We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Anniversary Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Minster Lovell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Perfect Anniversary Getaway”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

What an absolutely fabulous hotel. We went there for our 1st anniversary and it really was a romantic getaway. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff went out of their way to make our weekend special and there were lovely touches everywhere which only added to the charm. The spa is so must too! We had a wonderful time and will certainly be going back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,110
    409
    162
    53
    22
See reviews for
230
1,129
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A beautiful hotel with very friendly helpful staff - nothing was too much trouble. Picture book charm with lovely touches such as a hot water bottle put in the bed at night and as we stayed there for Easter, eggs on the pillow!
Tips on where to go, best walks, games room, a roaring fire, jazz band for Sunday lunch and fabulous food! Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarchiebald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed for one night with my mum for her birthday ... Absolutely fantastic hotel... beautiful setting and very clean. Lovely food (breakfast, lunch and dinner!) and wonderful staff that were always very friendly and helpful. Will definitely return in the summer x

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zoe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at the Old Swan Easter Sunday and had high expectations with the photos and reviews we had seen. We were not disappointed, the staff were friendly and helpful. When they realised we were travelling with another couple and one of us was booked into the minster room they changed our rooms and put us both in the Swan. The rooms were lovely and we had a patio area which was nice to sit out in. It was all the small touches that made you feel special, sloe gin in your room, champagne as a pre dinner drink and even a hot water bottle in your room when you got back after dinner and drinks. The breakfast was the best I have had in a hotel and topped it of with a morning walk, the views were amazing. Worth every penny we paid, would defiantly return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Trishpev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

For country lovers staying at the Od Swan provides access to walks in the Windrush valley. The hotel itself has extensive grounds and even offers trout fishing. However the fishing book suggests the fishing is a challenge as the actual catches are minimally reported.

We stayed in the original 16th century building which had originality without compromising comfort. The food was great - fresh & well presented. The dinner menu with not that many options did not quite work for us but that may be due to our tastes. Breakfast however was excellent.

There are plans to improve the Spa features, e.g. provide a pool etc. Currently the lack of such features is a negative although made clear in the hotel details.

We paid full price and as a one off the experience was worthwhile. With more Spa type facilities and a better pricing package this would be a 10/10 score in all respects!

Room Tip: Try out the four poster bed in the 16th century buildng
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Derrick654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the Old Swan Easter Saturday to Sunday having spent the previous two nights in Stratford-Upon-Avon. I can honestly say we wished we had booked the Old Swan for longer and would love to return.

Such an ideal setting with the sound of flowing water never too far away. We spent the afternoon sat in the sun having a glass of wine and freshly baked scones, cream and jam - yum! When the sun had gone we went in side and had a cup of tea in front of the fire before getting ready for dinner.

Dinner was lovely but even better the breakfast the following morning.

The staff are both happy to help and happy generally which I believes speaks volumes in itself.

If I was picking I would say our room in the Mill was a little on the small side but we booked late (some of the other rooms in the brochure looked better) and we were not in the room for long in any event.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this truly wonderful place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsKod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Room 125 is very small. If you are staying for more than one or two nights there is not enough wardrobe space . Only one side of the bed has a bedside table. The toilet is so close to the bath and heated towel rail it is impossible to use the toilet without burning your left knee on the towel rail. Once again I repeat DON'T stay in room 125!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simsalabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOldSwanMinsterMill, General Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review and I am very sorry that you did not like Room 125. It's a shame we did not know how disappointed you were at the time of your stay, as we could have addressed your concerns immediately.

Whilst our Cosy Rooms are aptly named, they are very popular since they offer great value for money and still enjoy all of the high standards and homely touches, a hallmark of the de Savary family's attention to detail. The physical structure of our hotel is something, which we address at the time of refurbishment. Your comments, along with the many other comments from our guests, will always be taken into account when we decide on our plans.

I do hope that you will return to the Old Swan & Minster Mill, as I note that you rated many other aspects of your visit highly. I am sure that we will be able to select a room more suited to your requirements and your stay will be altogether more enjoyable.

With best wishes

Patrick Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minster Lovell
14.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.8 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
820 reviews
4.8 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,630 reviews
20.0 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
12.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan & Minster Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan & Minster Mill

Property: Old Swan & Minster Mill
Address: Minster Lovell Mill Old Minster Lovell | Cotswolds, Minster Lovell, Witney OX29 0RN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney > Minster Lovell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Minster Lovell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Swan & Minster Mill 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic Cotswold inn and boutique hotel, the Old Swan & Minster Mill is privately owned by Andrew Brownsword Hotels. Set is the picturesque village of Old Minster alongside the River Windrush, the 15 bedroom inn is stunningly romantic. A further 37 contemporary guest rooms and suites are available in Minster Mill. Family rooms and dog friendly rooms are available. For those looking for more privacy and space, the adjoining newly restored Swan Cottage offers three ensuite bathrooms and a private garden. Dining in the 600-year-old inn feels like stepping back in time with stone floors, beamed ceilings, roaring log fires and delicious gastro-pub food based on fresh, local, seasonal ingredients with a modern twist. Over 65 acres of gardens and 2 miles of fly-fishing on over a mile of the River Windrush ensure a tranquil and picturesque setting. Children have a wealth of activities. There is a tennis court, badminton, gym, croquet, petanque and spa treatments available. Located between the medieval town of Burford and historic market town of Witney, the inn is a short drive from Blenheim Palace and Bicester Designer Shopping Village. Oxford is 20 minutes drive. Nearest train station Charlbury is 15 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Swan & Minster Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan And Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill Hotel Witney
Old Swan & Minster Mill Minster Lovell, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing