We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long way to go for ok service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Long way to go for ok service.”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in an outstandingly beautiful setting.
I would say it took more than 30 mins to travel to the hotel along very winding if scenic roads. Travel pills a must for bad travellers.
The food was lovely although the set menu was the same both nights we stayed.
The waiting staff were in no way unpleasant but lacked any animation.
At breakfast both mornings there were a lack of plates on the buffet.
The pool only opens from 8am and as breakfast is only until 10am this meant we were having to pull the kids out and chivy them on to get them for breakfast on time. It was quiet while we were there and the kids pretty much had the pool to themselves.
The website was unclear that there was a surcharge for kids over 5 for meals. Hopefully this will be made more clear as the very helpful lady on reception on the last day was going to pass that on and she did organise for us to get a refund.
There is very little phone reception in the area and wifi it available at a charge.
I probably would not go back to this hotel with kids. If you want a nice hotel to go to go hill walking it is definitely worth the journey but if you are using it as a base to visit Pitlochry etc be prepared for a lot of driving.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishLady63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    493
    212
    76
    22
See reviews for
216
815
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a walking holiday so were probably given one of the cheaper rooms, but that was no excuse for the shabbiness and lack of space. The room looked a bit like something out of an old people's home and had cheap, dark furniture from another era. The worst aspect was the bathroom - absolutely no room to swing a cat, with a shower inside the bath. There were no shelves to put anything on and the basin was behind the door, making it extremely difficult to manage. I had to put my make up bag and toothpaste bag on the floor! There was no proper space to hang towels either. Because there was nowhere else to eat within several miles, we ate in the bar. We were so disappointed with our meal, thinking we would treat ourselves to a good steak after a hard day's walking. The sirloin steak was ok (at £22.00) but the peppercorn sauce (an extra £2.95!) was putrid, and inedible, completely ruining the steak. It ran out of the jug like water. We were just too exhausted to complain, but I wish we had. The bar itself is not very pleasant, with a flashing one armed bandit and dark, old fashioned decor. Breakfast was much better but it was the only place we came across which charged a supplement for a kipper or smoked salmon with the scrambled eggs! I am sure a kipper costs no more than the full Scottish breakfast! Finally, but not least, we were shocked and amazed that we would have had to pay £10 for wi-fi! Unbelievable! Overall, this is somewhere definitely not to be recommended, even though the location is excellent.

Room Tip: Overlooking the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitlochry
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

On the whole our stay at McDonald's Loch Rannoch hotel was good. Although the location was a little further out from other facilities i.e. the centre of Pitlochry than we had imagined this didn't deter from the hotel.
The leisure facilities were good and enjoyed by us both. The meals were a bit pricey we felt and thought breakfast could have ben included in the package and price instead of extras. Because of the location you had no choice but to take the breakfast. The room itself was a little tired but sufficient.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We booked up for one night for my father's 70th birthday. The hotel is in an ideal location with beautiful views over the Loch. The staff were very friendly and helpful with our queries. Unfortunately our room was cold and took some time to heat up. Decor in the rooms and all areas of hotel is outdated and requires updating. There were a few broken locks in the toilets near reception. The swimming pool and sauna were very nice. At breakfast, we were given mouldy toast. Service was very slow for our evening meal with long waits between each course. We has asked for a birthday cake to be brought out as a surprise for our father. Unfortunately, the waitress brought the plates out before the cake and knife for cutting the cake informing our father that "this was for the cake" spoiling the surprise. A little disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VMitchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Kudos to Annette and Sylvia. This hotel is very big and caters to large groups, however, the hospitality and staff functioned more like a small family run inn. Annette, who worked the front desk was so helpful to my husband and me. We needed a taxi [local driver who was so helpful too - terrific] and had been assured by our travel agent that this would be no problem. Well it is a problem and Annette went out of her way to secure one for us at and at a rate we could afford.

We ate two nights in the pub because the dinning room was just a little to posh for our walking holiday. While the food was average, Sylvia, who was over taxed and under helped, was so good about trying to make sure everyone got served. This hotel is located on a beautiful Loch and there is mush to do in the area. Well worth visiting.

Our room was great and had a beautiful view of the loch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryPHX543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I booked 6 rooms (3 Executive and 3 Classic) for a 2 night family celebration at the end of August for 12 adults and 3 infants. All the rooms were on the 2nd floor with excellent loch views but I thought the Classic rooms could have benefitted from a refurb. We were on a dinner, B&B basis and I have to say the food and restaurant staff were superb. We fed the children in the bar both evenings (good kids' meals) while we all enjoyed drinks, leaving the adults to have a celebratory meal later in the main restaurant where they set up a table just for our 12 in the second room. Our waiter Leo (I believe he is a supervisor) was very good indeed, a superb professional who clearly understands the concept of customer service. Food quality, presentation and service was a credit to the chef, Leo and his team, nothing but praise for all of them. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious with the hot dishes cooked to order and again service pleasant and prompt.

We enjoyed the "feel" of a traditional highland hotel, the public areas were comfortable, the swimming pool, steam room etc were very good and the price we paid to include dinner although not cheap I think was very fair for the quality and location. OK the drinks and wines at dinner are expensive, probably about 20% - 25% above reasonable but they do have a captive market! and the service is good (Leo asked "do you want glass flutes or wine glasses for the Prosecco").

Now the negatives, such a pity. I have a thing about the provision of free wifi even if it is restricted to public areas only. You get this in MacDonalds burger bars, coffee shops and even Travelodges!! In 2013 it should be expected as is hot water from the shower! It is now always my policy to complain (nicely) if this service is chargeable by asking the receptionist to pass on my complaint about the charge to higher management. The response I received was unexpectedly rude from the young lady on the desk. Although I made it clear my complaint was directed to the company and not her personally she argued that it was "company policy to charge" (not at Crutherland House 4 days earlier!), that "many guests complain about it" and that she "does not have wifi for her reception desktop computer"! Perhaps Leo could mentor her in the art of dealing with guests. All the other reception staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. The only other criticism and easily fixed was the irritation of returning to our rooms for a late afternoon cuppa to find tea and coffee replaced but no shortcake biscuit. Two of my party had none on arrival but one on the second day! Is "company policy" only to provide a snack on alternate days? Unfortunately it is always the irritations, minor though they may be, which linger in the memory.

Room Tip: Higher rooms with a loch view enable you to appreciate the ever changing beautiful landscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I booked the Macdonald Loch Rannoch as a last minute break and treat for ourselves. We arrived with slight trepidation due to the previous reviews but were pleasantly surprised. Yes, the hotel is in need of some decorative overhaul in some places (the odd gash or curled wallpaper here and there) but the 'datedness' of it in my view added to its character. Our room overlooked the loch and was lovely. It was also spotless - as was the bathroom which was enormous. We ate both nights in the restaurant and the food was very tasty and well presented. I found the staff in the hotel very friendly and chatty and also very helpful. I would like to particularly single out Robert our waiter (who served us at dinner and at breakfast) for praise - we were always greeted with a big smile and he was so attentive he made us feel as if we were the only diners there - nothing was a problem for him. The only downside I would agree with is that the drinks yes are a bit on the pricey side but I consider it a small price to pay when you consider the view afforded to you while you enjoy that drink. Would I go back - yes I would!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinloch Rannoch
0.5 mi away
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
107 reviews
18.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,812 reviews
11.2 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,945 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
880 reviews
17.9 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel

Property: Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Address: Kinloch Rannoch, Kinloch Rannoch PH16 5PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinloch Rannoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Highlands, the hotel is situated on the north shore above Loch Rannoch and the picturesque village of Kinloch Rannoch with majestic views of the loch and hills that are simply breathtaking. The magnificent setting is the ideal location to enjoy a break away from busy lives or a romantic retreat. Steeped in tradition and rich in heritage, the hotel invites one to step back to a quieter time, while still enjoying the comfort of a superb hotel. Looking for somewhere to enjoy quality Scottish food? There is a fine selection of meals to be enjoyed in The Ptarmigan Restaurant or the Schiehallion Bar. Here at our Loch Rannoch Perthshire hotel we use only the freshest of ingredients to provide fantastic food, expertly prepared, in beautiful surroundings with superb service. And when you need to unwind, our Leisure Club is the ideal way to relax after a long day. Heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym are on offer to relieve stress and leave you feeling refreshed. For the more energetic, Schiehallion - our local Munro - beckons. There are numerous woodland walks nearby too, which are suitable for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel Kinloch Rannoch, Scotland
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Kinloch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing