We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly stay with lovely food”
Review of The Fox & Hounds

The Fox & Hounds
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fox & Hounds
Ranked #3 of 5 Guisborough B&B and Inns
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly stay with lovely food”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Just returned from a 3 day stay at the Fox and Hounds. We found the staff excellent and the food very good and very reasonable. I can't understand people complaining about this hotel being dated when, in fact, it is a very OLD hotel. The dining room and breakfast conservatory were well laid out and spotlessly clean. The service was excellent.The bar service was good and the drinks just a little expensive. However, the food was so reasonable this was more than compensation. The stairs to the upper floor was rather narrow and steep and in the old part the floors were VERY creaky and light sleepers may be disturbed. Our bedroom was clean and comfortable with white cotton sheets and white towels, 2 bath, 2 hand, & bath mat which were changed during our 3 day stay. Some minor repairs needed doing but otherwise all was fine. There was plenty of tea, coffee etc in the room and toiletries in the bathroom. There was also a tv but no hairdryer. I am sure had I not taken my own, that one would have been provided on request. Our little dog was also made very welcome. There is a large car park and good walks onto the moor behind the hotel. Would I go again? Certainly. We were warm, comfortable, well fed and treated with courtesy and efficiency.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaravanQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    26
    22
    10
    11
See reviews for
14
43
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

over priced, the bar prices are on a par with london, in need of decoration, damp,and very unfriendly.

i have never visited a place as bad as this, everything wrong is at this place, i would surgest avoiding this place at all costs, there are loads more around that are better.

i go up here very often, but will not stay here again.

never again!!!

Room Tip: do not pick this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guisborough hotels

Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We visited this as a family and grandchildren. The menu was varied and appealing. We enjoyed the opportunity to share costs with the two for one. The quality was excellent -the value was OK.
Staff were pleasant and accommodating. No backround silly music - great!!!!
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sorry we didn't stay because w elive locally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed here as a family, booked a family room had rung up months before to ask if our room is ok for a 13 and 16 year old and was told yes .We turned up looked nice from outside but it is very dated and could do with a good refurb. The 'family room' would be fine if we had 2 small children but the room was an ok size but there was no way we could put our kids on a small sofa bed ,as it was late in the day we couldn't arrange to go elsewhere so we had to pay for another room so not a great start,the rooms where clean the room we had only had a mirror in the bathroom and nowhere else so couldn't dry your hair so i borrowed the mirror from the room the kids stayed in .
The staff that we met were very pleasant and breakfast was lovely though on the 2nd day i think i had half a slice of bacon .Didn't really get chance to look at the area though driving through its a lovely view .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a £39 Groupon deal for 2 nights plus bottle of wine so ill start with the positives!For what we paid it was good value.The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly and we had an excellent breakfast each morning BUT the whole hotel was very dated and 'tired' in need of a complete refurbishment.Stay clear of rooms 3 4 and 5 as the floor boards are unbelievably noisy to the point that we were startled in the middle of the night as we thought someone was in our room!!! Although good value we wont be returning.

Room Tip: Do not choose rms 3 4 or5 VERY noisy floor boards!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My boyfriend and I visited this hotel last weekend... we like the couple futher down purchased the Groupon voucher, and got two nights for £39.00, which again as stated below is excellent value.

The hotel its self is very dated now compared to other places we have stayed. We arrived and the staff where brilliant, really friendly and couldn't do enough to help you. I read somewhere that this hotel was run by family members, and I think that really shines though.

We where showed to our room which was really large and spacious, very basic and slightly old fashioned. Spotlessly clean though, and had a really big comfy bed.

We ha breakfast both morning in the conservatory, which was lovely. The full english couldnt be improved, we also ate in the bar off the snacks menu both nights, which was like sandwiches or even full pub meals, and the food was really night.

We travelled to Whitby on the 2nd day of our stay as the hotel is in an ideal location to get there, only about 30 minutes away.

Overall, we enjoyed the hotel and I would considering returning if I could get a similar price to the above, if I had payed the advertised cost of £60 - £70 a night I would be VERY disappointed. I think the hotel needs some serious up-dating before it starts charging those prices.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarajones157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

never stayed here but the food is very good. The carvery is outstanding

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guisborough
1.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,479 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
3.9 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
213 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#2 of 5 in Guisborough
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox & Hounds

Property: The Fox & Hounds
Address: Slapewath, Guisborough TS14 6PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Guisborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Guisborough
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox & Hounds 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fox & Hounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox & Hounds Guisborough, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing