We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

very pleasant stay in quiet surroundings, staff friendly, helpful and proffessional, we had a lovely good sized bedroom overlooking the loch. i would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joerayc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review sharing your resort experience.
I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    470
    196
    69
    20
See reviews for
202
776
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from an overnight stay and really enjoyed the warm hospitality and first class service from the team led by Zsolt . Arriving at the hotel a warm and friendly welcome was given by Annette on reception desk. The room was clean tidy all be it a wee bit dated but the veiw was to die for . We used the pool and health suite and only fault was hubby informed me the gents shower in the changing room was out of order. Dinner was served under the watchful eye of restaurant manager Darius who takes pride in the smooth running of the service and our waiter Mike was first class as was the lovely food.Only negative I feel it's wrong to surcharge for veg as a side order people expect the basic mash or chips.Breakfast service was as attentive by the staff as the dinner . On leaving Julia on reception was very pleasant. Well done to the staff ! Great team ,warm friendly hotel with spectacular scenery .

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review sharing your resort experience.
I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us.
Thank you for your wonderful words regarding our staff, I am happy that they made you feel welcome and were helpful.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Friendly & welcoming staff, who were helpful & always addressed us by name. Good food & good choice on menu, varied nightly. Scottish breakfast gave good start to the day.
Lift to bedrooms, so no problem with cases. Splendid view of the loch from our moderate sized room.
Would definitely stay again & recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMSC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience.

I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us - it really is a pleasure to read.
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our staff - it is something that we work very hard on and I am so happy to hear that they made you feel welcome and were helpful
We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The staff here were very friendly and the food was pretty good, however the building itself is in serious need of a refit. Having stayed in several Macdonald hotels before this was the first time we were disappointed by the building itself.

The furniture, beds included, don't look like they've been replaced in 25 years, the walls are scuffed, the woodwork chipped, and the floor boards creeky. The bar (the two listed are just the same bar separated by a wall) is something you'd expect to find in a small 2-star city hotel and we didn't spend any time there. The beer selection was also disappointing, considering the hotel is very close to several Scottish micro-breweries, and the whisky list wasn't anything to get excited over.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, but would have a hard time recommending this hotel to anyone and won't be staying there again until it's had some work.

Room Tip: Room numbers up to 30 are in an older section, newer rooms seem to run 100+ for first floor and 200...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review and share your experience with us.
I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed with your stay - here at the hotel we always aim for the highest possible guest service and take it seriously if guests leave feeling this was not the case.
I am sorry that you were unhappy with the room you were allocated - I do wish you would have informed us of your dissapointent in order for us to find you a room that would have been more accommodating for your stay.
I appreciate your feedback regarding the bar and the whisky offer, however we do supply 6 different draught beers and 70 different malt whiskies , I'm suprised you felt this isnt enough - please rest assured that your comments have been passed on to the relevant deparment.


We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back - in that case please do not hesitate to contact us beforehand to ensure there will not be any dissapointment.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from an overnight stay and really enjoyed the warm hospitality and first class service from the team led by Zsolt . Arriving at the hotel a warm and friendly welcome was given by Annette on reception desk. The room was clean tidy all be it a wee bit dated but the veiw was to die for . We used the pool and health suite and only fault was hubby informed me the gents shower in the changing room was out of order. Dinner was served under the watchful eye of restaurant manager Darius who takes pride in the smooth running of the service and our waiter Mike was first class as was the lovely food.Only negative I feel it's wrong to surcharge for veg as a side order people expect the basic mash or chips.Breakfast service was as attentive by the staff as the dinner . On leaving Julia on reception was very pleasant. Well done to the staff ! Great team ,warm friendly hotel with spectacular scenery .

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review sharing your experience.
I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us.
Thank you for your wonderful words regarding our staff, I am happy that they made you feel welcome and were helpful.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

First impressions nice enough.
Our first room had no warm water never mind hot water and the TV didn't work. You are 18 miles away from anywhere so the chances are you are going to watch the TV at some point.
In fairness they upgraded us to a really nice room and everything worked.

Both rooms looked over the loch, nice!
In our new room we listened to the man in the next room getting told off from his wife for snoring. They could almost have been in the same room.

The staff almost killed us with kindness because of the first room although we never really complained. The staff were really nice but it was silly things like 'would you like water' 'Yes'
No water arrived.
'would you like brown or white toast' 'White' they brought brown.

Half the hotel has been done up the other half hasn't.

Not a terrible visit but wouldn't return and not really worth more than a 3.

Room Tip: ask for a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review as all guest feedback is much appreciated.
I am sorry to learn of the issues you experienced with your shower during your stay with us and for that I do apologise. Please be assured that it had been raised with the relevant department to investigate why the issue wasn’t solved during your stay and to avoid any other guests having the same problem in that room. You mentioned you did not complaint , however you have personaaly approched me with your concerns , and I have offered you a room change straight away and we upgraded you to an executive room for no extra charges and also organised complimentary drink in the bar for both of you .
I understand your frustration regarding the staff being too kind , however we always provide very high level of customer service to every guest We look forward to get the opportunity to welcome you back and please do not hesitate to contact us in advance to ensure that next time we can make up for the inconvenience caused during this stay.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were very excited to stay at the Loch Rannoch Hotel and Resort, as I had seen pictures of it for years - as my partner said, he could see the hotel being in its heyday in the 1920s, when families would come out in the summer. Indeed it is a very nice stately building, but as has been mentioned by previous reviewers, it does need a bit of a face-lift - the woodwork around the window was peeling, and the upholstery on the sofa had seen better days.
That said, the room had a lovely view and very comfortable bed, and the bathrooms were clean and very up to date. Breakfast was very good, especially the coffee and the bread used for toast, and the staff were efficient and polite. The barmaid in the afternoon and later evening was also very friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately where service fell a bit was during dinner. Through no fault of his own (we later learned that another member of staff had decided to go home early), the server in the lovely dining room was on his own, and left to serve at least four or five tables. While this may seem staff enough in a more casual restaurant, the formal setting meant that the silver service was very difficult to keep up. The three of us took over two hours to be served - this included a long wait for our drinks, one of which I think may have been forgotten, and a mix-up with our being presented the wrong bill, an issue that took close to 20 minutes to resolve. The food was excellent (if a wee bit on the scanty side), and I did feel sorry for the poor server who was trying his best though clearly understaffed - not in any way his fault, but a mistake I would put down to management.
All in all we had a lovely stay, but would probably not rush back before trying other options nearby.

Room Tip: We requested a Loch view - lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BinScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew.
I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed with your stay in early May .
Please bes assured that your feedback regarding the service has been taken on board and the new manangement has improved the level of customer service provided .

I am happy that you enjoyed the room and found it accommodating for your stay.

We hope to welcome you back again,

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinloch Rannoch
14.2 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,210 reviews
11.2 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
17.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
18.0 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
17.9 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel

Property: Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Address: Kinloch Rannoch, Kinloch Rannoch PH16 5PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinloch Rannoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Highlands, the hotel is situated on the north shore above Loch Rannoch and the picturesque village of Kinloch Rannoch with majestic views of the loch and hills that are simply breathtaking. The magnificent setting is the ideal location to enjoy a break away from busy lives or a romantic retreat. Steeped in tradition and rich in heritage, the hotel invites one to step back to a quieter time, while still enjoying the comfort of a superb hotel. Looking for somewhere to enjoy quality Scottish food? There is a fine selection of meals to be enjoyed in The Ptarmigan Restaurant or the Schiehallion Bar. Here at our Loch Rannoch Perthshire hotel we use only the freshest of ingredients to provide fantastic food, expertly prepared, in beautiful surroundings with superb service. And when you need to unwind, our Leisure Club is the ideal way to relax after a long day. Heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym are on offer to relieve stress and leave you feeling refreshed. For the more energetic, Schiehallion - our local Munro - beckons. There are numerous woodland walks nearby too, which are suitable for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel Kinloch Rannoch, Scotland
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Kinloch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing