We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel”
Review of Wainstones Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wainstones Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Broughton
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed at Wainstones Hotel for four nights recently and found it a very friendly hotel. The staff were very helpful and our room, although rather small, was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The decor is not contemporary. The breakfasts were very good; I had the omelette and my partner had the kippers which he said were delicious. Great Broughton has two pubs and we ate twice at the Bay Horse which is fabulous. We also ate at the Black Swan in Kirkby which is in the next village (10 minute walk) and this too was really lovely and a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    64
    50
    17
    5
See reviews for
33
83
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I wouldn't normally write reviews (just read them) I was a guest at a wedding held at the hotel and stayed for two nights. As I learned while up here in the north " The place is class!" The staff we very accommodating and attentive. The room I stayed in was small but very clean with all the facilities one would expect. I would think that given it's an historic building that the room sizes couldn't be changed anyway. In fact this heritage setting was one of the things that made the wedding and dining afterwards so wonderful. To the staff - well done and thanks for great weekend - you're all class!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennyb1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed at The Wainstones Hotel while walking the Coast to Coast. We phoned ahead and were picked up from the car park at Clay Bank very promptly by a friendly lady. When we arrived at the hotel we were quite wet and, although they were also catering for a wedding at the time, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They tumble dried some of our wet things and hung the rest up to dry. They also gave us newspaper for our boots and then took them to the drying room. Our room was very well equipped and clean with some fruit provided as well as the usual tea, coffee and biscuits which was a nice touch. There was plenty of hot water for a long soak in the bath and the bed was comfortable. We ate at the hotel in the evening and the staff were very friendly and obliging and the food was really nice. The breakfast was good as were the packed lunches which included sandwiches with tasty fillilngs. We were then taken back to Clay Bank at a time which we had arranged the previous evening. All in all it was a very pleasant stay mainly because everyone there was so nice and we would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill2001c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We popped in on spec at lunchtime in search of a snack and were not disappointed. There was a really interesting sandwich and baguette menu, and our group ordered prawn and crayfish with lemon mayo, spicy chicken and bacon with cucumber and mint, and Brie and grape. They were all really good and served with salad, home made coleslaw and loads and loads of proper chips. Really good value at £4-£5 each. Also ordered a side of onion rings, and we agreed they were the best we had ever tasted.
The lunchtime menu at £10 for two courses looked really good value and was popular. Couple sat at the next table were regulars and said the food is consistently good and interesting. Puddings were all homemade and generous portions.
We would come again and try the lunch menu without a doubt. A good stopping off point if you are on your way to or from the high moors.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

I travel all over the UK and Europe, I had an important business meeting in Teeside and needed to drive for 5.5 hours the day before so that I was fresh in the morning, I have become a little disenchanted with Premier Inn recently to went on to the web and found the Wainstones Hotel. The web site looked ok so I phoned up and stressed that wireless Internet was a must to prepare, I was told that that this was a free of charge facility, this was not the case, I was told that the Internet hub wire worked in the room, I changed rooms twice and it didn't work in either.

The room was shabby, as were the fixtures and fittings, the shower took ages to start and when it did work it sounded like a jet engine, the bed sloped towards the headboard and was lumpy, the quilt felt very thin, I would never stay here again, and the fact that they tried to charge me £79.00.......yes that was £79.00 was laughable, I refused to pay this amount and ended up paying £59 which was still £10 more than it was worth....the breakfast was good!!!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The staff were all very helpful and the rooms were clean with lots of storage space but for the price we paid the decor was rather dated and shabby. We stayed in a twin room with another bed squeezed in which left very little room for us to move about and it was very hot and stuffy. I have stayed in b&b in the area which was much nicer and 1/3 of the price. Also woken up early by deliveries to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Nestling in the Cleveland Hills betwixt Industrial Teesside and the North Yorkshire Moors Great Broughton is a delightful throwback to another era, with its ironstone cottages and delightful country retreats. The village still supports three pubs/Hotels of which the Wainstones is one. Externally it exudes all of the charm one might hope for as a traditional and large Hostelry nestling in its own grounds near the centre of the village.
Alas upon entering the Hotel the warm and cosy image disappears in a pop of disillusion like a child watching as the newly created bubbles perish and the magic fades.
The Hotel is indeed a throwback, not to the cosy yesteryear of James Cook or even Bolckow and Vaughan but to a more recent era, not quite so evocative. The Hotel is a late 1970's time warp with fading patterned carpets, and a dingy tatty interior of cheap wood and Formica.
Progressing from the Public bar to the reception one passed through a series of equally unedifying empty rooms.
The Bedroom is smallish and tatty with flowered curtains and a down at heel feel. The bathroom consisted of a flimsy shower cubicle with a broken bit of plastic where a soap holder once was and a toilet roll holder clinging to life at an acute angle on the wall. That horrible depressing mist descended as I realised I'd have to put up with yet another shoddy offering from a business charging premium prices for a simply awful product.
Ah well never mind, perhaps the Dinner, served in the bar despite several other (though even more depressing) options would raise one's spirits.
The friendly barman recommended a local Ale (which was good) and I took a menu. I ordered a local black pudding starter which was excellent and things were looking up. I had ordered a steak and asked for it come with just salad as I did not want chips or potatoes. When it arrived the Dementors (see Harry Potter) returned. I had a steak, mushrooms, - so far so good, a bit of garnish and a hole where the chips might have been. I was flabbergasted by the miserly paucity of the dish before me. Where the hell is people's sense of decency and fairness, let alone business sense? Did the idiot Chef or Manager really think anyone would ever return when treated so shoddily? The evening was now irrevocably spoiled. I drank my smallish (though I ordered and later paid for a large) glass of wine, ate a passable steak without relish and returned to the Noddy Holder suite.
Breakfast in an equally dingy room with flakes of paint from the wall adorning the carpet (can't have been hoovered in weeks) was no great shakes, though again the lady serving was pleasant.
The only modern and/or contemporary thing I encountered was the bill which unlike the wine was uncommonly large for such a pitiful experience. As I looked in my rear view mirror upon exit it struck me that this is the only way to view this particular excuse of a business. Avoid at all costs if you have any expectation whatsoever of your stay.

Room Tip: Find it in another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinDMaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Broughton
1.9 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
11.7 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
7.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
12.0 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
7.9 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wainstones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainstones Hotel

Property: Wainstones Hotel
Address: 31 High Street, Great Broughton TS9 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Great Broughton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Broughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wainstones Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Wainstones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wainstones Hotel Middlesbrough
Wainstones Hotel Great Broughton, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing