We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Minster Lovell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
East Sussex
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel with great staff”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here recently for 2 nights and cannot speak highly enough of the place. We decided to splash out on a room with river frontage and a small patio which was absolutely perfect. A fire pit with plentiful wood, firelighters etc was available along with marshmallows for toasting and sloe gin for sipping (both topped up the next day), all made for a very pleasant end to each evening! We had a dog with us and the room was prepared with a dog bed in the corner, treats and a bowl of water all waiting, as the lovely lady who showed us around said, dogs are not just tolerated here but welcome in their own right!
Staff were uniformly friendly and helpful but also very professional, couldn't fault any of them in the slightest.
One slight (very slight) negative is the food was merely ok - nothing wrong with it per se just a bit unexciting.
It is best to book a table for dinner as they are constricted by the size of the kitchen so if you forget to book (as we did) you may find yourself eating quite late!
Another thing, it is possible to book a table for dinner in an area where dogs are allowed so be sure to mention this if you require (Plenty of non dog eating area as well for those who don't like this).
All in all would thoroughly recommend the Old Swan and Minster Mill for a lovely relaxing break where you will find yourself looked after immaculately

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    409
    163
    53
    22
See reviews for
231
1,132
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kaz20893
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just returned from a short break at the old swan and minster mill and I can not speak highly enough of our stay. I booked the break via secret escapes as a surprise birthday present for my husband and the whole experience was just wonderful. We stayed in a cosy room in the minster mill, the room is fairly small,however it is not uncomfortably so. It has lovely little touches such as a decanter of sloe gin to enjoy, white company toiletries, tasteful decor and most importantly exceptionally comfortable beds. From the moment we arrived to the time we left the staff were marvellous. They are so polite and can not do enough for you. It is so nice to receive service with a genuine smile. We enjoyed delightful meals during our stay, breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner and the standard of the food was exceptional. a special mention must be made for the live band whom played during our evening meal, the ambiance was fantastic.My husband and I took advantage of the spa treatments and we highly recommend you indulge in some pampering during your stay, although booking is essential as it appears fairly popular. This hotel demonstrates how the hospitality industry should be. It stands head and shoulders above any other hotel I have ever stayed in. A huge thank you to all the staff at the old swan and minster mill, keep it up! We will be seeing you again soon!

Room Tip: Perhaps worth spending that little extra for a larger room, although our room 124 in the minster mil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz20893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a Secret Escapes deal which included breakfast and evening meal. The room which was right on the mill race was quite small but with a large, comfy bed. The bathroom was adequate but a little run down on what we expected. The room had a little patio area right on the mill race with a fire pit with all the necessary provided together with a bowl of marsh mallows and a toasting fork. There were also two nice wooden seats but unfortunately both were creaking a little bit and I did not feel inclined to risk either which was a pity. Also included in the room was tea and coffee, a small decant a of port and a bottle of still and one of sparkling water. It was a pity about the size, the dodgy seats and the tired bathroom or it would have been ideal. The breakfast and evening meals were taken in the Old Swan pub which was a short walk away. It could have been a bit difficult in wet weather but suited us fine. The breakfast was gorgeous, with fresh fruit including blackberries, raspberries and strawberries. All the usual items were available and the cooked breakfast was above average. The evening three course meal was included in our deal and we were free to choose any of the many options of the menu. We really enjoyed the food which was well prepared and tasty though the cost of wine and drinks was quite high. All in all a very enjoyable two nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernard-j5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

What an absolutely fabulous hotel. We went there for our 1st anniversary and it really was a romantic getaway. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff went out of their way to make our weekend special and there were lovely touches everywhere which only added to the charm. The spa is so must too! We had a wonderful time and will certainly be going back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A beautiful hotel with very friendly helpful staff - nothing was too much trouble. Picture book charm with lovely touches such as a hot water bottle put in the bed at night and as we stayed there for Easter, eggs on the pillow!
Tips on where to go, best walks, games room, a roaring fire, jazz band for Sunday lunch and fabulous food! Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarchiebald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed for one night with my mum for her birthday ... Absolutely fantastic hotel... beautiful setting and very clean. Lovely food (breakfast, lunch and dinner!) and wonderful staff that were always very friendly and helpful. Will definitely return in the summer x

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zoe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at the Old Swan Easter Sunday and had high expectations with the photos and reviews we had seen. We were not disappointed, the staff were friendly and helpful. When they realised we were travelling with another couple and one of us was booked into the minster room they changed our rooms and put us both in the Swan. The rooms were lovely and we had a patio area which was nice to sit out in. It was all the small touches that made you feel special, sloe gin in your room, champagne as a pre dinner drink and even a hot water bottle in your room when you got back after dinner and drinks. The breakfast was the best I have had in a hotel and topped it of with a morning walk, the views were amazing. Worth every penny we paid, would defiantly return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Trishpev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minster Lovell
14.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.8 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
821 reviews
4.8 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,630 reviews
20.0 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
12.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan & Minster Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan & Minster Mill

Property: Old Swan & Minster Mill
Address: Minster Lovell Mill Old Minster Lovell | Cotswolds, Minster Lovell, Witney OX29 0RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney > Minster Lovell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Minster Lovell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Swan & Minster Mill 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic Cotswold inn and boutique hotel, the Old Swan & Minster Mill is privately owned by Andrew Brownsword Hotels. Set is the picturesque village of Old Minster alongside the River Windrush, the 15 bedroom inn is stunningly romantic. A further 37 contemporary guest rooms and suites are available in Minster Mill. Family rooms and dog friendly rooms are available. For those looking for more privacy and space, the adjoining newly restored Swan Cottage offers three ensuite bathrooms and a private garden. Dining in the 600-year-old inn feels like stepping back in time with stone floors, beamed ceilings, roaring log fires and delicious gastro-pub food based on fresh, local, seasonal ingredients with a modern twist. Over 65 acres of gardens and 2 miles of fly-fishing on over a mile of the River Windrush ensure a tranquil and picturesque setting. Children have a wealth of activities. There is a tennis court, badminton, gym, croquet, petanque and spa treatments available. Located between the medieval town of Burford and historic market town of Witney, the inn is a short drive from Blenheim Palace and Bicester Designer Shopping Village. Oxford is 20 minutes drive. Nearest train station Charlbury is 15 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Swan & Minster Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan & Minster Mill Hotel Witney
Old Swan And Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill Minster Lovell, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing