We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea delight!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
hartlepool
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea delight!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went the other Sunday for afternoon Tea after the Spring Fair they were holding at the venue. We were a little early so we sat on the terrace in the sunshine lapping up the lovely surroundings. The afternoon tea was lovely and we ate all of it. We could not fault it at all and the staff were really friendly and helpful throughout.
We will definitely go back again to sample more of their lovely food
Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear andyquinn

I am delighted that you attended afternoon tea at the Spring Fair. Over the past 12-months we have spent some time in developing our afternoon tea offerings and improving both quality and service.
Available daily, afternoon teas are served from 2.00pm – 6.00pm, these may be taken in the inner hall, drawing room, and terrace or if a high table and straight back chair is preferred, in Chaloner’s Restaurant.
We look forward to you returning, either for tea, lunch or dinner.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    390
    112
    34
    19
See reviews for
172
880
21
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here for 1 night whilst meeting old colleagues and it was a good place to eat and stay. The room was in the Woodlands Wing, which was a walk from the main part of the hotel, it was large and comfortable, not too hot and very very quiet. We ate at the Challoner restaurant, which was very quiet too, but I guess Tuesday night was not the busiest of the week. The food was enjoyable and served superbly at a leisurely pace. The highlight being the 'Yorkshire' cheese and biscuits. The lounge was nice to relax and chat. Breakfast was a mix of buffet and cooked to order; the 'house' marmalade was incredibly tasty. It is probably 10 years since I last stayed here and hope it wont be so long until I am back again.

Room Tip: The Woodlands Wing is a bit of a hike from the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Lawrence S

I would like to thank both you and your old colleagues for choosing to meet ay Gisborough Hall.
I am delighted that your stay with us was so comfortable and you enjoyed the dining in Chaloner’s 2 AA Rosette restaurant. We have offered a local cheeseboard for many years, the cheese is of exceptional quality and I believe Yorkshire and the North East are world class producers.

The marmalade is from South Africa and made by the Chaloner family who have a farm and preserves business there, I agree with you on how tasty this is, it reminds me of my Mothers traditional thick cut marmalade, I buy it from the hotel to use at home.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marske, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding hear in November, every single part of the venue was absolutely amazing and the food was beautiful . Nichola the wedding coordinator was fabulous a real asset to the company and could have been more helpful

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Melanie W

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor.

We appreciate your lovely comments regarding your fairytale wedding in November, and thank you for chosing Gisborough Hall.

Nicola is a consummate professional and is indeed an asset, she guides our bridal couples through this most important and amazing day of their lives.

Please come back to see us soon and much happiness in your marriage.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked dinner bed & breakfast for one night but wished we had booked for another. From the moment we arrived the staff were very warm & friendly. We booked for our daughter & son in law to join us for dinner, but cancelled at last minute, only then to rebook again. The staff were very understanding and couldn't have more accommodating. The gin cocktails were fantastic! Dinner was superb! Stunning dining room & lounge, extremely comfortable and welcoming. We had a room on the new wing which was very comfortable. If I had to be a little critical, but only a dash, there was some mould in the corner of shower which was a little off putting, but I really am nitpicking here! The breakfast buffet was one the best we have had in any hotel, and there have 100s in the past! It was lovely to see local staff of all ages, who very warm & helpful. We are already booking our next trip back. Thank you for a lovely stay

Room Tip: Only tried the new wing which was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiHitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear DiHitchen

I was so delighted to read your comments especially those regarding you rebooking to return to Gisborough Hall.

My local team are passionate and friendly, the food is the finest in the area, I am glad you enjoyed this.

My housekeeper has a cleaning programme for bathroom seals, I will ensure that she is keeping to this programme.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

A lovely country house hotel set in beautiful grounds. The staff were very helpful and extremelly accommodating. My room was large and well appointed, with a majestic large desk. A few dodgy moments. There was a fire alarm (nobody's fault but not ideal), the pillows are a bit too squishy, and the wifi is not strong. Food in the bistro was well priced and delicious, as well as having a good range of drinks. The hotel is quite sqiggly in design, being so old with extensions, so expect to get a bit lost from time to time. I found the wedding area by accident (it looked lovely but was not where I wanted to be). Overall a pretty decent stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daffsnewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Daffsnewell

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor following your recent stay at Gisborough Hall.

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return. We are introducing a pillow menu, pillows are feather down, and in the wardrobes we keep firmer fibre pillows and also have non allergenic pillows if required. We just need to tell our guests!

We hope that you will soon return.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Booked this hotel for a business trip not impressed with the rooms very old fashioned and smelt of must. Bed was uncomfortable, no wifi or mobile connection. Did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food. Only positive was a lovely scenery.

Room Tip: Avoid staying in the old part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy41black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear lizzy41black

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor, we are not complacent and value all comments in order to improve for future guests.

I would be grateful if you could e-mail me direct to tell me which room you stayed in? gm.gisboroughhall@macdonald-hotels.co.uk we have replaced a significant number of mattresses over the past 12-months, I would like to inspect the one in the room that you stayed in and replace if necessary.

Our rooms are all being refreshed as we speak, my team are decorating and grouting. Armoires are being repainted in neutral colours and bedside tables adapted. With duvets and flat screen TVs, the bedrooms are beginning to look more modern yet traditional.

We have installed the Cloud free wifi at the hotel, however are now aware that there are pockets of the hotel that do not pick this up, additional routers have been ordered.

We do hope that you will return in the future and have a most comfortable stay.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
broxburn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

we spent a night at the hotel and had dinner in there resteraunt , the hotel and all the staff were very friendly and most helpful with all our needs, the food was very good and the service was equally so . i would recommend our stay to anyone who is looking for a short break in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BOB l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear BOB l

Thank you very much for your review, it means so much to the team that you would recommend us.

I am delighted that we fulfilled your needs and you had a comfortable stay and an enjoyable dinner. We look forward to you returning soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guisborough
15.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
4.0 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
185 reviews
7.3 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
495 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
427 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gisborough Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gisborough Hall Hotel

Property: Gisborough Hall Hotel
Address: Whitby Lane, Guisborough TS14 6PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Guisborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gisborough Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors in the market town of Guisborough yet close to the coastal towns of Whitby and Saltburn-by-Sea is Gisborough Hall. A stunning, ivy-clad, period building with all the features to make you feel like Lord and Lady of the manor. When you're not exploring the fascinating local area, back at the hotel, our attentive team are happy to run around after you, serving our renowned afternoon tea or deliciously cooked evening meals, prepared using the freshest finest ingredients. A picture perfect wedding venue both inside and out, special memories are created at Gisborough Hall Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gisborough Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gisborough Hall Guisborough
Gisborough Hall Hotel Guisborough, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing