We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming cottage with excellent hosts.”
other travellers have booked this property
Pretty secure private courtyard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pretty secure private courtyard.
The TV has freesat, and WiFi is available in all rooms Comfortable lounge / diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Pretty secure private courtyard.
The TV has freesat, and WiFi is available in all rooms
Comfortable lounge / diner
The bedroom has a Kingsize bed, and en-suit bathroom.
The bedroom has a fitted wardrobe
The bathroom has a large bath and shower, with lots of hot water on tap.
A washing line is provided in the private courtyard.
The kitchen has an automatic washing machine.
Modern well equipped kitchen
Private pretty yard
A picnic table is provided for your convenience
Guisborough Priory is just a short walk from the cottage.
The East Cleveland Cup cycle race starts within yards o0f the cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Guisborough, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Charming cottage with excellent hosts.”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage was immaculately clean and both Ian and Nessa were fantastically welcoming hosts all our needs were met, the cottage is in a fantastic location with all amenities a few steps away but the cottage still retained the quietness of a residential location. We would highly recommend this cottage and look forward to our next stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandabec...
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bluebell Cottage Guisborough”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Ian and Nessa were warm and friendly hosts. The cottage, though modern and freshly refurbished was cosy and comfortable and wonderfully secluded with its own private courtyard. Despite this it was also literally on the doorstep to all amenities so couldn't have been more perfect! I look forward to our next stay here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennisthe...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home !”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

From walking in the door we felt at home, everything you could possibly need for a short break or an extended stay. This quaint lovely cottage is the perfect base for the surrounding shops and attractions which are many and varied, Guisborough is a beautiful small town just begging to be explored. Walks on the North Yorkshire Moors only ten minutes drive away.
Our hosts, Vanessa and Ian, perfect - Nothing is too much trouble, Friendly, good humoured couple whom I would choose for neighbours and want to take them home with us.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SvanSoest
1 review
“Lovely get away in pitoresk town on the edge of Cleveland hills”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had good phone contact before arrival. They were very accommadating us arriving late due to flight arrival. The cottage was lovely and looked like the pictures provided. The hosts were available 24hrs if need be, which we only needed to figure out the dvd player. The bath was absolutely gorgeous. The location of the cottage is superb, in the middle of town across a pub a few doors down from morrisons and ways into the cleveland hills starting from the doorstep. The private courtyard - with people looking at us stepping out of the door like we came from diagon alley - was lovely and quiet. Next time we hope to be here when the priory is open.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janekaspr...
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
“A brilliant find in an excellent location”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A cosy, comfortably furnished and well decorated cottage, recessed off Guisborough high street so quiet too. Excellent location to explore North Yorkshire Moors, Cleveland Way, with easy road and rail access to Teesdale and Northumberland. A great base from which to explore. We shall be back soon. Just need few more kitchen utensils but otherwise excellent. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, comfortable, central
Liked least: Not quite enough kitchen utensils
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GandP184
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Moved out within 48 Hours!”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Smell - The insurmountable problem was the constant very obvious smell of damp present in both ground floor rooms. On arrival late afternoon Saturday 18th June we assumed it was a musty smell associated with the building being closed. The smell did not ease. A plug in air freshener was found to be left on in the lounge. We assume to ‘mask’ the damp smell. The combined smells had a negative effect. At the end of the first full day (19th June) we reported the smell. The next morning 20th June the owner stated that his son had cleared vegetation from the boundary (this suggested to us it was a known problem). We did not cook in the kitchen because of the unbearable smell. On Monday 20th June, following breakfast in a cafe and a walk we re-entered the cottage late morning. The damp smell was unchanged. Decision made we moved out by 2pm that same day Monday 20th June and checked into a hotel. During the check-out, the owner’s wife stated that she could not smell anything, and that no one else had ever complained of a smell...

Stairs – These are very steep and narrow. We are confident they would not meet current Building Regulations. A wooden ‘pigs ear’ type handrail is fixed to the wall. Because it is not possible to fully close the fingers over this type of handrail, the purchase is limited. The descent downstairs was only achieved safely by walking sideways. We both felt the stairs were an unnecessary risk to have to deal with whilst on holiday.

Parking – The advert currently describes on-street parking (a very recent change we think). Westgate (where the cottage is located) is very busy much of the time. Parking is on-street only. It is subject to availability, and limited to 2 hours max during Mon – Sat daytime; and not before 10:00am on market days. We were also entitled to use ‘T Zone’ on-street residents’ 24/7 parking. It is again subject to availability. It is approx 300 metres away from the cottage and therefore not totally convenient.

Bed –a very hard mattress. Whilst not protruding through the outer fabric of the mattress the existence of underlying springs was very apparent. An additional cover had been provided to supplement the quilt in terms of warmth. We used this as an additional layer on top of the mattress to help with comfort.

Further to moving out 5 days early – no contact from owner. Whilst we did not ask for a refund, no offer has been made.

Positives - the cottage was very clean and tidy. The TV and DVD player worked. Owners were polite and replied promptly regarding the two issues we raised.

Honest feedback from a mature fit and healthy married couple, who regularly undertake self-catering breaks. We both felt the same about the property. It was (supposed to be) a 7 day self-catering holiday.

Liked best: Working tv, dvd & wifi
Liked least: Smell, Stairs, Bed, Parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam48_13
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Great cottage down doored alley off Main Street of lovely market town of Guisborough. Very secluded but a few steps from all amenities. Home away from home. Loved the local Pie Shop Restaurant (not real name). Close to
East Yorkshire coast, North Yorkshire Moors and lots of other tourist attractions.
Really loved this place. Thanks Ian and Nessa.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing