We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Country House Hotel - disappointed spa was closed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Country House Hotel - disappointed spa was closed”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Would have rated Gisborough Hall 5 stars Excellent.
Beautiful hotel and grounds, welcoming, clean, fresh and bright. Food well prepared and presented and very enjoyable.
However, we were very disappointed because the Revival Zone spa facilities were closed for refurbishment and staff were attending a training day. We chose Gisborough Hall because of the spa and only became aware of the unavailability when we asked to use the spa a few hours after checking in. Also it would help with the ambiance and relaxation in the main hall if staff could choose shoes that are quite on the lovely wooden floors.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Daniel S
Thank you so much for your feedback, I am delighted to hear such positive comments regarding our hotel. However, I am so disappointed that you weren’t communicated too when you booked regarding our Revival zone being closed. This was planned months in advance for the training and roll out of our new product, Elemis. All departments were briefed, so this shouldn’t have been an issue, but clearly there has been a communication breakdown. I will be addressing this with our relevant managers to ensure this doesn’t happen again in future.
We do hope you have the chance to return to Gisborough hall and make use of our newly refurbished Revival zone. Please do contact the hotel directly for any queries.
Regards
Lorella Negro
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    390
    112
    34
    19
See reviews for
172
880
21
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Terrible! Booked in on business. Was not able to get a table for 1 hour in the bar, when I did the starter took a further 30 mins to arrive! It was incredibly poor and massively over priced, after a further 20 mins of waiting for the main I decided to take it as room service. It arrived a further 20 mins later was a terrible chewy steak! The waiting staff told me openly that the restaurant was prioritised over the bar, but there was no space left in the restaurant..!

I spoke with other guests and they were all disappointed and on business. This hotel is completely missing a trick!

Prices were exorbitant and the quality of the food was terrible, the room was cold! I could not check out fast enough and would never ever stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LW12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear LW12014
I am so sorry you have experienced such a bad stay with ourselves, I can assure you that we are deeply saddened by the poor service you encountered and all relevant departments have been addressed and action plans devised to ensure our standards do not drop again. We pride ourselves on our customer care and attention and clearly we have let you down. That night in question was an exceptionally busy evening but under no circumstances do we place the restaurant above the G bar and Bistro and I can only apologise for the waitress who told you that, as this is clearly wrong. In regards to your steak, we are currently in the process of reviewing our meat supplier as there have been some other comments on the quality too over the past few months , which we hope to iron out , due to our commitment to good food and good service. Our prices reflect other competitors of a similar rating and we regularly do competitor checks to make sure we are not pricing ourselves out of the market. However, we take on board all comments and will be re looking at our menus to ensure we are pricing ourselves correctly.
Please feel free to phone myself personally and I will be happy to discuss any of your comments.
Regards
Lorella Negro
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Had a good weekend at this beautiful hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I was particularly grateful to Byron who helped me with my Dietary requirements and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwaite7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Dwaite7

Thank you so much for your delightful comments regarding your stay the other week. I am glad you enjoyed your experience here and in particular singled out our Assistant Restaurant manager, Byron for his exceptional service with your dietary requirements and in general.

We very much hope you do return again and look forward to welcoming you back some day.

Regards

Lorella Negro
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and myself have just visited Gisborough hall , we were totally looked after from the moment we stepped through the front door. Julie on reception and the gentleman who showed us to our room were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.The hotel is beautiful and absolutely spotless, the rooms are very tastefully decorated as are the lounges, bar and restaurant.This hotel ticks all the boxes, but a special recognition has to go to the members of staff, who were all welcoming, helpful, courteous and really professional , special mentions go to duty manager Fiona, Julie,Sarah and Byron and the gentleman who showed us to our room. Byron took our dinner order and answered any queries, he is very knowledgeable and helpful. The food was outstanding, totally worth every penny and the chefs are to be commended. The food is locally sourced and the chefs carefully put together dishes , we had scallops with crab meat and chorizo, which was sublime, followed by rib eye steak cooked to perfection, then a delightful olive oil chocolate cake with marmalade ice cream.The breakfast was just as good and cooked to order, which is always a bonus. The sausages were the best I have ever tasted and the staff replenished the continental food / juice the minute it was running low, teas coffee, toast everything plentiful.We strongly recommend this hotel, we were more than happy with the service we received, the measure of a good hotel is it`s staff and this hotel has the best staff. Congratulations to the hotel, for the 5 star treatment you provide for your guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Rachel C

It was a delight reading your review, particularly the pinpointing of particular members of the team: Byron, Fiona, Sarah and Julie, the man who took you to your bedroom I believe was Steve our weekend porter.
The team makes the hotel; the individuals you have mentioned by name are all passionate. I am also delighted that you enjoyed Chaloner’s Restaurant so much, the food and service. As you are well aware we were exceptionally busy on Saturday evening I am pleased we delivered.
Whitley Bay is close by; we hope that you will return on many future occasions.

Kind regards
Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is a great hotel in a very picturesque setting. The building is beautiful,and tastefully and sympathetically decorated. The accommodation is comfortable, spacious and well appointed. The staff are extremely professional, knowledgeable about the hotel's history and the local area, courteous and attentive, and the welcome was very warm. The food is of a high standard, and is well cooked and beautifully presented. I would definitely return to this hotel, and would not hesitate to recommend it to other visitors to the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scouseduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Sue O

Thank you for posting this wonderful review of Gisborough Hall on Tripadvisor.
I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel; the accommodation, food and courtesy of the staff.
We would love you to recommend us to friends and family, and hope that you will soon return.

Kind regards
Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my son, as we parked outside the whole place was beautiful the huge building and the gardens, on arrival we were greeted by 2 lovely receptionist who were friendly and very professional, we had a standard twin and it was lovely, the breakfast was really nice, everything was very good about this stay, I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cypress12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Cypress12

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Gisborough Hall.
I am delighted that your stay was lovely and that you enjoyed all aspects of it including the hospitality of the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Lovely swanky modern and old style. Fab wood burning fires all over and a peaceful atmosphere and cool bar with lovely food and great prices. All the staff are top notch. Would go back in a heart beat.......... cheers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunman06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear sunman06

Thank you for your review that I received today, I am delighted that you had a fabulous time with us and enjoyed our food, ambience and hospitality.
I am hoping therefore that our rating of 1 is perhaps incorrect, especially as I noted your great comments and you scored our G Bar and Bistro 5?
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guisborough
15.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
4.0 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
185 reviews
7.3 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
496 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
427 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gisborough Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gisborough Hall Hotel

Property: Gisborough Hall Hotel
Address: Whitby Lane, Guisborough TS14 6PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Guisborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gisborough Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors in the market town of Guisborough yet close to the coastal towns of Whitby and Saltburn-by-Sea is Gisborough Hall. A stunning, ivy-clad, period building with all the features to make you feel like Lord and Lady of the manor. When you're not exploring the fascinating local area, back at the hotel, our attentive team are happy to run around after you, serving our renowned afternoon tea or deliciously cooked evening meals, prepared using the freshest finest ingredients. A picture perfect wedding venue both inside and out, special memories are created at Gisborough Hall Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gisborough Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gisborough Hall Guisborough
Gisborough Hall Hotel Guisborough, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing