We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the doctoer ordered.”
Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fox Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Guisborough B&B and Inns
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what the doctoer ordered.”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We arrived midweek with no reservation and were instantly made to feel at home with all staff bending over backwards to accommodate us. I worked away quite a few times over the years and this hotel/pub is by far one of the best. The rooms were perfect, cosy, modern and well maintained. After a hard day at the office i was looking forward to heading back to this hotel. just what you need a nice cold pint served with a friendly welcome smile. The food was also superb, good size portions, plenty of choices and always served with a smile. we were also informed that there was live music and a disco at the weekend. again just what you need to put the previous week behind you. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone traveling within the district. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    22
    13
    10
    13
See reviews for
11
28
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norton, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I stayed here the night before my wedding at Gisborough Hall. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful but they're let down badly by the tired, grubby rooms and the woeful standard of the cooked breakfast. I would like to be more positive about the Fox Inn because of the excellent staff but I can't get passed the poor quality of the accomodation and the inedible breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guisborough hotels

pinder
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2011

It was our first stay here and we had heard it was under new management. Booking was very friendly and efficient and we were given a lovely room. It was a family room and more than adequate for my friend and myself.
The hotel and its staff were really friendly, we loved the bar and were aware of the disco which we missed unfortunately. All was quiet and peaceful on our arrival back to our room (though to be honest we wouldnt have minded a boogie if it was stil on lol)
The following day the staff were great with our breakfast having it all ready when we were, this is where they excelled and the food was gorgeous.
Our experience of this hotel was great and we will certainly be back, thankyou so much

Room Tip: We liked the familt room even though there was only two of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolePinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Tracey & the tram are very friendly, always a smile, food is hot & tasty, room clean, I think the fox has recently changed hands, looking at other reviews I was worried, but all was fine, I would stay again, good value & warm

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brettbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We arrived and had to wait 10 minutes in the bar during a disco before we were shown to our room. A very basic room, towel rail fell off once towel was placed on it. There was a disco downstairs which continued until 2am each morning with the vibrations of the bass felt through the floorboards and a noise level that compared to loud speakers in the bedroom. An adequate breakfast but nothing special. Friendly staff but this did not make up for the other inadequaces. Not recommended for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fraggle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Arrived to check in with only one girl available to serve at the bar and deal with guests. The room was shabby and there was mould in the shower. On both nights there was a disco downstairs that went on until after midnight. We would not have heard a nuclear explosion 50 metres away . Every moronic thud of the disco could be felt as we were elevated with each bass beat. On the morning of departure the duvet cover opened; my dog would not have slept on that duvet. It was filthy. The breakfast was edible if the plastic sausages were avoided. The staff themselves were very friendly. NEVER AGAIN EVEN IF FREE.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank HinInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2011

From the moment i arrived to the moment i left i wish i had booked longer than two nights,all the staff were excellent,especially Chrissy and her fella,great company.kitchen staff were brilliant.Nice room, comfortable bed,in fact everything you would wish for.thankyou so much.Bill Moffat

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billmo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guisborough
0.6 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
4.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
4.5 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
6.9 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Property: The Fox Inn
Address: Bow Street, Guisborough TS14 6BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Guisborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Guisborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Guisborough
The Fox Inn Guisborough, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing