We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overlooking Marina & Welsh Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. We went there to celebrate my niece Rachael's wedding. The facilities were excellent. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We stayed bed and breakfast and we had a great choice of food. The setting was so beautiful. Sadly it was bad weather but I can imagine in the summer it would be superb.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquiPil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind compliments, following your recent two night stay to celebrate your niece's wedding at the Quay Hotel.

Delighted to know your found our facilities excellent and my staff helpful and friendly. Good to hear that you appreciated our stunning setting, but sorry to you didn't see our views in better weather.

Do hope you will visit us again, perhaps during the summer to experience our fabulous location in the sunshine!

Best wishes to you for 2014

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,648 - 1,654 of 2,691 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

decided last min to go for overnight package new year eve meal dinner and room, best for many years very good food, accmadation excerlent entertainment and atmosphere good except for live band lead singer was the worst i have ever incounted before, not the hotels fault

Room Tip: chose sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your great feedback, following you last minute New Year's Eve experience at the Quay Hotel.

I am delighted you obviously really enjoyed your time with us - I am sorry that the lead singer was not the best, however do appreciate your comments which will be taken into account when planning next year's event.

Hope you will find an opportunity to visit us again in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you back on that occasion.

Once again our very best wishes to you for 2014.

Steve Ogden
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A two night stay here on a 'beat the blues' package was the christmas present my wife and I decided to give each other, so we dumped the kids at the grandparents and set off to Deganwy! It turned out to be a good choice. A room upgrade was included as part of the package but we were further upgraded upon arrival to a Suite which had a seperate sitting room area, dressing area and a huge bathroom with a bath big enough for two, a seperate shower cubicle and two sinks (room 248 - highly recomended). The views over the marina and the estury to the Castle were very pretty - just a shame it was a bit too cold to use the balcony! Room was very well equipped with hairdryer, iron, chiller cabinet, two TV's (with Sky), bathrobes, tea-making facilities etc and it was spotlessly clean. Upon booking, the receptionist had asked if we were comming to celebrate a special occasion and I had explained that it was our christmas present and there was a greeting card and two cupcakes waiting for us in a box - very nice little touch! The room was also very quiet - there was a large wedding in the Hotel on the Saturday night and we were not distrubed by music or other noise. We ate in the Hotel restaurant on three occasions (excluding breakfast) and enjoyed the food and service very much. As others have pointed out, it is not cheap but you do get what you pay for in this instance. Breakfast was good, nice continental selection of fruit, cheese, meats, pastry's etc followed by a traditional fry-up or a choice of eggs benedict, omlette, smoked haddock, kippers etc if you have more respect for your arteries! The staff were always polite and friendly and keen to please and this really made a difference. The spa was OK - bit smaller than I imagined and quite busy (especially the steam-room) - we didn't have any 'treatments' so I can't comment on those.
The hotel is a 1.8 mile walk along a coastal path into Conwy.
Overall, this was an excellent weekend, the staff work hard to make you feel welcome, the facilities are great and everything is kept clean and in good order. I would cetainly recomend staying here and look forward to returning at some point in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina and on the second floor - room 248 is ideal, great views, quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review, following your recent "beat the blues" stay with us at the Quay. I am delighted to read that you appreciated the accommodation upgrade, our stunning location, great restaurant and friendly helpful staff.

Good to know we ticked all the boxes for you and thank you for your recommendations. I look forward to welcoming you back on the next occasion.

Best wishes to you both for 2014

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We have just returned from the Quay Hotel and Spa after enjoying a really lovely week-end. The staff are so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much for them. They made us feel so welcome, each one of them were so friendly. I unfortunately could not use the Spa facilities as I am undergoing chemo therapy, the reason for our week-end break. My husband used the gym and was very happy with the facility. Unfortunately I could not get him booked for the spa as they were fully booked. The room was very spacious, should we be knit picking, the only fault we could find is that the tv was too small for the room. We had difficulty reading the menu from our bed, but then again we did not spend much time in the room, so it does not really matter? Once again, overall we give it a 10/10. We have now booked for an event's evening soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great comments following your recent weekend at the Quay Hotel. Good to hear that you found my team friendly and helpful and you enjoyed our accommodation offering and facilities.

Regarding the TV size, we are currently planning to replace some TV's to larger screens enhance the guest experience. Your valued feedback is much appreciated.

I would also advise that our Spa does get very busy, particularly at weekends so making an appointment before you arrive may be helpful in assuring you a treatment booking..

Many thanks for the 10/10 score and we look forward to welcoming you back on the next occasion you have already booked!

Best wishes to you both for 2014

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Upon arriving at this lovely hotel we were greeted by friendly staff who showed us how to get to all the facilities.Our room wasn't quite ready as we had arrived early so as to use the spa .We went for coffee in the spacious lounge bar .overlooking the harbour.We then went into the spa area and it was lovely the pool was lovely and warm and we had a nice relaxing time reading our books.We then had a phone call to say our room was ready so again we were shown up to the room..and wow it was exceptionally clean and the king sized bed was lovely we had a balcony overlooking Conwy harbour it was beautiful.We had dinner booked and it didn't disappoint the flavours and the quality were amazing.After a great nights sleep we went for Breakfast it was delicious with fresh local produce.Overall fab we would highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank angela572014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your generous comments following your "fabulous" birthday celebration recently spent at the Quay Hotel.

Great to know that you appreciated a lovely welcome from my team and enjoyed our pool, lounge bar, restaurant and most particularly your room with the balcony overlooking the stunning views to Conwy across the estuary.

Glad to hear that you will definitely recommend and I look forward to welcoming you back on the next occasion.

Best wishes to you both for 2014

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Spent one night here DB&B on a deal. The hotel is located in a good spot with views over Conwy and back towards Conwy Castle. All the staff were friendly and attentive. The room was spacious and well presented with two large single beds put together making one gigantic double bed!! We has an excellent dinner which with ingredients that were flavoursome and tastes delicious. The sticky toffee soufflé was delicious. We had used the small spa facilities which were clean, tidy and well looked after. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of continental breakfast and a full Welsh breakfast if desired. There were a range of other options and my wife had a Eggs Royale which she said was excellent. Overall, a real gem of a hotel with an excellent dinner included. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay with us at the Quay. Delighted to know you appreciated our stunning location with fabulous views over to Conwy Castle, my staff provided friendly and attentive service and your dining experience was obviously very much enjoyed.

Good to know you would definitely recommend and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes to you both for 2014

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had an excellent time for New Year 2013 or should that be 2014. The hotel is fairly new and very comfortable. Beautiful views over the harbour and the surrounding area is lovely. The staff are warm and welcoming and can't do enough for you. The food is excellent. The actual New Year event was oustanding. The tables were festively decorated. Enjoyed champagne reception before the main event followed by an excellent five course meal (not too sure about the garlic chocolate though). Haggis and wee dram at midnight which was a nice touch and not something we've come across at other hotels at this time of year. New Years day was wet and miserable but fortunately there was a bar/lounge to sit in and relax. Our room was very comfortable and for once the bed wasn't hard as a board. Didn't get time to check out the Spa but it looked well used so obviously very popular. I would happily recommend The Quay Hotel and Spa. They appear to hold many themed events so clearly work hard to give the guest more than just somewhere to stay. Its not cheap but like everything else, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a view of the sea - worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penny54_170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments following your New Year's Eve celebrations at the Quay Hotel. Delighted to know you enjoyed our beautiful surroundings and stunning views, my team were welcoming and the New Year's Eve event was excellent.

Your kind remarks have been forwarded on to my staff and I would also mention that the "garlic" you thought accompanied the chocolate dessert, was in fact truffle and not garlic. The flavour of this particular truffle is a very personal taste - some people loved it and others, like yourself, were not too impressed. However, your valued feedback is much appreciated and consideration will be taken when including the ingredient in future offerings.

Do hope to welcome you back for a return visit in the near future and perhaps you will have time to experience our Leisure Suite and Spa facilities.

Best wishes to you for 2014

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deganwy
0.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,307 reviews
13.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,052 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
2.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,285 reviews
24.8 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Hotel & Spa

Address: Deganwy Quay, Deganwy LL31 9DJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Deganwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Price Range: £101 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the idyllic Conwy Estuary,the luxury 4* Quay Hotel commands awe-inspiring views of the most magical scenery in North Wales. Offering 74 en-suite luxury bedrooms,including waterfront Suites and Penthouses. All rooms have been exquisitely designed, and boast spacious bathrooms, incorporating all the style and comfort you would expect from this award-winning hotel. Our Waterfront Lounge Bar and Vista Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy an informal meal or alfresco dining by the water’s edge. The 2 AA Rosette Grill Room Restaurant introduces you to a mouth-watering selection of award-winning culinary delights encompassing locally produced and sourced ingredients to present the true Welsh flavour of the region. Advance bookings required.Relax in our on-site Spa offering a host of indulgent treatments using Aromatherapy Associates and REN Products. Advance Bookings required.Our Complimentary Leisure Facilities include a 15M indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, aromatheraphy steam room, hydrotherapy whirpool and life fitness gym. The Hotel offers ample free car parking on site and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all areas. The Quay Hotel and Spa is only a short drive from the Victorian town of Llandudno, the Historic town of Conwy and within a 45 minute drive from the breath-taking Snowdonia national park. On the doorstep there are the award winning Golf Courses - A great location for exploring North Wales! Located only minutes from the A55 and only 2 minute drive from Llandudno Junction railway station with direct links from London, Chester, Manchester, Cardiff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel Deganwy
The Quay Hotel And Spa
Quay Hotel Conwy
The Quay Hotel & Spa Deganwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing