We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of the right ingredients”
Review of French Partridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
French Partridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horton
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed here because all the hotels in Milton Keynes were full or overpriced. On arrival, I wondered what I had done, especially as I had to order breakfast for the next day as soon as I walked in. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, on a busy road. However, my room was large and clean and the staff seemed very willing to help. The restaurant is formal and as it was not busy, every quiet conversation could be overheard. The menu was pricey (main courses at ~£20+), although the tapas was cheaper. The food was very good, but slow to arrive.

So I can see why there are mixed reviews. I'm just not sure what the intended customer base is... It could be a business hotel, but the food is too pricey. And its not set up for locals to drop in for a drink or a light meal. It could be a romantic getaway, but it is not intimate enough. Its location doesn't make it easy for tourists... That said, the staff are brilliant, and I can see why this might be an ideal place for an occasion.

Its not a hotel to avoid, but I wouldn't rush back. I think they need to decide what they want this place to be.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edw0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

My wife and I stopped over on our way back from Scotland as I had to attend a meeting. What a pleasent suprise! The staff were polite and helpful and the room was large clean, warm and comfortable. As we had, had a long journey we decided to eat in the restaurant, the tapas to share was very good as was the service although a little slow. This hotel is under new management so some things on the wine menu were not available and it comes over that they are still learning. However breakfast was splendid and well laid out all fresh and well cooked although coffee was on the table the waiter insisted that I have a fresh pot. All in all a lovely stay and as I have regular meetings in the area I will be stopping again. final tip ask for a room away from the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the busy road that runs alongside some of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We originally intended to stay for just one night and ended up staying for seven. The manager offered us an excellent deals as our business meetings in Milton Keynes were extended at short notice. We were treated like old friends and the staff were very attentive even bringing us breakfast in bed most days.

We stayed in the Attenborough suite which was very spacious and comfortable.

Would definitely stay again :)

Room Tip: Book a deluxe suite to get a separate lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The French Partridge is set in beautiful surroundings in rural Northamptonshire .Our expectations of the standard of this hotel were high as when we lived in this area a few years ago it had a very good reputation. Despite a very warm welcome from the owner and polite friendly staff it became evident that the hotel and restaurant were not as they appeared.
The accommodation was comfortable the rooms clean and tastefully decorated although possibly in need of a refurb.
The restaurant which we were fully expecting to be French turned out to be predominantly Spanish with a Tapas menu and a choice of other assorted foods The wine menu was poor and the restaurant lacked character .The food was quite acceptable but not of the high quality we were expecting , The Breakfast was disappointing no real choice and we had to order it the night before; the room in which it was served was dark and not a pleasant place to eat.This Hotel /restaurant has so much potential but it needs to decide where its priorities lie, what food it wants to specialise in and maybe change the name and décor to suit their choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bathlivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Terrible - its certainly not a boutique hotel as advertised. The place has no atmosphere, On Saturday night the bar and restaurant were virtually empty. It is very expensive for what is effectively a third rate B&B.

Room Tip: Dont get a room above the kitchen its very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

A very pleasant ambience,professional friendly and helpful service and a mouth watering menu.
whole dining experience was exceptional and our only regret is that we dont live close enough to come every week.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Booked in for an overnight business trip and a couple of discreet meetings - this hotel was ideal for this purpose. The restaurant menu was surprising in its Spanish slant (given the hotels name) but the food was nicely presented and quite tasty. The room was OK and bed and bath linen were crisp and clean but overall the hotel was only reasonably clean and tidy. I can see why previous reviewers either love or hate it... it's certainly a marmite moment.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is floodlit at night and the light does penetrate these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnyHSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horton
16 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
The World's End
The World's End
#1 of 1 in Ecton
280 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 27 in Northampton
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#9 of 27 in Northampton
527 reviews
12.6 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
750 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Partridge

Address: Newport Pagnell Road, Horton NN7 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Horton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horton
Price Range: £45 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — French Partridge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your French Partridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Partridge Hotel Horton
New French Partridge Horton
French Partridge Horton, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing