We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential but seems a bit confused.”
Review of French Partridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
French Partridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horton
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The French Partridge is set in beautiful surroundings in rural Northamptonshire .Our expectations of the standard of this hotel were high as when we lived in this area a few years ago it had a very good reputation. Despite a very warm welcome from the owner and polite friendly staff it became evident that the hotel and restaurant were not as they appeared.
The accommodation was comfortable the rooms clean and tastefully decorated although possibly in need of a refurb.
The restaurant which we were fully expecting to be French turned out to be predominantly Spanish with a Tapas menu and a choice of other assorted foods The wine menu was poor and the restaurant lacked character .The food was quite acceptable but not of the high quality we were expecting , The Breakfast was disappointing no real choice and we had to order it the night before; the room in which it was served was dark and not a pleasant place to eat.This Hotel /restaurant has so much potential but it needs to decide where its priorities lie, what food it wants to specialise in and maybe change the name and décor to suit their choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bathlivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Terrible - its certainly not a boutique hotel as advertised. The place has no atmosphere, On Saturday night the bar and restaurant were virtually empty. It is very expensive for what is effectively a third rate B&B.

Room Tip: Dont get a room above the kitchen its very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

A very pleasant ambience,professional friendly and helpful service and a mouth watering menu.
whole dining experience was exceptional and our only regret is that we dont live close enough to come every week.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Booked in for an overnight business trip and a couple of discreet meetings - this hotel was ideal for this purpose. The restaurant menu was surprising in its Spanish slant (given the hotels name) but the food was nicely presented and quite tasty. The room was OK and bed and bath linen were crisp and clean but overall the hotel was only reasonably clean and tidy. I can see why previous reviewers either love or hate it... it's certainly a marmite moment.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is floodlit at night and the light does penetrate these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnyHSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We went on Groupon (main and small glass of wine) limited choice so paid extra for fillet steak and sides of boulangere pots and vegs (not included in main).
Cod was excellent with beautiful tasty sauce, steak cooked perfectly, generous portions. We had to send the veg back for re-heating but this was done promptly.
Observing other diners, tapas dishes looked and smelled appetising but lamb shanks looked overdone and dry, very big so "suckling lamb" misleading description. The duck ran out when we were there, disappointing some.
Service was good, we enjoyed our meal which was presented nicely Masterchef style, but we would be unlikely to go back at full price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our evening was very disappointing. We were expecting a high quality evening and meal. It is an eye catching buliding from the outside but the restaurant was lacking in features. The meal was expensive and at the time of ordering we were not advised it came without vegetables. Our starter was a little greasy which was off putting. My wife had the lamb which was bland and 90% bone! One feels awkward to have to ask for the salt and pepper. My beef was good. The charge for water was excessive and we wish we had asked for tap water. We were overcharged which was corrected when we quizzed the waiter. The waiters were robotic and would do better to engage more with the diners. The 12.5% service charge is automatically added the the bill which is poor as customers may prefer the option of deciding whether it was merited. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnandJan150859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We hoped for a boutique hotel. This is not. Rooms not cleaned, approx 50 dead wasps on the stairs, flies everywhere. Appalling service. The 'spa' is an old shed in the garden. Over-priced food. Avoid.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horton
16.0 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#7 of 27 in Northampton
523 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
745 reviews
5.9 mi away
The World's End
The World's End
#1 of 1 in Ecton
278 reviews
8.2 mi away
Ibis Wellingborough
Ibis Wellingborough
#2 of 4 in Wellingborough
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Partridge

Address: Newport Pagnell Road, Horton NN7 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Horton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horton
Price Range: £47 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — French Partridge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your French Partridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Partridge Hotel Horton
New French Partridge Horton
French Partridge Horton, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing