We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family weekend break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chilton Apartments & Cottages

Chilton Apartments & Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chilton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chilton Apartments & Cottages
Ness, Isle of Lewis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We (three adults, two children and a dog) had a very pleasant stay at Chilton Apartments in September 2013. The apartment proved ideal for our short stay: It was very comfortable and clearly planned with family living in mind. The proximity of the local park was ideal for walks with the dog. We were re-assured by clear and helpful communication before we arrived, and we received a very warm welcome. Many thanks to Giles and Sheila.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    5
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
2
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

During our three week trip we stayed at various times in Rutherford, Lewis and Churchill apartments. All were a real home from home - comfortable, well-equipped and clean. We were all made really welcome, especially the children and were given plenty of local information plus other travel tips further afield. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay - we would certainly like to visit again in the future.

Room Tip: All were good - just depends on the size required for your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudeBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillegom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Chilton Appartments enormously.
Kind, warm welcome; spacious, clean appartment. Well equiped kitchen, fine wi-fi and great choice of TV channels. Ideal for explorign Oxford and surroundings!
Hope to come back some day..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annelies V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We booked Lewis, Rutherford & Halley apartments for a two week stay to act as a field base while working in the area sampling streams. We were not a typical holiday booking and had 12 members of staff with lots of equipment including a trailer, minibus, samples and lots of wellies to accomodate. From the moment of booking Giles & Shiela were overly helpful to make our stay go as smoothly as possible and provided us with an area to secure the trailer and park our minibus - along with lots of local knowledge, especially about local shops, pubs & attractions.
The cottages and apartments were all presented to a very high standard and provided everything you would require on a relaxing break away, or working holiday in our case!
I would highly recommend to my family, friends and work colleagues.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed in the Lewis Cottege back in May. We had a fabulous stay, made very welcome and nothing was ever too much trouble. Beautifully clean upon arrival and really comfortable beds. Everything you would need is in the cottage. Only downside is that the nearest food shop is around 5 miles away however this supplied everything you need for your stay avoiding many trips. Beautiful location providing a very relaxed stay with lovely countryside surrounding. Would recommend and would definitely re- visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Chilton Apartments. Both times for a weekend for family weddings, and both times we stayed in Tolkien. The very fact that we returned speaks volumes for the quality of the accommodation.

The apartments were lovely and clean, spacious and comfortable. We especially enjoyed the super king size bed as we're both tall and I have a baby bump so all space at night is valuable! The bath was great and the shower in Tolkien is great. The little kitchen has absolutely everything you need, washing up liquid, sponges and cloths are provided which isn't always the case for self catering accommodation. The little bedroom is excellent and the bunk beds are full size beds. Two sofas in the living room provided plenty of places to sit. The little garden is perfect and very safe for small children as it is walled.

Overall, we had a lovely stay, my only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

Please note, that there is a deposit that is returned if the apartment is returned in an acceptable condition. We did wash up, clean the bath, sink and loo. We didn't clean the floors as we couldn't find a hoover or brush. We got the full deposit returned to us with no problem. Don't let the deposit put you off staying as the people are lovely!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillyrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have been there during 3 weeks And it was great, we have 2 small kids 7 years old And they really enjoy specially the playground just around the corner. I would recomended because the location, the nice place And the very friendly family is running the business:-)
Also for business people around the área can be very usueful specially for long stays, since it is very close to the motorway, to Newbury And to Oxford also to the Harwell campus

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCalvo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilton
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kingswell Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Red Lion Pub & Kitchen
3.0 mi away
Greensands Guest House
Greensands Guest House
#1 of 3 in East Hendred
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilton Apartments & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilton Apartments & Cottages

Property: Chilton Apartments & Cottages
Address: Chilton House Townsend, Chilton OX11 0SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Vale of White Horse > Chilton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Chilton
Hotel Class:3 star — Chilton Apartments & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Chilton Apartments & Cottages Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing