We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thanks Ben, Rita and team”
The impressive Bunrannoch House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The impressive Bunrannoch House
Spacious and inviting living room, with real fire Reverse view of the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
The impressive Bunrannoch House
Spacious and inviting living room, with real fire
Reverse view of the living room
Looking out from the living room to the hills beyond
Flexible dining table, suitable for up to 16 guests
Perfect for entertaining
Large, well equipped kitchen
Perfect for catering for large groups
Feature staircase
One of the grand bedrooms
Homely touches throughout
A cosy eaves bedroom
En-suite bathroom in the eaves
Reverse view of the same eaves bedroom
Large family room, sleeping four
Highland views!
The ground floor bar and boot room, perfect after a day out
Bunrannoch House from the front
A view from the garden
Looking down beautiful Loch Rannoch
The local village of Kinloch Rannoch
Idyllic rural location
Majestic Schiehallion rises up behind Bunrannoch House
Welcome to Bunrannoch House!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Kinloch Rannoch, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Roy C
Kinghorn, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thanks Ben, Rita and team”
Reviewed 6 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed two nights with our frends and had a wonderfull time. Hosts and team great fun, room well decorated, lots of nice towels, hot water. Remeber no tea of coffee stuff in rooms but dont worry - help yourself from kitchen if no staff about to assist. FOC flasks both days for our fabby walks. Nearly got accross Rannoch Moor one day but made it up Schiehallion the next day. Ben even ran us along to the car park start and told us how to do a round route (flippin hard but great fun and amazing views). Food was great. In the words of the great Jabobs Sheep called Arnie, we will be back!
Roy, Karen, Hong & Lorna.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rex06
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 28 April 2012 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Having stayed with Ben and Rita in 2010, we are going back again in the Autumn. staying there was a non-negotiable part of the itinerary once we decided to visit Scotland again. Accommodation good, food great and company even better.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_Dento...
The Cairngorms, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent meals”
Reviewed 23 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Like others, we weren't staying at Bunrannoch (but at the nearby timeshare on exchange) and booked in for two evening meals on the strength of previous reviews. Despite the week after Easter being quiet, both the choice available and the quality of the meals was outstanding: local produce and game, imaginative and good helpings. We were told by folk who were staying that breakfasts are equally good, but that's hearsay! Places for evening meals in the Kinloch Rannoch area are limited: we were delighted with our choice.
Their website is http://www.bunrannoch.co.uk/

Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcopolo...
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food in the highlands”
Reviewed 4 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We have not stayed at this small guest house but have stayed nearby for a short winter break most years.We have been to the reastaurant, which is open to non-residents, a couple of times. The place is a little quirky and out of season looks a little forbidding. The owners, Ben and Rita are, however, extremely welcoming, some may say overpowering! The food is exceptional. They specialise in game but also prize themselves on their vegetarian menu. They pride themselves on using local produce. Ben apparently shoots most of the game himself.
The after dinner chat in the lounge beside the log fire can go on for some time with Ben being very liberal with the drams - so don't be in a hurry.
This year the restaurant was closed for refurbishment but Rita prepared us some ready-made dishes to take away: a superb game casserole and a fish pie. Both excellent and very generous portions. They have also let us purchase some game pate to take home - absolutely superb.
We will be back again next year without doubt and look forward to seeing the new-look Bunrannoch House.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
Alton, Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The superb Highlands of Scotland”
Reviewed 6 January 2012 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Kinlochrannoch is a small village in beautiful Perthshire overlooked by the Schiehallion mountain with Loch Rannoch, the river, and other lochs alongside.
Bunrannoch House is a substantial Scots country house standing in picturesque surroundings 1/2 mile from the village. For a good taste of the Scottish Highlands without having to motor too far this location is excellent.
The welcome from Ben and Rita is warm and most helpful. The rooms are well appointed and well maintained. Rita runs the kitchen together with an excellent chef, and the Scottish food is so good that folk from a couple of nearby hotels occasionally book in for dinner too. There is also a cosy lounge with bookshelf and highland views for the odd rainy afternoon or morning.
Walking in the area is delightful and on a clear day from the top of nearby Craig Varr we have seen right across Rannoch Moor to the Glencoe mountain range and the Mamores, with Schiehallion towering over the scene. Bird life is great and in May cuckoos are calling daily.
Motor trips to Pitlochry, Killiekrankie, Aberfeldy, the River Tay valley (Strathtay) and Loch Tay, are a delight. Don't miss a coffee and cake at the tiny Post Office at Bridge of Balgie in the beautiful and secluded Glen Lyon.
We have stayed at Bunrannoch House on three annual occasions so far, and it really is a home-from-home for us with more visits to look forward to.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 65+
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malingshu
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Succumb to the cranachan”
Reviewed 5 December 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at Bunrannoch to a hectic welcome, with downstairs refurbishments lending a haphazard air to our arrival. But Ben and Rita proved generous and welcoming hosts - we settled in for a fabulous afternoon tea of freshly baked cake and conversational banter. After an afternoon exploring the loch we returned to a sitting room full of friendly guests all eagerly awaiting their dinner - and we weren't disappointed. It was all we could do to roll down the lane for a late evening stroll before sinking in to our canopy bed... Don't even think about it - book your stay at Bunrannoch!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W
Long Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Highland gem”
Reviewed 3 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

We stayed two nights in Ben and Rita's hospitality at Bunrannoch House, and cannot recommend it highly enough. My wife and I, together with our 3 children (ages 1, 5, and 7) were welcomed as family by our hosts, and immediately offered afternoon tea and delicious home made cakes before perusing the menu for that evening's meal. The food really is out of this world. Chef Garth conjures locally sourced food into dinners that make you feel privileged to have eaten. The rooms are spacious, warm, and clean, and the lack of any television wasn't even noticed as we whiled away the evenings chatting with our hosts and other guests. Bunrannoch House epitomises the friendliness of the area, and we're very much looking forward to returning, when I've worked off the 3 or 4 pounds I seem to have put on...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing