We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and appealing”
Review of The Fox & Hounds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox & Hounds
Ranked #2 of 5 Guisborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We visited this as a family and grandchildren. The menu was varied and appealing. We enjoyed the opportunity to share costs with the two for one. The quality was excellent -the value was OK.
Staff were pleasant and accommodating. No backround silly music - great!!!!
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sorry we didn't stay because w elive locally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kingell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed here as a family, booked a family room had rung up months before to ask if our room is ok for a 13 and 16 year old and was told yes .We turned up looked nice from outside but it is very dated and could do with a good refurb. The 'family room' would be fine if we had 2 small children but the room was an ok size but there was no way we could put our kids on a small sofa bed ,as it was late in the day we couldn't arrange to go elsewhere so we had to pay for another room so not a great start,the rooms where clean the room we had only had a mirror in the bathroom and nowhere else so couldn't dry your hair so i borrowed the mirror from the room the kids stayed in .
The staff that we met were very pleasant and breakfast was lovely though on the 2nd day i think i had half a slice of bacon .Didn't really get chance to look at the area though driving through its a lovely view .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a £39 Groupon deal for 2 nights plus bottle of wine so ill start with the positives!For what we paid it was good value.The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly and we had an excellent breakfast each morning BUT the whole hotel was very dated and 'tired' in need of a complete refurbishment.Stay clear of rooms 3 4 and 5 as the floor boards are unbelievably noisy to the point that we were startled in the middle of the night as we thought someone was in our room!!! Although good value we wont be returning.

Room Tip: Do not choose rms 3 4 or5 VERY noisy floor boards!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My boyfriend and I visited this hotel last weekend... we like the couple futher down purchased the Groupon voucher, and got two nights for £39.00, which again as stated below is excellent value.

The hotel its self is very dated now compared to other places we have stayed. We arrived and the staff where brilliant, really friendly and couldn't do enough to help you. I read somewhere that this hotel was run by family members, and I think that really shines though.

We where showed to our room which was really large and spacious, very basic and slightly old fashioned. Spotlessly clean though, and had a really big comfy bed.

We ha breakfast both morning in the conservatory, which was lovely. The full english couldnt be improved, we also ate in the bar off the snacks menu both nights, which was like sandwiches or even full pub meals, and the food was really night.

We travelled to Whitby on the 2nd day of our stay as the hotel is in an ideal location to get there, only about 30 minutes away.

Overall, we enjoyed the hotel and I would considering returning if I could get a similar price to the above, if I had payed the advertised cost of £60 - £70 a night I would be VERY disappointed. I think the hotel needs some serious up-dating before it starts charging those prices.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarajones157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

never stayed here but the food is very good. The carvery is outstanding

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank paulsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel through Groupon, we paid £39 for 2nights with breakfast and a bottle of wine.

Firstly when we arrived we were greeted by staff who were lovely!! we got checked in, got to choose the bottle of wine which we wanted and we were shown to our room. The staff were aware that we were bringing our dog so they put us towards the back of the building so we could access the back door easier to take the dog out for a walk.

The room was of a reasonable size, had a TV, kettle, cups, towels, tea, coffee, milk, sugar. The usual! We live not too far away from here and we booked it because of groupon so the location was just the norm to us however there is lots of places to walk nearby, the town of Guisborough is about 5-10 minutes away which has everything that you could need in it. The only thing that could be seen as dissapointing is that we didn't have a bath just a shower but from previous experience from other hotels that we have stayed in, the baths are normally ridiculously small so having a decent sized shower was better than one of those!! We had a very good and peaceful nights sleep and so did the dog! ;-)

Breakfast- There was cereal, toast, yogurts, fruit, juices, range of fruit teas and then we got a full english!! Even if you were the worlds pickiest eater there was still something there for you! We had our breakfast in our room and this wasn't a problem for the staff at all. My husband went down to get the cereal etc that we wanted then the staff brought us our full english along with a pot of tea and a pot of coffee. The food was absolutely gorgeous!! Cooked to perfection!

We have previously been here for something to eat and the food when we were here was no different- AMAZING! The bar area is nice and homely and the restaurant area is modern and again with excellent customer service.

I have read a few of the reviews that other people have put on about their stay here and I read about the creaking floor boards- they do creak but if I hadnt read about it I probably wouldnt of noticed them!!

For what we paid we werent expecting much but even if we had paid the full price for our stay we would have still been equally as happy and satisfied. Wouldnt hesitate to stay here again and would reccommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing stay and especially for those with a dog ! Hope this helps!

Room Tip: If you take a dog its easier to be at the back of the building as you can go in and out of the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sophiejsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

we went to this hotel in feb 2012 ,waited ten minutes for someone to book us in,there wasnt a que just no one to see to us ,so we had to wait,got took to our room stayed 35 minutes and left,ive never been in such a depressing place in all my life,MISERABLE IS NOT THE WORD depressing is about right,the so called bath was unbelievable i honestly have never seen a monstrosity like it,wasted time energy and hard earned money going here ,i DONT DO IT ,im not a moaner but this is awfull,dated was another understatement too ,the tv was an antique from the 70s,apart from all this ,its on the duel carriageway and noisy,

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guisborough
1.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,510 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
3.9 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
453 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
236 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#3 of 5 in Guisborough
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox & Hounds

Address: Slapewath, Guisborough TS14 6PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Guisborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Guisborough
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox & Hounds 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fox & Hounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox & Hounds Guisborough, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing