We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a few tweaks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Needs a few tweaks”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

It's in the most stunning location. I love the downstairs with tartan carpets etc. Breakfast was dis-organised, tables cluttered and not cleared, and the food itself was a touch below average. Our room was a bit below average, MDF furniture, old hairdryer, late 90's soft-furnishings. At least three of the machines in the pint-sized gym were broken. The variety on the menu looked good but we did not try everything. A little over-priced but there's no-where else to go. The lone bar staff took a while to serve. The hotel has huge scope for development, a shame there is no entertainment on an evening because it could be packed as there are plenty of self-catering and locals who would use it. Clean, and quiet, could do with some oomph and being better organised.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    489
    207
    72
    22
See reviews for
210
808
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bearsden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

One can always nit pick but I wont. This hotel is set in a stunning location,the sun shining on the snow on Schiehallion for example.The staff were great from the moment we arrived and during our stay.Excellent dinner and breakfast and the leisure centre an added bonus/ a hotel I would certainly return to

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

As with our previous trip I felt the place was a bit tired in terms of decor (the shabby front doors could certainly do with a fresh coat of paint and with children in tow on a winter weekend it was very disappointing to find the pool at the leisure centre freezing cold due to 'maintenance works') but the location, the feeling of escape as you wind your way along the remote road to the hotel, the friendly, helpful staff and a great dinner menu make this a very pleasant hotel in which to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muski07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I really swithered on wether to give this hotel 4 or 5 stars but I decided on 5!

The location is beautiful, off the main roads it is secluded and has amazing views. The nearest petrol station and shops are a while away so come prepared if you need to! It's right on the banks of Loch Rannoch and right on the outskirts of the Cairngorms so it is truly magnificant.

We booked a dinner, bed and breakfast package for £60 for Sunday night as a wee pre-Valentine get away and it was well worth the money! Room was nice although the reason I almost marked 4 stars was due to the upkeep of the rooms, surely a chain hotel like Macdonald can afford to spend a wee bit more money maintaining the rooms? There was marks and chips on the ceiling, one of our chairs was ripped and the inside material coming out and the shower head was filthy! However, the bed was comfy and we also requested a Loch view room which we were given without any extra charge.

The dinner was brilliant, it was served in the restaurant and was a 3 course 'silver service' meal! It is very formal (although don't worry about wearing jeans ect. they have no problem with this) and the waiters were excellent, so lovely and professional. The meal choice isn't very large but it has a wide variety, we worked out that a 3 course dinner for 2 people cost just £7 altogether! (excluding drinks) This is due to the DBB rate we got which they seem to have most weekends, absolutley fantastic value for money!

We went to the bar next door for a few drinks after dinner and it has a lovely atmosphere, a log fire and some couches in the whiskey bar and then a more standard bar in the other room with a pool table and table football game. The drinks aren't too pricey and the bar manager Sylvia was excellent! I honestly can not commend her enough, she is the reason this review gets 5 stars! She was showing us pictures of the Loch from the summer and was telling us about the local area. we ended up chatting for a while and even though we were probably annoying her she was so kind and helpful throughout the whole time we were there. Thanks Sylvia for everything!

We also went to the pool and sauna which was nice but freezing, the gym is small but has plenty of equipment in it and wasn't ever very busy.

Both receptionists on check out and check in were great and very informitave. I highly reccommend this hotel if you can get a good rate however, please take the advice MacDonald hotels and update your rooms a little!

Room Tip: ask for a loch view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairefairb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

this is a fabulous hotel, very spacious, very clean and tidy, beautiful dinner and breakfast and the staff were very attentive, helpful and went out of their way to help in anyway they could.
the location of the hotel is also marvellous.
could not find a fault with this hotel.
top marks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaney b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Myself along with my partner and niece stayed on DBB rate for one night. Family room was spacious and my niece loved the bunk beds. Bathroom was fresh and clean with toiletries provided. We used the pool, which was in a seperate building from the main hotel which on a snowy day in January was not ideal, however we heat up once in the pool. Only thing missing was a jacuzzi. We had a lovely dinner and paid the £10 supplement for a steak. The staff were very professional but the service became a little slow when the restaurant became busy. Usual hotel prices for the drinks which are always over the top but to be expected. Breakfast was lovely, cold buffet and hot food cooked to order, usual toast and tea and coffee brought to your table,I thoroughly enjoyed it. The Scottish lady on reception when we were checking out was very friendly and made us feel like guests! Would definitely recommend this hotel especially on the deal we got. May be back soon.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Glasgow81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in January on a Dinner,Bed & Breakfast Deal. This hotel is set in a stunning remote area of scotland. The whole hotel appears to be a little tired, but this was a lovely hotel all in all. The food at dinner and breakfast was superb, as was the staff and the service they provided. January must be a very quiet time for this hotel and it appeared there was only a few other couples/families staying at the hotel which was nice as it felt like we had the place to ourselves. The leisure facilities are perfect, it has everything you could want except maybe a hot tub. We had a fantastic short time at this hotel, and at the price we paid for this winter deal I cannot dwell on any of the negative points too much.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davee1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinloch Rannoch
0.5 mi away
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
76 reviews
14.2 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,454 reviews
18.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,896 reviews
14.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
406 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel

Property: Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Address: Kinloch Rannoch, Kinloch Rannoch PH16 5PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinloch Rannoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Highlands, the hotel is situated on the north shore above Loch Rannoch and the picturesque village of Kinloch Rannoch with majestic views of the loch and hills that are simply breathtaking. The magnificent setting is the ideal location to enjoy a break away from busy lives or a romantic retreat. Steeped in tradition and rich in heritage, the hotel invites one to step back to a quieter time, while still enjoying the comfort of a superb hotel. Looking for somewhere to enjoy quality Scottish food? There is a fine selection of meals to be enjoyed in The Ptarmigan Restaurant or the Schiehallion Bar. Here at our Loch Rannoch Perthshire hotel we use only the freshest of ingredients to provide fantastic food, expertly prepared, in beautiful surroundings with superb service. And when you need to unwind, our Leisure Club is the ideal way to relax after a long day. Heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym are on offer to relieve stress and leave you feeling refreshed. For the more energetic, Schiehallion - our local Munro - beckons. There are numerous woodland walks nearby too, which are suitable for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel Kinloch Rannoch, Scotland
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Kinloch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing