We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food”
Review of The Fox & Hounds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox & Hounds
Ranked #2 of 5 Guisborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Good service, polite staff and always accommodating. Even when the restaurant and dining room are full they will always "fit you In". Excellent carvery and good menu. Only one snag the price of drinks are high even for a shandy or cordial and water. However I will be back to try the two for £13 and I would recommend people trying the food through the week and not only on a Sunday.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 34Whg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Booked a weekend away for myself & my wife on line. The booking was very easy and efficient. Arrived on Saturday afternoon and was welcomed with a warm greeting from one of the staff, Checked in with no problems and were shown to our room which was very clean. There was tea,coffee & biscuits available which was a nice touch. We ate in the pub dining room on the evening, the food was excellent with a good choice.
On the Sunday morning we had a good breakfast in the conservatory and went on our way. I would certailt reccomend this hostelry.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Visiting here with a group of friends had a mixed result. We have been here a number of times and have always found the carvery excellent but on this occasion although the food was good, the staff were not what they should be. Certain female members would benefit from training/retraining in customer relations and could take their male colleagues as a role model. The gentlemen were both polite and professional.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank yorksrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were walking the Cleveland Way. The room was very pleasant and spacious. Breakfast was OK, but not much in the way of fresh fruit, make your own toast with pretty indifferent bread. We did not want a carver as we are not big meat eaters. Although there was quite a bit on the menu, the waitress knew nothing about any of it. The food was OK.

Room Tip: Think that they are all pretty much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I was on the Cleveland Way - arriving after a day of walking and the staff were very kind and helpful. It was a welcome luxury to stay here after a few nights of camping and long days walking. The single room I paid for was a twin and comfortable. I enjoyed the bar, carvery, dining room with waitress service and useful location adjacent to bus service to Scarborough. The food was excellent and I had a comfortable stay. Breakfast was varied with porridge available and smoked haddock and kippers as well as full English. I would recommend this place in a beautiful setting and close to the Cleveland Way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabHull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I recently had visitors from the Wirral, Cheshire so I took them to The Fox & Hounds, Slapewath for the lunchtime Carvery. They were very impressed. We had a lovely lunch and the setting was lovely. The service was excellent and the atmosphere very relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 212Netty44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed on the 8th march for one night. Food excellent, can recommend the carvery. Staff very welcomeing, creaky floorboards but it is an old building it's part of the atmosphere. Certainly will come again really good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guisborough
1.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,510 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
3.9 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
453 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
236 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#3 of 5 in Guisborough
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox & Hounds

Address: Slapewath, Guisborough TS14 6PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Guisborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Guisborough
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox & Hounds 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fox & Hounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox & Hounds Guisborough, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing