We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Excellent Everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Excellent Everything!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

On arrival I was greeted by the very friendly reception staff, first impressions were very positive and continued to be positive. I was shown to my room which was very clean, comfy, spacious and relaxing. Ate in the restaurant which is quite pricey, but again, the service was second to none, and surprisingly very busy for a Monday evening. Food was not disappointing. I stayed for two nights on business but this is definitely a hotel I would like to revisit for pleasure in order to try out the Spa! Aromatherapy Associates toiletries in the room was an extra treat. I will hopefully come back here in the future.

Room Tip: I would think all the rooms would be good, but maybe one looking over towards the castle would be pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazza232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,502
    633
    252
    106
    69
See reviews for
378
1,483
48
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield Peverel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Our youngest son chose to marry in North Wales at the Quay Hotel. The location could not be better right on the bank of the river Conway with the massive Conway Castle upstream in full view. The staff were charming and the wedding plan covered canapés and champagne, the official wedding ceremony, an excellent celebration meal and relaxed private room.
The private bedrooms were equally splendid - chic, bathrobes supplied and the most elegant china- ware for tea or coffee. The setting in the garden with fountains and a large Buddha in a loggia was super for photographs.
We could not fault anything and would highly recommend it for couples, friends and business people. Although I didn't use the spa the bride and her new husband took full use of the excellent facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the estuary on the first floor (104?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca060741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in The Quay Hotel as part of our Golden Wedding celebrations, on our arrival we were immediately congratulated by the day Manager when we went to our room there was an Anniversary card and 2 rather yummy Cup cakes, what a lovely touch, we have stayed in many hotels throughout the world. We found this hotel to be the most friendly that we have stayed in, every member of staff we met took the time to acknowledge us, our room was lovely a good sized comfortable bed, easy chairs, tea, coffee and chocolate to drink if we required fresh milk it was only a phone call away. The bathroom was spacious with nice white fluffy towels and luxury toiletries.

For Breakfast there was something to suit all tastes and the Afternoon tea was delicious and it was good to see a wide choice of local produce.

Check in was quick and efficient we were even taken to our room, checking out was the same.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed at The Quay Hotel on a Secret Escapes deal which was great value (£99 pn B&B, £250 2 nights B&B plus one dinner in an upgraded room)
The room was lovely, huge bathroom with lovely toiletries, comfy bed and a big sitting area with patio doors leading to a balcony over looking the estuary.
The room had tea and coffee facilties and a small fridge. The housekeeping was good, the room was spotlessly clean and well cared for.
The spa was lovely, small pool but it was quiet so not a problem, the beauticians were all very nice and welcoming.
My overiding memory would be of the staff, they were lovely, polite and friendly even saying hello when you went to breakfast and they were busy carrying towels or doing jobs. I stupidly left clothes in the wardrobe and they parcelled them up and posted them back to me charging only a nominal fee.
Really great location, close to some lovely places to eat and gorgeous scenery.
Breakfast was great, lots of choice and plenty of availablity, on our last day we were a little late arrive and stocks were a bit depleted, but when we asked, thinsg were topped up with no question.
I have reviewed the restaurant separately
My only niggles would be * There was a fridge but it was empty, it was useful but I woul dhave thought it would have things in it * The tea selection in the room was a little narrow, some fruit teas or earl grey would have been a nice touch * They change the towels every day, this is a bug bear of mine, I don't know anyone who does it at home, a towel if hung up can last 3 days! (i'm thinking of the environment here!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Picked this hotel for the location. We wanted to visit the north of Wales and this seemed like a good hotel as a base. We stayed 3 nights. We were not disappointed. This is a first rate hotel with friendly staff and good food. From the moment we entered the hotel we were greeted with a friendly hello and smiles from everyone. The check-in was quick and then we were shown to our room. We stayed in a suite, room 248 and we were over the moon. The room was beautiful and had a lovely view of the water and Castle Conwy. The sunset that night was amazing. (I should mention we had sunny weather, not a cloud in the sky during our stay.) We had a really good dinner in the restaurant that night. The rib eye was excellent. Breakfast each day was very good and varied. Service was A+. The pool and area was fab. My husband forgot to pack his swim trunks but thankfully Jason at the pool had a clean pair to offer and fit my husband perfectly. Phil was also a big help, gave us some maps and tips on what to see and we did everything he suggested! We had a really fun trip and the staff at the Quay Hotel made our stay something we will never forget.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebKenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We visited this hotel for a one night overnight stay which included breakfast and a 4 course dinner. The hotel is in a stunning location on the banks of the Conway estuary and from the balcony of our room we had views over the estuary, mountains and Conway castle.

After enjoying lunch we utilised the spa facilities, pool, steam room etc and then sat on our balcony for a couple of hours enjoying the views and the early spring sunshine. Our room has all the facilities you could wish for and was spotlessly clean.

Our evening meal was delicious, I can recommend the steak and there is a extensive well priced wine list. A word of praise regarding the staff, everybody we encountered was first class and it was service with a smile,there was a very warm welcoming feel about the place which isn't something that you readily feel at times when staying at other establishments.

We now have another hotel to add to our shortlist when it comes to getting away for 2 or 3 days, the Quay hotel is highly recommended by us.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReedRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Having stayed a number of times at this hotel, the room and location was great. Especially on a calm sunny day! This is the first time we have dined in the restaurant and found the standard of the food to be ok, but very over priced. There are much better restaurants in the area offering better quality food at better value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faye_blundred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you for your valued feedback following your stay with us last month. Sorry to hear that your dining experience was a little disappointing and you felt dinner was over-priced. I have spoken with my Head Chef to ensure we improve the consistency of our quality and service and do hope you will give us an opportunity of restoring your confidence in our restaurant on your next visit.

When you have a date in mind to return, do contact me directly so I can personally take care of your table reservation.

I look forward to hearing from you soon and welcoming you back to the Quay Hotel and Spa.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deganwy
0.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,159 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
673 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
973 reviews
20.6 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Hotel & Spa

Property: The Quay Hotel & Spa
Address: Deganwy Quay, Deganwy LL31 9DJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Deganwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the idyllic Conwy Estuary,the luxury 4* Quay Hotel commands awe-inspiring views of the most magical scenery in North Wales. Offering 74 en-suite luxury bedrooms,including waterfront Suites and Penthouses. All rooms have been exquisitely designed, and boast spacious bathrooms, incorporating all the style and comfort you would expect from this award-winning hotel. Our Waterfront Lounge Bar and Vista Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy an informal meal or alfresco dining by the water’s edge. The 2 AA Rosette Grill Room Restaurant introduces you to a mouth-watering selection of award-winning culinary delights encompassing locally produced and sourced ingredients to present the true Welsh flavour of the region. Advance bookings required.Relax in our on-site Spa offering a host of indulgent treatments using Aromatherapy Associates and REN Products. Advance Bookings required.Our Complimentary Leisure Facilities include a 15M indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, aromatheraphy steam room, hydrotherapy whirpool and life fitness gym. The Hotel offers ample free car parking on site and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all areas. The Quay Hotel and Spa is only a short drive from the Victorian town of Llandudno, the Historic town of Conwy and within a 45 minute drive from the breath-taking Snowdonia national park. On the doorstep there are the award winning Golf Courses - A great location for exploring North Wales! Located only minutes from the A55 and only 2 minute drive from Llandudno Junction railway station with direct links from London, Chester, Manchester, Cardiff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel Deganwy
The Quay Hotel And Spa
Quay Hotel Conwy
The Quay Hotel & Spa Deganwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing