We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Blair Atholl for the horse trials.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is located on the Loch side, but is pretty remote, 15 miles down a winding road. It's a very peaceful spot, but aside from walking, you would be hard pressed to find anything else to do in the vicinity. It is quite close to Blair Castle (25 mins by car) and offered better value than the hotels in Pitlochrie.
The bar food was very good and excellent in the restaurant, although not a huge choice, very well presented. The service was outstanding.
The hotel is old and has some charm but parts could do with tidying up. Our bedroom was very dark and the shower was only lukewarm.

Room Tip: This is an old country house with very squeaky floors.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for such a comprehensive review of our services it is appreciated and of course highlights what we aspire to deliver for each and every guest

It is nice to read your comments about the team and the hotel and of how much you enjoyed your overall stay with us,

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return sometime soon.

Kind regards.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

807 - 813 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed here for one night with a group setting out on the three peak challenge starting at Ben Nevis the following day. Although the weather was wet, The location is very beautiful overlooking the loch. Considering the large size of our party, the staff (mainly European) coped very well. The hotel is looking a little 'tired' in some respects but the room was comfortable, the evening meal and breakfast were good, the bar staff friendly and the water hot. There is ample parking. Altogether this was a ideal base for our trip as it was only a short stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill_STH500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review sharing your experience.
I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed here for one night 10th August on a DBB for a family of four. The location is very remote over looking the Loch which is lovely. The Hotel is old with certain parts in need of some upgrading. Large rip in chair in bedroom, lockers in fitness area damaged etc. Ate in the restaurant for both dinner (set menu) and breakfast which was very nice and had a good children's menu. Staff and service was very good all round, little girl was sick in bed during night, a call to reception and within a few minutes new linen and towels were at our room with the dirty ones removed.Good value for money on the package we were on.

Room Tip: Upgrade to executive room and face the Loch.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank givemeaclue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review sharing your experience.
I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us.
Thank you for your wonderful words regarding our staff, I am happy that they made you feel welcome and were helpful.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Fantastic location overlooking the loch. The staff very very pleasant (not too many locals seem to be employed). Food was well presented but same menu for both nights. Final morning was a bit busy following a coach departure and had to wait for a table.
Was a bit concerned about the hot tap temperature in our room - it was very hot. Would be a bit concerned about a child being scalded.
A fine place to stay in would certainly recommend it.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review.
I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us - thank you for all your wonderful comments.
I will make sure to pass on your feedback - I know the staff will be happy to hear that they made you feel welcome and were helpful.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel beside the loch with amazing views. Very clean spacious rooms, allows dogs, even our 12 stone mastiff was welcomed, and we couldn't express more how much we recommend this hotel, and especially for a break away with the dog. Will definitely be back

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mrwolfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us, everyone at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel works together to create a lovely experience for our guests, I will pass on your comments to both our housekeeping team, and our chefs, who are always keen to hear about how guests have enjoyed their stay with us, Thank you for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards

The general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a 2 night special offer on Amazon, which was good value , in spite of the food. The room was very spacious and comfortable with a super view over the Loch, a fine bed and and bathroom, I would compliment them on that aspect of our stay
The problem was the evening dinner, the service was again fine, but the food was poor both in quantity and quality. The presentation on the plate was very artistic but thats all ! I would have thought that the food should have matched the environment both inside and outside the Hotel, I was expecting real "Scottish Fare", but instead we got pseudo French/Italian style. It was "elegance without substance " ! which was a pity. But, to use a popular phrase, you get what you pay for ! and the deal was still good value. The breakfast was fair to average , (FAQ.)
We have had much better in a humble Highland cottage B. and B.
Sorry not to be more complimentary , we did enjoy the spectacular scenery on our drives and everything else was fine, but not the food. Next time B. and B. only if the deal is good !

Room Tip: Choose a Loch view room if possible , second floor
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dennsteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review, All of our food is cooked fresh to order using local ingredients, the kitchen team here at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel work very hard to provide our guests with the freshest and where possible local produce, This enables our team to produce quality dishes that our customers can enjoy, All of our dishes are cooked fresh, to order, I will pass on your comments to our kitchen team who are always pleased to hear feedback from our customers. Thank you once again for your review

Best Regards

The general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our family stayed for one night only en route to Plockton and were pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly and helpful, the swimming pool and gym great for entertaining our kids (8 and 16) and the location blissfully quiet and pretty. We had a spacious family room for the 4 of us and the dog - the dog wasn't allowed in the bar area with us but I imagine this is because they serve food. We booked on a DBB rate and the food was lovely. The hotel is traditional in style.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 19NN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, All of the team here at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel work hard to provide our guests with an excellent stay, Your lovely comments will be passed onto all of the staff within our different departments who are always glad to hear feedback from guests regarding their experience with us. Once again thank you for your review, and we all hope to see you soon in the near future

Best Regards

The general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinloch Rannoch
0.5 mi away
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
132 reviews
18.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,835 reviews
24.4 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
902 reviews
17.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,993 reviews
14.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel

Address: Kinloch Rannoch, Kinloch Rannoch PH16 5PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinloch Rannoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Price Range: £65 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Highlands, the hotel is situated on the north shore above Loch Rannoch and the picturesque village of Kinloch Rannoch with majestic views of the loch and hills that are simply breathtaking. The magnificent setting is the ideal location to enjoy a break away from busy lives or a romantic retreat. Steeped in tradition and rich in heritage, the hotel invites one to step back to a quieter time, while still enjoying the comfort of a superb hotel. Looking for somewhere to enjoy quality Scottish food? There is a fine selection of meals to be enjoyed in The Ptarmigan Restaurant or the Schiehallion Bar. Here at our Loch Rannoch Perthshire hotel we use only the freshest of ingredients to provide fantastic food, expertly prepared, in beautiful surroundings with superb service. And when you need to unwind, our Leisure Club is the ideal way to relax after a long day. Heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym are on offer to relieve stress and leave you feeling refreshed. For the more energetic, Schiehallion - our local Munro - beckons. There are numerous woodland walks nearby too, which are suitable for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel Kinloch Rannoch, Scotland
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Kinloch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing