We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Minster Lovell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Had an amazing stay. As good as we had wished for and better. Breakfast was fantastic, service was excellent, the setting was peaceful and beautiful. Our room was small but had all the small extras which made it a pleasure to stay there. Worth a visit without doubt, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smile790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,106
    400
    161
    49
    20
See reviews for
226
1,113
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Fantastic place, turn off the A40 into a different world.

Lovely place to stay, made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble.

Food was great, surrounding countryside is amazing, lots of places to visit.

very relaxing.

I have been to the Cotwolds a few times but this place made it all the more special. Will definitely go back.

Well done. 5stars Plus..................

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fastback750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The best most natural welcome we have ever had. Quaint,characterful,relaxed surroundings amongst gorgeous countryside. Magnificent breakfast using the best ingredients and dinner to match. Service a bit slow at dinner. Superb environment to enjoy a long weekend ,have a few beers with friends, great food and drink followed by a dram and coffee in front of a real log fire.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A real gem of a hotel with some of the friendliest and best service I have ever received. Set in a beautiful location and surroundings, great food and wonderful atmosphere make this a stand out place to visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ItalianfanSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Excellent short stay, pricy but worth the splash out.
Great pet friendly place in a sleepy part of the Cotswalds.
Food excellent but don't overdo the sandwiches at lunch, they are big but tasty. By the evening meal we just weren't that hungry.
Having said that the hake I had for dinner was just right.
I didn't see anyone tending the gardens but they were in great condition.
Recommend room 141 which has its own patio are with wood burning stove for the cooler evenings. View from the patio overlooks the wedding area, croquet court and river.
Brilliant service from well trained staff

Room Tip: Got a little dog, try room 141.,,..superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lorry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Our sons and families treated my wife to a weekend here for her 70th birthday.It could not have been better - even the weather was kind.The staff at reception were most helpful and there was a lovely card in our room.Guests should be aware that cosy means cosy if you book the smaller rooms but it was clean and the bed was good quality and comfortable.The grounds are lovely and there are lots of attractions for children of all ages.Food was first rate and the evening meal on the Sunday was truly memorable.All of the staff and management were a credit to the overall effect of a top notch hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed two nights as a party of eight, and enjoyed every moment. The rooms are immaculate with everything you need, but there's no feeling of stiffness or snobbery. The whole place is obviously luxurious, but never ostenatious, with a warm and welcoming feeling. You're not a customer, you're a guest in their very large family home.

The grounds and buildings are well kept and truly picturesque; you can't take a bad photo of Cotswold stone. We could have sat all day on the sun terrace, eating cream teas and watching the world go by. In the evening we retreated to the old stone parlour, in front of a roaring log fire, to sample an exceptional range of whiskies, chat and and play board games. I've never felt more relaxed.

For the younger members there's a playground, outdoor tennis, boules, croquet, chickens, even chess on the patio. There's also a ruined manor house at the other end of the village, which is perfect for a walk and picnics. Speaking of food, breakfast was good quality and buffet style, so you could help yourself to everything you wanted, even honey in the comb. We had porridge and poached eggs on request, and they even came up with chocolate pancakes as a treat for the children. Nothing was too much trouble. The food in the evening was even better so hang up the car keys, there's no need to leave the hotel.

This is the ideal location for a celebration, even if you're just celebrating having got through a week. Really, really superb, and I couldn't recommend it highly enough..

Room Tip: Some rooms have a little private patio, which is lovely for sitting out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojosbigstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minster Lovell
14.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.8 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
4.8 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
23.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan & Minster Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan & Minster Mill

Property: Old Swan & Minster Mill
Address: Minster Lovell Mill Old Minster Lovell | Cotswolds, Minster Lovell, Witney OX29 0RN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney > Minster Lovell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Minster Lovell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Swan & Minster Mill 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic Cotswold inn and boutique hotel, the Old Swan & Minster Mill is privately owned by Andrew Brownsword Hotels. Set is the picturesque village of Old Minster alongside the River Windrush, the 15 bedroom inn is stunningly romantic. A further 37 contemporary guest rooms and suites are available in Minster Mill. Family rooms and dog friendly rooms are available. For those looking for more privacy and space, the adjoining newly restored Swan Cottage offers three ensuite bathrooms and a private garden. Dining in the 600-year-old inn feels like stepping back in time with stone floors, beamed ceilings, roaring log fires and delicious gastro-pub food based on fresh, local, seasonal ingredients with a modern twist. Over 65 acres of gardens and 2 miles of fly-fishing on over a mile of the River Windrush ensure a tranquil and picturesque setting. Children have a wealth of activities. There is a tennis court, badminton, gym, croquet, petanque and spa treatments available. Located between the medieval town of Burford and historic market town of Witney, the inn is a short drive from Blenheim Palace and Bicester Designer Shopping Village. Oxford is 20 minutes drive. Nearest train station Charlbury is 15 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Old Swan & Minster Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan And Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill Hotel Witney
Old Swan & Minster Mill Minster Lovell, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing