red wine on the table. The waiting on staff were pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank goodviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great feedback following your recent Vegas party night at the Quay - good to know you obviously thoroughly enjoyed yourselves. Delighted to hear that the meal was one of the best, including scrumptious pudding, with entertainment of black jack table, roulette and a disco! Great to know my staff were pleasant and efficient.

I'll keep your request in mind for 2 bottles of complimentary wine on the table for next year.

Glad you had a good time and may I wish you all the best for 2014.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I recently had a christmas meal at the degnwy quay hotel in there massive function room upstairs, in the past this hotel has been known for there fantastic food the word being in the PAST. as we were staying the rooms were fabulous but the food was a real let down. as there were 23 or us for a meal we thought there would have been loads of food. the meals consisted of, starter salmon or soup with warm roll, ( not too bad ) main 3 sprouts 1 carrot 1 roast potatoe 1 parsnip 1 pig in blanket turkey crown 1 slice and drowned off with loads of gravy, definatly was not worth the money. dessert was a choice of christmas pud panacotta or ice cream and as i was the last one to be served i orded christmas pud but got thrown in front of me was panacotta was never at one point asked what i wanted or was i happy with my meal, the cocktail was nice on arrival but your only aloud one so when you ready freec cocktails its clearly not true.we were suppose to have free wine with our meal which they forgot, and from what the wine had tasted like the deganwy quays were really watching there pennies and ripping the customers off, i dont think anyone on our table drank more than a glass full of wine so was a complete waste of money. i will say it wasnt cheap i will never recommend anyone to have a christmas meal at this hotel they might as well go and get a macdonalds at least you know what your getting. the hotel itself was beautiful and the bedrooms were fabulous its just a shame about the food. very very dissapointed.

Room Tip: anyroom there all very clevery placed
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your valued feedback following your recent stay at the Quay Hotel. I am sorry to read of the disappointments encountered during your Christmas meal and perhaps some explanation details may assist. I feel your comments are a little exaggerated and on the whole we have received very positive comments. We offered a Passionata cocktail on arrival, 3 course menu with 4 courses with each course and Cafetiere Coffee and mints to finish. For those who booked before October they received 2 bottles of wine. Along with Showgirls, lighting, theming, Casino and a DJ for £35.00 I feel this offered great value (I’m sorry to hear you didn’t feel the same way).

I would have appreciated you contacting me directly rather than using an open forum to enable me to discuss your comments with you and restore your confidence.

It was good to note that you found the hotel beautiful and the bedrooms fabulous and do hope you will reconsider visiting us again in the future.

Best wishes to you for 2014

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in December through secret escapes on DBB basis. Very smart new hotel in a lovely location on the edge of Conwy estuary. Room was large with view over river. Meal in restaraunt was good although I have to say would be a little overpriced if you orderd all the extra trimmings with your meal. But the main thing that impressed me was the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff from reception through to waiting on staff in restaraunt. Will return as am looking to put boat in Conwy marina next year and will hopefully stay at Degany Quays again during summer

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solomon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your posting, following your recent Secret Escape stay with us. Great to hear you enjoyed our smart hotel with the stunning views across the river. Your comments regarding the meal price has been forwarded on to my Head Chef for consideration.

Good to know my staff were friendly and helpful. I look forward to seeing you again next summer and send you every good wish for 2014.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed for one night in a standard room with view of marina and balcony. Room was good size with large,modern bathroom ,two chairs and a table and full Sky package on the tv - this included MUTV which was great! Room was good value for money. Didn't eat in the restaurant but had snack in the bar and a very decent local draught beer. The food is quite expensive but you expect this in a hotel of this quality. Breakfast menu was very good with both continental and hot choices. I had porridge which was lovely. Cooked breakfast was ok but they were slow to take the order.
All the staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful.Reception staff showed us to the room and the bar staff were attentive and pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsbdud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your complimentary words, following your recent stay with us. Good to know you enjoyed the accommodation and found us "good value for money".

Delighted to hear you appreciated our local draught beer and Breakfast, particularly that our porridge, was lovely. Nice to have it re-confirmed that my staff our friendly and helpful.

Every good wish for 2014 and I look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I Went to the Quay for my works Christmas party, everyone was very excited about the Las Vagas themed night and the food. I could not fault the party atmosphere and enjoyed the night.
However: considering we all paid £35.00pp the food was not up to scratch. the starter was lovely but everyone in our party who ordered the Turkey as a main complained and were offered a free bottle of wine for our trouble.
I very disappointed as i have heard the food at the Quay was lovely, but sadly i can not echo this.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lozsparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your valued feedback, following your Xmas Party at the Quay. Good to know the Las Vegas atmosphere was great and your enjoyed the night, however I am concerned to read that the main course was not enjoyed by all.

When you say the food "wasn’t up to scratch" you said the starter was lovely and I’m guessing you not mentioning the dessert that that must have been lovely too? So the Turkey was your issue, why didn’t you pick up the phone or email me personally thus giving me the opportunity to correct your experience. It’s a shame some people just use this website to vent their frustrations rather than giving hoteliers the opportunity to make amends.

I do hope you will remember all other positive elements of the meal and your evening overall.

May I send you every good wish for 2014 and trust I will consider returning to the Quay on another occasion.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Very nice hotel, very clean, big rooms, very polite staff, food as I am vegetarian I found it very average, but their staff did try very hard to please me. Excellent Breakfast.
My husband for stone massage and I had pedicure and manicure, both done very well. My husband liked the massage so much that he forced me to go for it before we left and it was excellent. Had really lovely time at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tannajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for your great comments following your recent stay to celebrate your wedding anniversary. Good to know you had a really lovely time, particularly with the Spa experiences.

Your valued feedback in respect of our vegetarian choices is much appreciated and will be passed on to my Head Chef.

Belated congratulations on your anniversary and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deganwy
0.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,250 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
702 reviews
20.6 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,251 reviews
13.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,023 reviews
24.8 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Hotel & Spa

Address: Deganwy Quay, Deganwy LL31 9DJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Deganwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Price Range: £127 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the idyllic Conwy Estuary,the luxury 4* Quay Hotel commands awe-inspiring views of the most magical scenery in North Wales. Offering 74 en-suite luxury bedrooms,including waterfront Suites and Penthouses. All rooms have been exquisitely designed, and boast spacious bathrooms, incorporating all the style and comfort you would expect from this award-winning hotel. Our Waterfront Lounge Bar and Vista Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy an informal meal or alfresco dining by the water’s edge. The 2 AA Rosette Grill Room Restaurant introduces you to a mouth-watering selection of award-winning culinary delights encompassing locally produced and sourced ingredients to present the true Welsh flavour of the region. Advance bookings required.Relax in our on-site Spa offering a host of indulgent treatments using Aromatherapy Associates and REN Products. Advance Bookings required.Our Complimentary Leisure Facilities include a 15M indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, aromatheraphy steam room, hydrotherapy whirpool and life fitness gym. The Hotel offers ample free car parking on site and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all areas. The Quay Hotel and Spa is only a short drive from the Victorian town of Llandudno, the Historic town of Conwy and within a 45 minute drive from the breath-taking Snowdonia national park. On the doorstep there are the award winning Golf Courses - A great location for exploring North Wales! Located only minutes from the A55 and only 2 minute drive from Llandudno Junction railway station with direct links from London, Chester, Manchester, Cardiff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel Deganwy
The Quay Hotel And Spa
Quay Hotel Conwy
The Quay Hotel & Spa Deganwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing