We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Timing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Yarm B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed in one of the rooms in the courtyard, outside the main building. Not a bad room but nothing special. There are rooms above and you can hear every footstep. Scaffolding work ongoing, so lot of noise in morning. Walls very thin, large glazed patio doors, with plain inscriptions, allows people outside to see in, so needed to keep curtains closed till we left. Bed was hard. Shortage of sockets at bedside, without disconnecting light. Good idea was the double socket near the full length mirror. Location, not ideal for Yarm High Street, unless you drive. Good pub at end of lane. Perhaps went at bad time, but wouldn't rush to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LordHafod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
There are newer reviews for The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

The Old Mill itself has some nice charm which added nicely to making breakfast in the main building a very nice tasty experience. The staff are fantastic being very approachable, polite and friendly. We stayed in "The tool shed" which was the name for one of their self contained bedroom units separate from the main building which did provide gave some degree of privatize. A small let down was loose shower-head in the ensuite, nothing a little TLC on these rooms would make it just prefect next time we visit Middlesbrough, Whitby area.

Room Tip: Visit in the summer time and you can take advantage of the hottub
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The Old Mill is fine for a short stay. It is not in, but a drive to, Yarm and a short walk from a reasonable restaurant.

The layout and size of rooms are alright. However it is let down by flat and old pillows, threadbare towels and old sheets.

Shame really.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank MrNotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Lovely apartments, staff were really nice! Went with a few friends for a night great location and very pretty! Stayed In the chapel apartment and had three seperate rooms all very clean and modern. Couldn't fault the place will definitely be staying again ten out of ten!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilypearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My Best Man booked the so called 'Apartments' of the Old Mill for the night before my wedding. Idea being that me, my best man & my ushers all stayed together and then went to the Crathorne Hall the next day for the wedding. On turning up at the Old Mill to check in we were surprisingly presented with a map and the receptionist informed us that the accommodation was actually in Inglebly Barwick, charged us £90 and handed over the keys. My Best Man explained that this was never explained and we believed we were all staying at the Mill, however the receptionist went on to state that the apartment was actually in Ingleby Barwick.

We set off in 2 cars to find where we were actually staying and went up and down a road we thought can't actually be the apartment as it was a street of 'Bungalows???' Then after putting the sat nav on we realised the 'apartments' we were meant to be staying in were indeed a Bungalow in the middle of Ingleby Barwick estate.

A few of us wanted a shower before going for a meal I had booked in Yarm that evening and the shower didn't work. If this wasn't a big concern already, it was a much bigger concern as we were all meant to have a shower before the Wedding the next morning. Both myself & my Best man contacted the Mill to explain the shower wasn't working and the importance of it being fixed. The receptionist didn't seem very concerned, informed us that the maintenance man would not be able to come out & fix it and suggested we either all drve back around to the Mill the next day (having to take our Wedding suits around and relocate just for a shower) or we should all have a bath??? Taking a bath with 3 other lads in a Bungalow early hours before my wedding didn't really appeal....

At a time of coming up to the biggest day of my life, I felt hugely frustrated by the lack of care and customer service from the Mill. Not only did we feel that we were miss-sold where we were actually staying, but once they received payment upfront they didn't care about the shower and the situation we were all in due to the facility not being up to scratch. On top of this, in the end me & my friends drove back home to all get showered very early the next morning, there was no courtesy call or any sign that the staff in the Mill were the slightest bit bothered about us.

This is the first time I have ever uesed Trip Advisor due to how strongly I feel about the situation we found ourselves in. Not just that but the lack of care and customer service from the receptionist who received 2 phone calls from us. - An absolute joke of an experience.

Room Tip: Avoid the Bungalow
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ManagementResponse02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very disappointing beds low and you feel every spring in the matress shower had black damp in the grouting, the light in bathroom came on automatic when you went into bathroom but if your in there a while light goes out automatic so we were caught short a few times which was to my amusement as it was always my husband it happened to,pillows on bed were almost flat too on the gud side room was luvley and warm and the breakfast was really nice

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian N D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the mill while spending a weekend in Yarm.

The place is ideally located to visit Yarm and the surrounding areas.

The room, the barn, was welcoming and clean. The breakfast was served in the main building and was good.

Staff were friendly on arrival and departure.

Would recommend this place, and would stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dawn1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarm
5.0 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#13 of 21 in Darlington
102 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
894 reviews
8.4 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees West Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees Wes...
#4 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast

Address: Barwick Lane | High Leven, Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees TS15 9JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Stockton-on-Tees > Yarm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Yarm
Price Range: £41 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Yarm
The Old Mill Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing