We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous break away.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fabulous break away.”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The drive up to the hotel is quite spectacular, and the grounds are lovely even when snow covered. All the staff were welcoming, efficient and helpful. The room large, spacious and well appointed. We were in the new section which has been very tastefully decorated in style with the older building. We had a very minor problem with a tap which was quickly rectified.
The lounge area with roaring fire was very much appreciated when we sat to choose our menu for dinner. Had a massage in the beauty clinic which was very de-stressing. Overall this was a very relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsylandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    399
    115
    34
    20
See reviews for
178
897
21
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

A beautiful heritage country house with decor and service to match. The Four poster room was very romantic with great views and the food was delicious. Perfect location for a romantic weekend or wedding. There is a reasonable selection of wine but be prepared as this can be quite pricey. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValpolicellaKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay. The place is lovely the staff are very helpful and friendly. Food was excellent and the service was good. The only downside I would say is that the hotel lacks a pool. Our room which was 120 was very nice and clean with plenty of room.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarieDaveBarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keyingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Great place to relax,big fires,high ceilings,good food,comfortable rooms.Friendly service.Fabulous breakfasts with plenty of coffee,lovely dining room,warm and cosy.We go here and then to Whitby for shopping,F&C,Kippers.Blow the froth off a few Beers too.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get one of the large rooms and get the true oldie worldie experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clubbers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My husband and I had a lovely 2 night stay at this hotel but spoiled by poor restaurant service and organisation. We booked a table for dinner for 7.45 but was 8.10 before we were seated so were pretty hungery by the time we were served, my husbands 1st course of mackerel was pretty sparce to say the least and main course selection very poor at £18.50 very overpriced, my main was awful and had to complain for which chef appologised and didn't charge but very disappointing. Next day breakfast my husband ordered porridge which was excellent but waited 30mins for his cooked breakfast other residents were getting wrong orders it was quaotic to say the least. The evening was really bad and very disappointing bad service and it continued the following day at breakfast on the hole lovely hotel shame about the service. We were given macdonald hotel vouchers as a
gift from friends for this stay but regret choosing gisborough hall.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed here for three nights last week and it was exactly what the doctor ordered! We asked for a quiet room as I'm not sleeping and we were put in a room where you could have heard a pin drop, it was fantastic. Comfy bed, huge room and loads of hot water for plenty of relaxing baths. Staff remembered our names which was a nice touch too.

Hotel itself is very grand with several large lounges with open fires which is very welcome in March.

The spa was good too and the mother-to-be package was wonderful, I was out for the count during it and it was the best sleep I'd had in weeks!

One tip, the fried breakfast didn't strike us as that great (bit fatty) but the porridge was amazing so it's worth checkingout the menu first and not just going for the standard fry up. Also, on all nights we were told they were fully booked for dinner at the time we asked for (7pm) but when we turned up for our booking 15mins later the bistro and restaurant were nearing on empty, not sure why that was but seemed odd that so many tables were empty when only 15mins early they were 'fully booked'.

Room Tip: We were room 230 and it was really quiet though up a flight of stairs if you have mobility problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoLRweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear PoLRweb
I am so pleased that you stayed with us last week and managed to unwind and relax.
From what you have intimated…attending mother-to-be package, this break is exactly what you needed.
I am afraid that we can only take so many guests into our restaurants every 15 minutes, all food is freshly prepared and cooked and physically impracticable to take additional bookings when that booking space is “full”; stating that the restaurants are “fully booked” is perhaps the wrong thing to say this and must cause concern when there are so many empty tables.
We do hope that you return in the future for another relaxing stay, meanwhile I trust you have a comfortable pregnancy.

Kind Regards
Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

We visited the hotel for our second time at the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it again, last visit we had the feature room, this time a room in the Woodland wing but still found it as comfy as the first time. The service on Saturday night was a little slow and we didn't sit down for dinner until approx an hour later than we'd booked but didn't find it a problem as we were't in any rush and a free drink was given to compensate. The food in the restaurant was excellent and so was the breakfast. Would love to come back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickikox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear nickikox
Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased that your return visit to Gisborough Hall was so enjoyable.
I do know it was particularly busy when you stayed with us this time; we appreciate your patience and understanding in the delay in seating you for dinner. I am pleased that you found the food excellent.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes
Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guisborough
15.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,046 reviews
4.0 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
213 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,051 reviews
12.1 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
880 reviews
14.8 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gisborough Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gisborough Hall Hotel

Property: Gisborough Hall Hotel
Address: Whitby Lane, Guisborough TS14 6PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Guisborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gisborough Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors in the market town of Guisborough yet close to the coastal towns of Whitby and Saltburn-by-Sea is Gisborough Hall. A stunning, ivy-clad, period building with all the features to make you feel like Lord and Lady of the manor. When you're not exploring the fascinating local area, back at the hotel, our attentive team are happy to run around after you, serving our renowned afternoon tea or deliciously cooked evening meals, prepared using the freshest finest ingredients. A picture perfect wedding venue both inside and out, special memories are created at Gisborough Hall Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gisborough Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gisborough Hall Guisborough
Gisborough Hall Hotel Guisborough, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing