We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Fleece(Witney)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burford House(Burford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,987)
Filter reviews
1,987 results
Traveller rating
1,219
460
204
64
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,219
460
204
64
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminster millthe riverfire pitgarden roomspa treatmentssloe ginthe pubbeautiful surroundingsbeautiful hotelcream tearelaxing weekendboth nightsbreakfast and dinnerlovely touchsuperior roomlittle touchestwo night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,257 - 1,262 of 1,987 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed for one night with my mum for her birthday ... Absolutely fantastic hotel... beautiful setting and very clean. Lovely food (breakfast, lunch and dinner!) and wonderful staff that were always very friendly and helpful. Will definitely return in the summer x

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zoe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at the Old Swan Easter Sunday and had high expectations with the photos and reviews we had seen. We were not disappointed, the staff were friendly and helpful. When they realised we were travelling with another couple and one of us was booked into the minster room they changed our rooms and put us both in the Swan. The rooms were lovely and we had a patio area which was nice to sit out in. It was all the small touches that made you feel special, sloe gin in your room, champagne as a pre dinner drink and even a hot water bottle in your room when you got back after dinner and drinks. The breakfast was the best I have had in a hotel and topped it of with a morning walk, the views were amazing. Worth every penny we paid, would defiantly return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Trishpev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

For country lovers staying at the Od Swan provides access to walks in the Windrush valley. The hotel itself has extensive grounds and even offers trout fishing. However the fishing book suggests the fishing is a challenge as the actual catches are minimally reported.

We stayed in the original 16th century building which had originality without compromising comfort. The food was great - fresh & well presented. The dinner menu with not that many options did not quite work for us but that may be due to our tastes. Breakfast however was excellent.

There are plans to improve the Spa features, e.g. provide a pool etc. Currently the lack of such features is a negative although made clear in the hotel details.

We paid full price and as a one off the experience was worthwhile. With more Spa type facilities and a better pricing package this would be a 10/10 score in all respects!

Room Tip: Try out the four poster bed in the 16th century buildng
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Derrick654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the Old Swan Easter Saturday to Sunday having spent the previous two nights in Stratford-Upon-Avon. I can honestly say we wished we had booked the Old Swan for longer and would love to return.

Such an ideal setting with the sound of flowing water never too far away. We spent the afternoon sat in the sun having a glass of wine and freshly baked scones, cream and jam - yum! When the sun had gone we went in side and had a cup of tea in front of the fire before getting ready for dinner.

Dinner was lovely but even better the breakfast the following morning.

The staff are both happy to help and happy generally which I believes speaks volumes in itself.

If I was picking I would say our room in the Mill was a little on the small side but we booked late (some of the other rooms in the brochure looked better) and we were not in the room for long in any event.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this truly wonderful place.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsKod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Room 125 is very small. If you are staying for more than one or two nights there is not enough wardrobe space . Only one side of the bed has a bedside table. The toilet is so close to the bath and heated towel rail it is impossible to use the toilet without burning your left knee on the towel rail. Once again I repeat DON'T stay in room 125!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simsalabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOldSwanMinsterMill, General Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your review and I am very sorry that you did not like Room 125. It's a shame we did not know how disappointed you were at the time of your stay, as we could have addressed your concerns immediately.

Whilst our Cosy Rooms are aptly named, they are very popular since they offer great value for money and still enjoy all of the high standards and homely touches, a hallmark of the de Savary family's attention to detail. The physical structure of our hotel is something, which we address at the time of refurbishment. Your comments, along with the many other comments from our guests, will always be taken into account when we decide on our plans.

I do hope that you will return to the Old Swan & Minster Mill, as I note that you rated many other aspects of your visit highly. I am sure that we will be able to select a room more suited to your requirements and your stay will be altogether more enjoyable.

With best wishes

Patrick Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews