We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay.....again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I returned for a 2 night stay with our labrador. We love the hotel and find the setting next to the Loch just stunning. The hotel was more than happy to take the dog and only charged an extra £10 for the whole stay. We were not given the best room, obviously, as we had the dog but the room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The decor in the hotel is a bit tired but does not in any way spoil the stay. The food in the dining room and bar is great, plenty of choice and very well cooked. We did use the pool and sauna and you should be aware that these facilities are a bit dated and could do with a bit of an upgrade. However, we had the pool to ourselves on the Saturday afternoon and thoroughly enjoyed our swim. The staff were very helpful and attentive. The hotel is a great place to stay if you want to explore Kenmore, Pitlochry and Aberfeldy. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 326janel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review.
I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us - thank you for all your wonderful comments.
I will make sure to pass on your feedback - I know the staff will be happy to hear that they made you feel welcome and were helpful.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

857 - 863 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great position and views....but. Arrived by mountain bike, wet and dirty, and very disappointed that there was no hot water. We were told to "let it run, it's a big hotel" but even after 20-30 minutes we still had no hot water and all we got was a shrug from reception. A maintenance man called at the room two hours later to tell us again to let it run! We had booked and paid for double rooms but were actually put in twin rooms, again this received a shrug at reception. A waiter tipped a glass of red wine over my husband's dinner and his one clean shirt and a crane fly was embedded in a poached egg at breakfast. Accidents happen but no one seemed at all concerned. On the plus side the room was clean and comfortable, although the whole place is looking a little tired inside and out.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZBalogh, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest
Please accept apologize for any inconvenience

Our receptionist was right in claiming that we do not usually get complaints regarding our hotel and staff however to insure of your comfort we was do as much we can do
will retrain our team to ensure this never happens in the future.

I hope that you will reconsider giving us another chance to demonstrate to you the excellent level of service we are renowned for.

Kind regards

General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Me and my partner decided to have a last minuet night away so we decided on staying here as it was quiet and only a few hours from home.. We had such a lovely time all the staff were very happy to help. The room was a good size an the bed was very comfortable. We decided to eat in the bar as the restaurant was busy but we wish we hadn't the food wasn't very good it was quite bland and I was unable to eat the cheesecake! Breakfast was nice apart from my egg wasn't cooked! Apart from the food we enjoyed our stay and would stay again or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellyp2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZBalogh, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for such a comprehensive review of our services it is appreciated and of course highlights what we aspire to deliver for each and every guest.
Please accept apologize for any inconvenience


Thank you once again and we look forward to your return sometime soon


Kind regards

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed in room 112 which had excellent views of the Loch. This hotel is located in one of the most beautiful relatively isolated and tranquil parts of Britain. Staff were attentive and room and food were very good. Plainly this hotel has seen better days and may well disappoint those visitors accustomed to "hotel chain" standards of modern hotels. On balance however we must rate this hotel highly as it's excellent location overrides all other considerations and we would not hesitate to return

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZBalogh, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Geust

Thank you for your review and your such kind words.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and you found our location so convenient.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.


Kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful parts of Scotland and although it lies a bit out of the way is well worth a visit. My wife and I stayed here for one night D B&B and found it needed a bit of attention inside and out. The room was clean and very comfortable and the food, although small in portion was very enjoyable and filling. Staff were all foreign but attentive and could have done with extra help at breakfast as our request for extra butter, toast and tea were forgotten. Please don't be put off as you will remember the setting long after your visit.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking Loch Rannoch although a bit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macandhilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZBalogh, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest.
Thank you for such a comprehensive review of our services it is appreciated and of course highlights what we aspire to deliver for each and every guest

It is nice to read your comments about the team and the hotel and of how much you enjoyed your overall stay with us,

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return sometime soon.

Kind regards.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel may look a little tired from the outside but if you turn around and look at the view you will understand why there are so many people staying at the hotel! The Macdonald is on the banks of Loch Rannoch and the scenery is incredible. There are some great walks from the hotel to make the most of the local surroundings and after a long day outside you can enjoy fine dining in the hotel restaurant. The food is high quality, using local produce. Not a huge variety and lacking in options if you are vegetarian however I made requests and they were met no problem.
The rooms are a little tired however its a perfect night sleep in a great setting.
This is a great value hotel to take advantage of the countryside surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clareyfairymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZBalogh, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor,

It is nice to read your comments about the hotel and of how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope you had the chance to join our data base so that we can keep in touch, with any offers we may have in the future.

Once again thank you for your positive comments if you would like anymore information please do not hesitate to contact as.

Kind Regards

General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

As the hotel is on the Etape cycle route we decided to stay here so we could cheer on the participants. The road to the hotel is 25mins off of the A9 down a very windy, narrow road when you get to the village the signs to the hotel are not very clear but if you get lost then you will get a fabulous view! The hotel is a bit tired and could do with updating but it's not past it and the old fashion decor sort of adds to the charm (tartan carpets, dark wood and hunting artefacts).
Our room was on the second floor with a view to the Loch, it was clean and comfortable plus they left a couple of treats for my son which he definitely appreciated. The bathroom was very small and it was difficult to increase the temperature when using the taps in shower mode (strangely it was easier when you used the taps).
We only bought drinks from the bar and the bar staff were very helpful. We had the breakfast, which is very expensive at £15.95 per person, but it was very good and better than the breakfast at the MacDonald Aviemore. I prefer having my cooked breakfast served rather than collecting it from hot plates.
Briefly used the pool which was fine but the CCTV cameras were a bit off putting and the showers in the gents changing rooms weren't working.
Would stay again especially if I could get a reasonable dinner, bed and breakfast rate but not in the winter months as driving on the roads in the dark would be daunting!
They accept dogs too which is perfect as it's ideal dog walking territory (although there's lots of paths near the hotel that go nowhere).

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view, stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shortbreadandwhisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZBalogh, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. Your comments have been taken on board and passed onto the relevant departments.

We do hope we can welcome you back again soon.


Kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinloch Rannoch
0.5 mi away
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
255 reviews
18.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,899 reviews
11.2 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,372 reviews
14.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
444 reviews
17.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel

Address: Kinloch Rannoch, Kinloch Rannoch PH16 5PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinloch Rannoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Price Range: £60 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Highlands, the hotel is situated on the north shore above Loch Rannoch and the picturesque village of Kinloch Rannoch with majestic views of the loch and hills that are simply breathtaking. The magnificent setting is the ideal location to enjoy a break away from busy lives or a romantic retreat. Steeped in tradition and rich in heritage, the hotel invites one to step back to a quieter time, while still enjoying the comfort of a superb hotel. Looking for somewhere to enjoy quality Scottish food? There is a fine selection of meals to be enjoyed in The Ptarmigan Restaurant or the Schiehallion Bar. Here at our Loch Rannoch Perthshire hotel we use only the freshest of ingredients to provide fantastic food, expertly prepared, in beautiful surroundings with superb service. And when you need to unwind, our Leisure Club is the ideal way to relax after a long day. Heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym are on offer to relieve stress and leave you feeling refreshed. For the more energetic, Schiehallion - our local Munro - beckons. There are numerous woodland walks nearby too, which are suitable for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel Kinloch Rannoch, Scotland
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Kinloch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing