We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10/10”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Yarm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“10/10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Lovely apartments, staff were really nice! Went with a few friends for a night great location and very pretty! Stayed In the chapel apartment and had three seperate rooms all very clean and modern. Couldn't fault the place will definitely be staying again ten out of ten!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilypearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    82
    44
    27
    54
See reviews for
34
209
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

My Best Man booked the so called 'Apartments' of the Old Mill for the night before my wedding. Idea being that me, my best man & my ushers all stayed together and then went to the Crathorne Hall the next day for the wedding. On turning up at the Old Mill to check in we were surprisingly presented with a map and the receptionist informed us that the accommodation was actually in Inglebly Barwick, charged us £90 and handed over the keys. My Best Man explained that this was never explained and we believed we were all staying at the Mill, however the receptionist went on to state that the apartment was actually in Ingleby Barwick.

We set off in 2 cars to find where we were actually staying and went up and down a road we thought can't actually be the apartment as it was a street of 'Bungalows???' Then after putting the sat nav on we realised the 'apartments' we were meant to be staying in were indeed a Bungalow in the middle of Ingleby Barwick estate.

A few of us wanted a shower before going for a meal I had booked in Yarm that evening and the shower didn't work. If this wasn't a big concern already, it was a much bigger concern as we were all meant to have a shower before the Wedding the next morning. Both myself & my Best man contacted the Mill to explain the shower wasn't working and the importance of it being fixed. The receptionist didn't seem very concerned, informed us that the maintenance man would not be able to come out & fix it and suggested we either all drve back around to the Mill the next day (having to take our Wedding suits around and relocate just for a shower) or we should all have a bath??? Taking a bath with 3 other lads in a Bungalow early hours before my wedding didn't really appeal....

At a time of coming up to the biggest day of my life, I felt hugely frustrated by the lack of care and customer service from the Mill. Not only did we feel that we were miss-sold where we were actually staying, but once they received payment upfront they didn't care about the shower and the situation we were all in due to the facility not being up to scratch. On top of this, in the end me & my friends drove back home to all get showered very early the next morning, there was no courtesy call or any sign that the staff in the Mill were the slightest bit bothered about us.

This is the first time I have ever uesed Trip Advisor due to how strongly I feel about the situation we found ourselves in. Not just that but the lack of care and customer service from the receptionist who received 2 phone calls from us. - An absolute joke of an experience.

Room Tip: Avoid the Bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ManagementResponse02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yarm hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very disappointing beds low and you feel every spring in the matress shower had black damp in the grouting, the light in bathroom came on automatic when you went into bathroom but if your in there a while light goes out automatic so we were caught short a few times which was to my amusement as it was always my husband it happened to,pillows on bed were almost flat too on the gud side room was luvley and warm and the breakfast was really nice

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian N D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the mill while spending a weekend in Yarm.

The place is ideally located to visit Yarm and the surrounding areas.

The room, the barn, was welcoming and clean. The breakfast was served in the main building and was good.

Staff were friendly on arrival and departure.

Would recommend this place, and would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dawn1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The room was clean and tidy and had everything you need for your stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice if you did not want the full english.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed in one of the apartments, suggest owners stay a night to see how the place works such as having bedside lamps... All basics there but felt as though it was purely business focussed rather than seeing people as the means to the business. 10 min drive back to B&B to find hot tub out in the open air but covered over out of use and on the main drive up to B&B - interesting.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millie2888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

One night stay during visit to North East. The room was nearly right but spoilt by a small TV very high on the wall, the bathroom light clicking on and off all night and difficulty in getting a hot shower.
Breakfast good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarm
1.6 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel
BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stockton-on-Tees
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Claireville Hotel
Claireville Hotel
#6 of 8 in Stockton-on-Tees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
1.8 mi away
Field View B&B
Field View B&B
#3 of 5 in Yarm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
Address: Barwick Lane | High Leven, Yarm TS15 9JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yarm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Yarm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Yarm
The Old Mill Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing