We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close to a 5 rating!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Certificate of Excellence
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“So close to a 5 rating!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

The view from this hotel is stunning! I was a bit disappointed to be on the marina side since the river side with Conwy Castle in view is magnificent! But it's no trick to walk around and see the effects of the tides going in and out and the romantic aspect of the medieval castle. The public rooms also have a lovely view. The guest rooms are roomy and nicely appointed. We had great experience in the restaurant even though it was a group tour. We had an adequate number of choices for dinner and always had a choice of excellent breakfasts. The wait staff could not have been more accommodating. We did not have time to visit the spa but I would expect it to be as classy as the rest of this hotel. The only downside is that the hotel is too removed from the town of Conwy to be accessible on foot, but those with vehicles shouldn't find that a barrier. For transportation further afield, one can access a rail connection within walking distance.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyHawk65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonpHarding, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Quay Hotel & Spa from your recent tour visit. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I will personally pass on all your great comments to the various teams that you have mentioned.

The Hotel is situated next in the small town of Deganwy and both Llandudno and Conwy are both just 4 and 2 miles away respectively ,as you correctly point out we are only two minutes walk away from Deganwy train station which has trains every 20 minutes to both of the local towns.

I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your tour and would consider staying with us again in the future should you be visiting the UK and North Wales again.

Many Thanks

Simon Harding

Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,520
    639
    257
    106
    72
See reviews for
387
1,499
48
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Absolutely wonderful position, go for a riverside room, views up and down the Conwy estuary are beautiful. Conwy castle at sunset and sunrise, setting sun over Liverpool Bay, boats moored on the river, can't be bettered!
Restaurant is pretty good - concentrates on steak, mainly, but upmarket for all that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidhumphr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonpHarding, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Quay Hotel & Spa. It is great to hear you had really great stay with us and enjoyed the views we have to offer of Conwy Castle and the estuary, along with the Grill Room Restaurant. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Quay in the near future.

Many Thanks

Simon Harding
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed for one night as my mother was attending an opera in Llandudno. My mother has mobility issues and the staff could not have been more helpful. The view from the executive rooms are awesome and breakfast was superb. We will return.

Room Tip: The estuary facing rooms are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloic M, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Hilary130,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review, good to read that you found the staff helpful and that you enjoyed our lovely rooms and breakfast offering. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes
Eloic Montagnier - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We didn't stay here but used the spa and pool.

Myself and my husband both had a facial, and it was lovely. When we booked the woman on reception was a little patronising but that's all we had to do with her.

The girls who did the facials were lovely, very helpful and calming. Upon arrival we were given a robe, slippers and towel then a drink. We discussed any allergies and the we were away with the facial. It was totally relaxing, and I definitely recommend.

After the facial we used the hydrotherapy pool, a nice way to finish.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Burneys2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloic M, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Burneys2014,
Amazing Spa review, thank you! Perhaps you could make a night of it next time and enjoy our fabulous rooms overlooking the Conwy estuary?

Best wishes
Eloic Montagnier - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was our 4th visit to The Quays. The staff are still as friendly and helpful as ever making it a very relaxing break. Great views from our room especially the sunsets. Breakfasts are very good as was Sunday Lunch. Only had Bar Meals in the evening as the Restaurant was very busy. Bar area could soon do with a makeover to bring it up to the high standards found throughout rest of hotel.

Room Tip: We have had Estuary view rooms on our last 3 visits. Great views especially for the sunsets and afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloic M, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Richeard1945,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review, I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best wishes

Eloic Montagnier - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Nice rooms..great views. Overpriced poor food. Had better in local cafe. Tried to order drinks and staff nowhere..had to run around to find them. My first and last time.
Doesn't take much to get it right at this price.. Total fail

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank hongkpngpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloic M, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your valued feedback following your recent visit, please accept my apologies for the shortfall encountered during your stay. Can I please ask you to contact me directly to discuss this further at you earliest convenience.

Best wishes
Eloic Montagnier - General Manager
01492564163
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here 3 1/2 years ago for a friend's wedding/our 1st wedding anniversary weekend. We've wanted to return ever since so when they emailed us with a "Babymoon" experience it seemed too good to pass up. Doubled it up with the my wife's birthday and they couldn't have made us feel more welcome. From the amazing 4 course meals included in the package to the bespoke massages for my wife (who's 35 weeks pregnant) and I everything was exemplary. Fantastic views from the bar terrace. Tranquil courtyard terrace area from our room. Complimentary treats delivered to our room when we wanted. A free room upgrade if we return within a year of our child's birth. The whole package is so well thought out and has saved us in excess of £120. If anyone is looking to treat a pregnant loved one I would thoroughly recommend The Quay. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloic M, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Michael B,
Thank you very much for your great review, I was glad to read that you enjoyed our "babymoon" package. The team and I hope to welcome you back very soon.
Best wishes

Eloic Montagnier - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deganwy
0.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,201 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
686 reviews
20.6 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,230 reviews
13.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
998 reviews
2.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Hotel & Spa

Property: The Quay Hotel & Spa
Address: Deganwy Quay, Deganwy LL31 9DJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Deganwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the idyllic Conwy Estuary,the luxury 4* Quay Hotel commands awe-inspiring views of the most magical scenery in North Wales. Offering 74 en-suite luxury bedrooms,including waterfront Suites and Penthouses. All rooms have been exquisitely designed, and boast spacious bathrooms, incorporating all the style and comfort you would expect from this award-winning hotel. Our Waterfront Lounge Bar and Vista Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy an informal meal or alfresco dining by the water’s edge. The 2 AA Rosette Grill Room Restaurant introduces you to a mouth-watering selection of award-winning culinary delights encompassing locally produced and sourced ingredients to present the true Welsh flavour of the region. Advance bookings required.Relax in our on-site Spa offering a host of indulgent treatments using Aromatherapy Associates and REN Products. Advance Bookings required.Our Complimentary Leisure Facilities include a 15M indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, aromatheraphy steam room, hydrotherapy whirpool and life fitness gym. The Hotel offers ample free car parking on site and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all areas. The Quay Hotel and Spa is only a short drive from the Victorian town of Llandudno, the Historic town of Conwy and within a 45 minute drive from the breath-taking Snowdonia national park. On the doorstep there are the award winning Golf Courses - A great location for exploring North Wales! Located only minutes from the A55 and only 2 minute drive from Llandudno Junction railway station with direct links from London, Chester, Manchester, Cardiff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel Deganwy
The Quay Hotel And Spa
Quay Hotel Conwy
The Quay Hotel & Spa Deganwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing