We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quirky and comfy.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Yarm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“quirky and comfy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

lovely stay at the mill, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was spot on lots of choice . Staff were very welcoming and friendly. The grounds were lovely, wish we had stayed a bit longer. Will definatley return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maddy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    82
    43
    27
    49
See reviews for
34
203
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The old mill is a lovely b&b - has everything you could ask for in a bed and breakfast!
I stayed in the tool shed; decorated nicely, clean and tidy and had a smart bathroom.
The staff were friendly, polite and extremely helpful when I asked about the area and where the best places to visit were.
The staff were great when serving breakfast - created a nice atmosphere for me to sit and enjoy my full English, always making sure I had what I needed.
Overall it was a lovely stay and I would go again. Made me feel at home, which I love, and nothing was a bother which made my life a heck of a lot easier when staying there!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My partner and 8 year old boy stayed here when we was watching the touring cars at croft circuit about 15 minutes from the hotel. I wasn't aware how much the room had cost until we got there but it's very fair to say IT IS NOT WORTH £90 A NIGHT. we was led to believe that we'd be staying in the mill itself but all we got was a pokey, dingy room in an extension out the back with the only "view" being a load of old hardcore and rubbish from previous building works. The bed sheets was dirty, the sheets didn't even fit the bed and there was no cover on the manky spare duvet in the cupboard for the boy. The carpet was dirty too and although the shower was a powerful one it flooded the tray in about 5 minutes. The owners seemed nice enough what we see of them but the lad on reception wasn't really helpful, nor polite and come morning time we just dumped the key and went. We wasn't prepared to hang around any longer than forced. I've stayed in lots of hotels/b&bs all over the world and I am confident in saying this is the worst experience I've had. I'll just remind you of the price......£90 for one night. Absolute rip off and they should be ashamed of themselves. I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy. I'd sooner pitch a tent on the side of the road.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yarm hotels

Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Having a phone call at 11 am as we where driving to an event near by, unnerved us as when we tried to call back no answer, when we did get through it was to tell us reception closed at 7pm, thought they where telling us about our booking, please leave voice mail if you call guests. Arrived location was great, had the room above the dinning area, beds made and clean sheets, but room had not been cleaned, bin was full, cups unwashed, shower door was hanging off, shelves full of dust, such a shame lots of money has been spent on other areas, they looked great. Great pub just down the road, food was great. would I book again, only if I was guarenteed a better room but we did book last minute, but it only takes 30 minutes to clean a room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

When we arrived we were asked what time we wanted breakfast the following morning. We said 9am. When we arrived for breakfast at 8.55am the following morning we were told that the chef had gone. No alternative was offered.

The room was nice, if a bit small. The be was very uncomfortable with an extremely lumpy mattress.

The shower contained used bottles obviously from the previous guests, leading me to think that the shower hadn't been cleaned.

Staff were ok, but conversations were very brief.

Room Tip: If you want a comfy sleep don't choose the tool shed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed for 4 night clean comfortable room with everything u could want from a b&b clean towel's daily and topped up supply's of tea, coffee and biscuits daily, fantastic choice for breakfast and very friendly staff would recommend to family and friends and would love to stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buffy098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The Old Mill met all our overnight requirements at a reasonable price when visiting the area recently to attend a social event nearby.Our room was clean a spacious with its own decking area and table and chairs to sit out.This room however would not be suitable for anybody with mobility issues as the room is accessed by an outside metal staircase this perhaps needs to be made clear when booking.The Old Mill is a quirky building with a courtyard setting and there appears to be plenty of other rooms with easy ground floor access.We booked a late breakfast for the morning this was served in a open plan spacious dining kitchen and we couldn't have been made more welcome.The food was freshly prepared and plentiful to say the least everything was on offer from fresh fruit, yogurts, variety of cereals, huge jug of fresh orange juice,freshly made toast and preserves,hot cafetiere of coffee and the biggest fried breakfast anybody could wish for.Close by Yarm is lovely little Town to visit with quirky shops cafes bars and bistros and The Old Mill a relaxing b&b to stay all in all a lovely weekend get away.Keep up the good work guys ps:- Thanks for ordering the lovely weather.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarm
1.6 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees West Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees Wes...
#3 of 8 in Stockton-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
2.2 mi away
Claireville Hotel
Claireville Hotel
#6 of 8 in Stockton-on-Tees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.8 mi away
Field View B&B
Field View B&B
#3 of 5 in Yarm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
Address: Barwick Lane | High Leven, Yarm TS15 9JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yarm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Yarm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Yarm
The Old Mill Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing