We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice down to earth pub.”
Review of White Hart

White Hart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A local country pub with a fine selection of draught beers, bottled craft ales, wines, fizz & spirits. We pour a beautiful pint and run a lovely bar snack menu alongside. The restaurant is newly furnished to give a clean, warm, country house feel. With a small yet fulfilling seasonal menu to accompany the new dining room, we feel it's the perfect place for all occasions. Whether it be a business lunch, romantic meal for two, A family occasion or just a bite to eat with friends.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice down to earth pub.”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Really friendly welcome by staff and locals. My husband says he had a really good pint, food typical of local pub.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    34
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Been a few times always lovely greeting”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Everywhere has off days, always give them a second chance, we love going to new places and meeting people, unless we make an effort why should anyone else, the white hart has always made us welcome started going when our son transferred to RAF Brize Norton, they were very helpful

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Franzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxon Hill, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rip off”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I was part of an RAF Charity Bike Ride and Burger and Chips with a Pint for £10 had been organised with this pub beforehand. I realise that there was a lot of orders to deliver in a short time but believe me the food was disasterous and to cap it all if you had bought the meal and drink separately it would have come to no more than £8.00. Some deal??

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Martynh261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, General Manager at White Hart, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Hello! We have scanned back and seen you left a review from the previous owners time here! We are sorry you didn't enjoy your time that time around, but want to let you know that we are now under new management, with a beautifully refurbished dining room, and a menu to match!

TWH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“locals”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

back in time 90,s.Aftershave and sunday best.pleasant people.great if you like social clubs.from the hotel it is a pleasant walk and only 5 minute.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, General Manager at White Hart, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Thank you so so much for the comments, they have been passed on to the staff!! We are all very humbled. Nothing pleased us more than making our customers happy. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

TWH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“dump”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

felt very unwelcoming, all locals looked at you when you entered. very cold apparently the heating was broken not what you want on an evening out to keep your coat on. generally fair selection of beers and spirits, but wasn't sure about trusting the wine either as was said before. quite a large garden to the rear would be good for children but they need a bit of play equipment or something. Menu very deep fry and pot luck over priced for fast food type grub and not really nice tasting stuff either. sorry will not be returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank pinksnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, General Manager at White Hart, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Hello, We have scanned back and seen this review from a time when we weren't here!! We want you to know that The White Hart is now under new improved management, with a newly refurbished restaurant and a lovely menu to match.

TWH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Hart also viewed

Witney, Oxfordshire
Witney, Oxfordshire
 
Witney, Oxfordshire
Minster Lovell, Witney
 

Been to White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing