We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs refurbishing but is only 3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chesham Bucks
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Needs refurbishing but is only 3 star”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We visited mid October the great weather, location and staff made up for the disappointing state of the hotel. we had room 108 with a view over the loch and the hills.

This hotel is only three star, so don't expect it to be up to the normal Macdonald's standard. It is in a lovely remote location and appears to have been forgotten by head office when it comes to refurbishment. That being said it has a charm and a nice atmosphere especially in the dining room.

What makes this hotel is its location and the hard working staff, as it appears to be run with the minimum of staff. The food was to a good standard and one of the evening meals we had would have been at home in some of Macdonald's 4-5 star hotels. The menu is the same most nights so if you are staying more than three nights it would get boring. Breakfast was not quite up to what we expect at Macdonald's, with very slow replenishment of the buffet items and clearing of tables. Mainly due to staff inexperience and not enough on duty for breakfast. One example was I had porridge one morning and was half way through it out come our cooked breakfasts, and the water stood looking at me not knowing what to do.

Some of the furniture and decoration in the bedroom and the bar areas needs a little attention or replacing as it is beginning to show its age. With a little bit of refurbishment could be so much better.

But as I have already said its the staff and location that make this hotel, we enjoyed our stay and would return when it has been tided up.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the loch on the higher floors offer good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    488
    203
    71
    20
See reviews for
208
802
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were attending a function in Pitlochry so decided to stay overnight at Loch Rannoch. It was a bit of a trek in the dark along a very windy road(almost 20 miles!) but worth the effort. What a beautiful location. Our room had a view straight down Loch Rannoch. Given its remote location, there was absolutely no street noise, so we had a very restful night's sleep. We were able to use the hotel's leisure facilites, which were excellent and we had them all to ourselves! Breakfast too was excellent and cooked to order. Our only regret was that we hadn't decided to stay another night and to explore the countryside around the hotel a little more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A nice hotel in a very remote area. Staff very helpful with train times, weather reports, local walks and places to visit. The room nice warm and comfortable. The pool and sauna were wonderful after a day walking. Good food too!! Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Where to start....

Front of house- friendly all good so far.

Room- yuck! Small, a whole in wall, dirty carpet, no hand soap or shower gel etc. Ancient tiny T.V Smelly (food and stale cigarettes even though it's a non smoking hotel??) told reception about smell and lack of soap to be informed I "already had these in my room". Trust me I didn't go downstairs to complain about this when I already had these...

Bar- old and dated, not in a good quaint way in a really...!! you've not spent anything on this in at least 10 years way. One barmaid for bar and lounge so the poor girl was trying to split herself between these fairly, unfortunately that meant people were moaning on both bars waited about 20mins for first round and there was only 3 people in front of me. On second round I was informed she was also doing room service...Really? was it a surprise all these people were staying in your hotel? Didn't they reserve rooms therefor you knew they were coming?

Pool and gym - was all ok and I mean ok. Was not given a key for locker so had to pop my stuff in and just hope it was all there when I got out. Really grubby though, floors were kind of slimy around the outside of the pool flip flops were required. Shower area grate was broken and taped up. I informed reception about the lack of key she seemed uninterested and unapologetic.

Restaurant- was actually very good! I know I sound surprised! Very pricey though 2 steaks 1 coke and 1 beer £75. So you be the judge of that we all have different opinions of what's expensive and what's not.

I don't expect anyone form Mcdonald to actually see/read this or care to be honest, but hey you never know!

On a positive note the scenery was beautiful as was the weather, but, for £180 per night trust me we'll NEVER return and if I were you I'd consider elsewhere, it's Scotland there plenty of lochs and beautiful scenery and MUCH better hotels!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbowstring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Ok, it not the best hotel in MacDonald chain, as it need a bit of a tidy up. However, all in all it is rather nice and a bit quaint! Before you book, remember you are besides a loch in some of the most beautiful country side in world. So please don't expect a frequent bus service. Although, where you would want to go, im not sure, as the closest major town is 45min away!

The hotel is situated on banks of Loch Ranoch overlooked by the magnificent Munro, Schiehallion. Take your walking boots, swim suit for the sauna/pool and then just relax and enjoy the beauty and isolation!


One BIG TIP, make sure you get the dinner and room package. Otherwise, the food will be a little expensive. However, the quality is great, especially if you like game and fish.

Room Tip: One BIG TIP, make sure you get the dinner and room package. Otherwise, the food will be a little exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Scotland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

First of all my thanks to Ann - Receptionist, Georgina - Bar, Robert - Waiter and Scott - Chef for making the two day stay a wonderful experience.
Ann made checking in easy and was very professional and friendly and explained the set up at the hotel and as a club member my extras, Georgina served with a friendly smile and ensured everything was to our liking. Robert was very attentive and professional during both breakfast and dinner yet was not in your face - excellent skills. Never met Scott but his food on both evenings was 5 star.

Great place to relax for a few days and take in the fab scottish countryside. Hotel was extremely cleam as was our very large executive room on the 2nd floor. Dark chocolate covered strawberries in room on arrival - delicious. Had a good cream scone tea on arrival outside in the glorious sunshine.
Evenning mral was 3 courses with plenty of choice - food was just great and well presented.

Breakfast - usual choice of cerials, fruit and juices and good bookrd breakfast, plus could pay extra and have smoked salmon and was served up to 10.00am during the week.

Could have taken beds and pillows home as they were great and added to quality of sleep.

Hotel recommed to that value service and good food.

Room Tip: Go executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highteas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Location and room excellent very quiet location if you want peace and quiet. You really need a car as bus service very poor you can leave but not get back. The bar prices were very expensive also coffees but the food was awful. Not very much on the plate and not much choice for vegetarians. The waiter service was very slow but friendly. The swimming pool was very clean but a bit chilly the showers were lovely and warm. Bring a good book if you don't like walking as after dark there is no entertainment or decent T.V

Room Tip: Rooms at the top overlooking the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinloch Rannoch
0.5 mi away
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
47 reviews
14.2 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,382 reviews
18.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
861 reviews
17.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,861 reviews
17.9 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel

Property: Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Address: Kinloch Rannoch, Kinloch Rannoch PH16 5PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinloch Rannoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Highlands, the hotel is situated on the north shore above Loch Rannoch and the picturesque village of Kinloch Rannoch with majestic views of the loch and hills that are simply breathtaking. The magnificent setting is the ideal location to enjoy a break away from busy lives or a romantic retreat. Steeped in tradition and rich in heritage, the hotel invites one to step back to a quieter time, while still enjoying the comfort of a superb hotel. Looking for somewhere to enjoy quality Scottish food? There is a fine selection of meals to be enjoyed in The Ptarmigan Restaurant or the Schiehallion Bar. Here at our Loch Rannoch Perthshire hotel we use only the freshest of ingredients to provide fantastic food, expertly prepared, in beautiful surroundings with superb service. And when you need to unwind, our Leisure Club is the ideal way to relax after a long day. Heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym are on offer to relieve stress and leave you feeling refreshed. For the more energetic, Schiehallion - our local Munro - beckons. There are numerous woodland walks nearby too, which are suitable for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel Kinloch Rannoch, Scotland
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Kinloch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing