We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food but not vfm”
Review of French Partridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
French Partridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horton
Northampton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice food but not vfm”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We went on Groupon (main and small glass of wine) limited choice so paid extra for fillet steak and sides of boulangere pots and vegs (not included in main).
Cod was excellent with beautiful tasty sauce, steak cooked perfectly, generous portions. We had to send the veg back for re-heating but this was done promptly.
Observing other diners, tapas dishes looked and smelled appetising but lamb shanks looked overdone and dry, very big so "suckling lamb" misleading description. The duck ran out when we were there, disappointing some.
Service was good, we enjoyed our meal which was presented nicely Masterchef style, but we would be unlikely to go back at full price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    42
    30
    26
    29
See reviews for
42
77
Solo
0
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our evening was very disappointing. We were expecting a high quality evening and meal. It is an eye catching buliding from the outside but the restaurant was lacking in features. The meal was expensive and at the time of ordering we were not advised it came without vegetables. Our starter was a little greasy which was off putting. My wife had the lamb which was bland and 90% bone! One feels awkward to have to ask for the salt and pepper. My beef was good. The charge for water was excessive and we wish we had asked for tap water. We were overcharged which was corrected when we quizzed the waiter. The waiters were robotic and would do better to engage more with the diners. The 12.5% service charge is automatically added the the bill which is poor as customers may prefer the option of deciding whether it was merited. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnandJan150859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Horton hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We hoped for a boutique hotel. This is not. Rooms not cleaned, approx 50 dead wasps on the stairs, flies everywhere. Appalling service. The 'spa' is an old shed in the garden. Over-priced food. Avoid.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We'd fancied treating ourselves to an evening here for some time and when it came up on Groupon, we jumped at the chance.
The hotel looks inviting as a genteel property. The décor is elegant and tasteful and Friday evening saw a dining room serving around 24 diners being serenaded by a Spanish guitarist.
The staff were welcoming and attentive and the menu offered a good choice with a slight hint that there might be a Spanish influence in the kitchen.
The food was excellent and beautifully presented and we were able to enjoy three courses without feeling over-full.
It is definitely a bonus to use a voucher to off-set the cost of eating here but, we'd highly recommend the French Partridge for somewhere that little bit special.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnjcarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We hired out the private room and booked a few of the rooms. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us and were very professional. The food was excellent. A very enjoyable experience. Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OdellUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I had previously eaten here but many years ago and so was keen to visit to see if the food was still as good.
I really like this place it has a lovely exterior and setting. I could not fault the service we received even when I asked to be shown around the changes to the bar area where you can eat tapas in a less formal setting than the main restaurant.
The food was served well with great attention to detail and appearance. The scallops were delicious.
This is not a place to go if you have a big appetite. But if you have a special occasion and want to eat well and be well treated it is the place to go.
I used a Groupon voucher and without this it could prove to be a tad expensive but for a specail occasion it would be well worth it.
I read the reviews after my visit and was surprised by some of the negative comments as I enjoyed the meal and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyAnne253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loch Awe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My daughters and l stayed at the French partridge over the weekend, we had traveled down from Scotland and what a lovely welcome we got from Robin on arrival, we where
Showed to our 2 bed roomed suite on the top floor, the suite was lovely, warm and clean. Beds where very comfortable. In the bathroom was a roll top bath and free standing shower and a great supply of towels.
Breakfast was traditional English with 2 eggs of your choice a real hearty breakfast to set you up for the day. We where sorry we didn't get to eat in the restaurant as it all looked fabulous. Robin was helpful throughout our stay nothing was to much trouble as where all the staff.
Great hotel and great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horton
7.6 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
16.0 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
17.7 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
12.6 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Partridge

Property: French Partridge
Address: Newport Pagnell Road, Horton NN7 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Horton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — French Partridge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your French Partridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Partridge Hotel Horton
New French Partridge Horton
French Partridge Horton, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing