We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT A GOOD PLACE TO STAY”
Review of Field View B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Field View B&B
Ranked #3 of 5 Yarm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NOT A GOOD PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

WE STAYED HERE FOR 1 NIGHT WE HAD 3 ROOMS WE HAD TI WAIT FOR 1ROOM TO BE FINISHED WHICH WE DIDNT MIND GOT TOLD WE MADE A LOT OF NOISE AND GUESTS WERE COMPLAINING SO WE WERE CHARGED £60 COMPENSATION. FAIR ENOUGH IF WE WERE LOud ok. then next day took £160 off our debit card for damage to room that we dont know a thing about would not recommend this guest house to anyone not in amillion yearswould i stop there again, besides that towels were hard and danp and i found koads of pubic hairs in the bed i felt sick and slept on flooir and my husband did nothing but itch from getting in that bed

Room Tip: dont stop here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 205kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fieldviewbandb, Owner at Field View B&B, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
We debited the £160 due to damage in the room. There was 2 cigarette burns in the carpet which had just been fitted the day before.
Our other guests will be pleased to hear you won't be stopping again due to the noise level at 5am.
We ALWAYS clean rooms and launder sheets. If hairs were found in the bed, I am shocked you didn't mention this on departure.
We take pride in our guest house and slanderous comments hurt our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    53
    20
    8
    13
See reviews for
53
68
32
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Our stay here was OK. The room and ensuite bathroom smelt quite damp, and there was a dip in the floor of the bedroom and the bathroom (and the tiles were loose) which seemed to be a result of this. I was surprised by the dips because I tripped twice on the tiles and it is the sort of thing that could cost them dearly, if someone seriously injured themselves.The room didn't really look the way it does in the photos, it is in need of some maintenance and a lick of paint. It all smacked of a lack in care and attention. The walls are paper thin, which meant we were woken up each morning at 6:45am by other guests showering and walking in the corridor. Breakfast was OK, but disorganised.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecc104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fieldviewbandb, Owner at Field View B&B, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Sorry to hear you found the house noisy. As it is a house, not a hotel, the walls are thinner and unfortunately some guests can be loud! The bathroom floor has now been fixed. Thanks for your comments on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Not only did they take care of our bikes, also talking was fun to them. The rooms were very good and clean and amazingly quiet despite the road nearby. From now on my first voice in Yarm! Will definitely come back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Juergen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fieldviewbandb, Owner at Field View B&B, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Can't wait to see you again! We found you both great fun too! Really pleased you enjoyed Yarm and your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I booked Field View for one night after reading the fantastic reviews on Trip Advisor only to be hugely disappointed in fact I feel totally let down by the false impression we were given on the internet by the beautiful photos of the rooms.

We were greeted by a member of staff who quite frankly made us feel as though we were an inconvenience to her and she hurriedly went through the welcome instructions. When we settled into our room (Room 11) it was nothing like the pictures I had seen on Trip Advisor which all showed beautiful rooms with up to date en-suites/ bathrooms and clean modern furnishings and decor.

Our room had a distinctive smell and it wasn’t a pleasant smell, to put it bluntly it smelled of wee, this was made worse by the fact that we didn’t want the patio doors left open all the time, especially when we were out and during the night. The duvet set had seen better days, it didn’t look like it had been ironed and whoever had put the duvet cover on hadn’t even bothered fastening up the press studs on the cover only to expose a very well worn, old and grubby duvet (see pics) which was flat and lifeless. The pillows were flat too and smelled foisty and again with un ironed covers on. The carpet was extremely old and worn with a lovely iron mark on it, very fetching……

The en-suite was obviously an add on, very small and very tired, the size of a cupboard which wouldn’t be a problem if it was clean and modern. I didn’t have a shower while we were there as I wouldn’t have wanted to go in it. The soap dispenser had 1cm of soap in the bottom of the bottle which didn’t look impressive. There was mould on the bathroom ceiling probably due to poor ventilation. The doors leading into the en-suite were basic wardrobe louvre doors with no lock (this didn’t bother us as a married couple, but others may have found this a problem).
The electrics left a lot to be desired, both bedside lamps were connected to one plug (yet had the PAT test sticker attached), and inside the wardrobe there was a double socket hanging off the wall (again with a PAT test sticker on). One of the bedside lamps was broken and lopsided, the whole room looked very tired and needed time and money spent on it to bring it up to scratch. There had been a leak from the roof or room above our room and the ceiling was badly stained, no effort had been made to re-paint the ceiling or repair the leak, you could see where a hole had been made to let the water through.

Outside our room in the patio area there was an old and very worn out iron table and chairs (I put a towel on the chair to protect my clothing) and beside the patio doors was an open stench pipe!!!!!! Surely this could not be healthy? The smell was unbearable and made me feel quite ill, no wonder there was a smell in the room. You couldn’t sit outside even if you wanted to. The patio area was unkempt with weeds growing around the patio door and above the doors were huge wires hanging from the roof.

My husband had the cooked breakfast, I opted for toast based on what I imagined the kitchen to be like judging on the poor standard of our £70 room.

Outside at the front Field View looks quite nice with the drive all gravel and ample parking places, but once inside it’s a different story. Maybe because we were only there for one night we were put in the worst room, who knows?

All in all this was very disappointing and spoiled our night away, we have stayed in lots of B&B’s and small hotels but never have I ever been anywhere like Field View, I couldn’t wait to leave.
On refection I wish we had booked the Premier Inn which is basic but clean. I would not recommend this B&B to anyone, it is far from the impression you are given by the photographs on Trip Advisor and their own website. Pictures of our room are certainly not on the website! Field View could do with a visit from Alex Polizzi The Hotel Inspector.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoolieBoolie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fieldviewbandb, Owner at Field View B&B, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. Room 11 has since been fully refurbished. It would have been nice to be able to address any of your concerns whilst you were here. We could possibly have moved you to a different room if we knew you were unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner found this place whilst driving around and im glad we did, we hooked up on site with our works caravan to stay for a month and it's the best place around. The owners Steve and Vicky are very down to earth very very helpful and have the best place in Yarm. Always around to help if needed and just so relaxed on site I would recommend this to all my family and friends. DEFINETLY ***NOT*** A BAD WORD TO SAY ABOUT THIS PLACE.
Fantastic month we both had xxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianzzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I had the misfortune to spend a night at Field View last summer, 2012. A very unpleasant house where guests are tolerated other than welcomed. The bare minimum is offered, cheap bed-linens and towels and not perfectly clean. The owners expect the least disruption - guests must check-in by a certain time and breakfast at certain time and be gone as soon as. Be very careful how you pay those people if you must go (it is handy for the railway if you're not driving), my credit card details were used months later to take payment for a night I wasn't there. There are some really nice alternatives in the area, the Windmill for example. Yarm is quite a nice village to visit but nothing there to warrant more than a night or two.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 7125JMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fieldviewbandb, Owner at Field View B&B, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
We are a bed and breakfast, we have no receptionist. We need a limited check-in time (2pm - 10pm) as we need to rest and also provide least disruption to other guests.
Breakfast has a 90 minute time slot to accommodate the majority of guests.
Payment was taken at 10.30 pm on the arrival day because we assumed you were not going to show up. You eventually arrived at 11.45 pm.
The card was not debited months later. This is an extremely slanderous accusation. We would not be in business if we did this. Surely the police would have been involved if this was the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

A very reasonably priced B&B with great full English breakfast. The owners are very friendly people who provide a very warm and friendly service. Field View is in a great location,very modern and has very good Wifi.It is located very close to the Yarm centre. There's a great pub nearby that also does amazing food and good friendly service. I would recommend Field view to anyone on a budget as it is excellent value for money. Many thanks.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarm
0.3 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
547 reviews
2.2 mi away
Claireville Hotel
Claireville Hotel
#7 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
46 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
#6 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
861 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees West Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees Wes...
#4 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
362 reviews
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Field View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Field View B&B

Property: Field View B&B
Address: Field House Green Lane, Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees TS15 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Stockton-on-Tees > Yarm
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Yarm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Field View B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your Field View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Field View Hotel Yarm
Field View Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing