We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Minster Lovell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Enchanting”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was an unforgettable experience. From the grounds of the hotel itself to all the walking trails; everything is simply beautiful. Our room was very nice. The window opened to the small court yard with the water fountain. The restaurant at the Old Swan served great food and drinks. Great wine and beer. The walk to the nearby St. Kenelm's church, the ruins of Minster Lovell Hall, all the way to Crawley... enchanting.
We were in Crawley when rain started pouring down. No worries; a quick call to the Old Swan front desk and voila; a taxi showed up in 5 minutes to take us back to the hotel.
To sum it up, one of our best travel experiences ever.

Room Tip: We stayed on the Old Swan side which was great. I am sure the Minster Mill part is very nice. Overal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Harach D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,125
    416
    171
    58
    28
See reviews for
244
1,149
16
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed on their Sunday sleepover deal (valid on long weekends!) for one night in May. This includes cream tea, breakfast, newspaper, accommodation and, most important, a late 2pm checkout. On arrival it is like a picture postcard, with the most stunning gardens I have seen in a good while, and a charming checkin. The delightful woman who manages the whole operation is charming and always available to ensure smooth running, and the staff seem well picked and well trained (with one exception).
Our room was in the Minster Mill section, and to be honest we would opt to stay there rather than the Old Swan on our next stay also. Whilst all food is served in the Old Swan, the gardens and river windrush in the Mill section are quieter and prettier. The room (103) was nicely redecorated, although the bathroom could do with an update. It was clean however (with the exception of the area under the sink which was easily accessible through cupboard doors, and really does need some urgent attention!).
The dinner was good quality food, and our pacing was fine, we like not to be rushed between courses. However our waiter seemed to also be responsible for something across the road at the Mill, and was run slightly ragged. At the end of the meal we needed to go up to the bar to settle up as he had disappeared completely.
Breakfast was superb, served buffet style, but fresh, hot, constantly restocked and very good quality. Scrambled eggs were some of the best I have had in ages.
The only slight downside on the service was the cream tea - this is ordered at the bar, and the man we eventually tracked down to serve us after quite some time of standing around was brusque to the point of rudeness. He also then delivered us the wrong tea with our rather heavy, dry scones.
None of these slight niggles would stop us from returning, and they only really stood out because the remainder of the stay was so good.

Room Tip: We preferred the Mill rooms, all are different, but quiet and nicely redecorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

You pay more for quality, but here at the old swan minster mill you certainly get it. My wife and I stayed for our wedding anniversary and were impressed by the extra personal customer service and the way the restaurant was run. It's the extra attention to detail that makes it all feel special., such as the fresh honeycomb from their bee hives at breakfast along with fresh fruit and berries. It's a special place and for us, lived up to expectations.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ickleberrys-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My boyfriend and I have returned from a perfect overnight stay at the Old Swan and Minster Mill. My boyfriend used to come here each year with family when he was younger, so I thought it would be the perfect location to celebrate his 30th Birthday. We had exceptional service from check in to check out. The room I chose was expensive, but well worth every penny for a special treat. We were warmly welcomed at reception, the spa, at dinner and at breakfast the next morning. Food was exceptional at all times and service was attentive and well timed. The grounds were absolutely amazing and well worth the walk. We played a game of croquet in the sun and admired the views in the afternoon. We were given some complimentary champagne at dinner to celebrate the Birthday which we thought was a lovely touch. Everything is well thought about and well executed. We decided we would come back one a year to treat ourselves. We have recommended this place to everyone and cannot stop talking about it!! Cannot wait to return next year....or possibly before!

Room Tip: we had the old swan luxe which was without a doubt the most beautiful room I have ever stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Old Swan and cannot say anything other than i think you would be very hard pushed to find a more lovely place to stay. The Hotel and the grounds surrounding it are just like somthing off a picture postcard.

The food is fantastic and the breakfast was superb. We stayed in room 201 in the 4 poster and it was perfect.

The staff are all polite and very helpful. We did not want to leave and we will be certainly returning to this gorgeous idealic place.

Room Tip: I cant believe there would be anything other than a good room in this perfect little place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Where to start with this hotel? Perhaps simply by saying that it's the best hotel I've ever been to. We had a riverside room, which had a little terrace on which there was a fire pit where you could toast marshmallows – and the marshmallows were provided. Beautiful countryside, the best breakfast I've ever eaten (the eggs are from the hotel's own chickens). I'd go again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Get a riverside room - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ianbetteridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here in April in the long annexe. Our room was a little disappointing although the bed was extremely comfortable and the bedlinen very luxurious looking. I like the 'olde worlde' decor, knights' armour and tapestries, but the room and corridors did feel quite cold, the bathroom a bit dated.
The evening meal in the bar was an average pub meal, certainly not special although breakfast was good. I particularly liked the log fires in the bar and hotel lounge.
Had this been better value for money, I would probably feel more positive about the place, but there are lots of lovely hotels and pubs in the Cotswolds that do as good a job for less money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arcady541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minster Lovell
14.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
4.8 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,313 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,642 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
373 reviews
12.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan & Minster Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan & Minster Mill

Property: Old Swan & Minster Mill
Address: Minster Lovell Mill Old Minster Lovell | Cotswolds, Minster Lovell, Witney OX29 0RN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney > Minster Lovell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Minster Lovell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Swan & Minster Mill 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 miles from Oxford and 11 miles from Blenheim Palace, the Old Swan & Minster Mill is nestled in 65 acres of idyllic grounds in the picturesque village of Minster Lovell. This quintessentially English inn and adjoining mill seamlessly blend the rural charm of these historic buildings with modern design, luxurious comfort and delicious menus crafted from the best seasonal produce. The magical gardens, wild flower meadows and woodland which enclose the mill and inn come alive during the summer months – fishing, walking, croquet and tennis are the order of the day while throughout cooler weather roaring log fires provide a welcome retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Old Swan & Minster Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan & Minster Mill Hotel Witney
Old Swan And Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill Minster Lovell, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing