We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb home comforts”
Review of Yarm Cottages

Yarm Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yarm
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yarm Cottages
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb home comforts”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Excellent accommodation. Our cottage was superbly clean, bright, warm and inviting, a real home from home. The owners Geoff and Jan were a lovely friendly couple for whom nothing was too much trouble. We can't wait to stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Store, a lovely bright & airy cottage on one level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
7
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The second time we have stayed at the cottages and feel embarassed that we did not review after our first stay. Put simply, we cannot recommend highly enough; the cottages are warm, cosy, sparklingly clean and beautifully appointed with such refined touches. It's basically like being at home if our home were anywhere near as tastefully decorated or in as peaceful surroundings. Each cottage seems to have been placed and designed in such as way as to make you feel you are the only people staying there; the privacy is great.

As hosts, Jan and Geoff are just so warm and welcoming, friendly and engaging; they make you feel part of their family. They are two of the world's good people.

And I cannot understand a previous comment about being pricey at all .... in terms of value for money it rates better than any accommodation we have ever stayed in. A two-bedroom cottage with a great kitchen, two bathrooms, a comfortable living room with lovely views, surrounded by countryside but a 5-minute drive into Yarm, which btw is a beautiful and vibrant old market town, for about £20pppn? I don't think I've seen better value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munich
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (whilst visiting family) at Kelly's Cottage. It's a very peaceful place, beautifully appointed and scrupulously clean. The kitchen has everything you're going to need. Many thanks, Geoff and Jan!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munich2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here for two nights and were visiting for a wedding so we didn't really use the accommodation much other than to just sleep in! Warm and cosy, and only complaint would be that it was a tad pricey.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ascottripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karratha, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Traveling from Australia to Teesside we discovered Yarm cottages and they where the most wonderful solution for our stay in the area while our family gathered for my fathers 90th birthday. We where enchanted by Mallard cottage and felt instantly at home Jan and Geoff where fantastic hosts we had my two small grandchildren with us and where happy to let them outside as the gardens where safe and away from the main road whenever we head back now to yarm we will be sure to stay with them again I look forward to it ! Totally recommend them to anyone that reads this and have told everyone that may need tootravel in that area that I know thanks once agin Jan and Geoff regards from Imelda Bilato

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imelda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My family & I have stayed at Maddies & Store cottages on numerous occasions whilst visiting the UK. & have always received a very warm welcome from the owners Geoff & Jan.
Both two bedroom cottages provide first class accommodation set in beautiful quiet location. Tastefully furnished & decorated with very clean comfortable bedrooms. Extremely well equipped including dishwasher, laundry facilities, DVD player & internet access.
Well located, within easy reach of beautiful surrounding countryside & villages.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We regularly use Yarm Cottages when visiting family and friends in Teesside and always consider it first class accommodation. We have stayed in all the cottages.They are extremely well equipped, spotlessly clean and very well decorated and furnished. The location of the cottages is ideal too being in the countryside but very close to Yarm High Street and all it's amenities and attractions. Geoff and Jan (the owners) always give you a very warm welcome too. We would have no hesitation in recommending a stay here to anyone and we are looking forward to returning for a fortnight stay over the Christmas 2013 period.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarm
3.0 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#13 of 21 in Darlington
99 reviews
1.0 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
552 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
#6 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
459 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Field View B&B
Field View B&B
#3 of 5 in Yarm
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarm Cottages

Property: Yarm Cottages
Address: Worsall Road, Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees TS15 9PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Stockton-on-Tees > Yarm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Yarm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering /serviced rental properties, available for letting all year round. Totally self-contained with a secure wi-fi network, ideal for business /holidays/ family visits. A quiet location set in well-maintained grounds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing