We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and tranquillity”
Review of Moor of Rannoch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinloch Rannoch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moor of Rannoch
Certificate of Excellence
ELY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxury and tranquillity”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had a 3 course meal here on 14th May and it was fantastic. Scott was there to greet us when we arrived and I assume it was Steph who prepared a delicious meal. Rannoch station is a fascinating place and so peaceful. I have travelled by train to Mallaig from here 3 times now and I consider it to be the best rail journey I have ever taken. To sum up I would say that this is not just a perfect meal but an experience not to be missed.
Kevin and Sue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElyKevin_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott-and-steph, Owner at Moor of Rannoch, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi ElyKevin_S,

It was great that you were able to join us for dinner last week to finish your day travelling on the West Highland Railway Line. We fully agree that a journey on the line is a fantastic experience and the route is a regular contender in the top 10 railway journeys in the world.

You can depart from Rannoch in the morning and take the train north to visit places such as Fort William, Glenfinnan with its famous viaduct as seen in the harry potter films, Arasaig & Morrar with their pristine white sand beaches or all the way to the end of the line at Mallaig.

The evening train returns you to Rannoch at 1836 just in time for dinner. Steph's menu changes daily and uses a number of locally sourced ingredients. It is £29 for a 3 course dinner including tea/coffee and a Scottish cheese board is served at the bar each evening at 9pm. A 2 course option is priced at £23. Booking is essential due to our limited capacity and remote location.

We hope that you are able to return to us the next time that you are travelling on the West Highland Line.

Regards,
Scott & Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
118
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

If heading north on the West Highland railway line, here's a helpful tip: DON'T break your journey at Fort William, but stop a bit short at Rannoch Moor instead.

We were met off the train by the owner, walked through the secluded Rannoch community of six houses to this peerless, perfect little hotel. Lovely snug public rooms awaited, matched by excellent country bedrooms with very good beds. Absolutely no TVs and definitely no buzz of wifi, so take a book and expect to be tranquil about it.

Dinner and breakfast were both good, sensible, well proportioned feasts, with breathtaking views to match (wandering deers included). With an exact and spectacular wooded 10k run towards Glencoe thrown in, and a lovely morning walk to the beach base of Loch Laidon, this is without doubt the best way anywhere to recharge batteries for long distance rail travel.

We will be back, many times we hope.

Room Tip: Obviously, a room facing out over Loch Laidon and the railway line for preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbonotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott-and-steph, Owner at Moor of Rannoch, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi jimbonotts,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Moor of Rannoch. The West Highland Railway Line is the perfect way to arrive at Rannoch giving you fantastic views across the Moor including areas that cannot be seen or visited by road. Rannoch Station is at the centre of our small community and much of the day revolves around the arrival of our 8 daily passenger services.

The track past Loch Laidon and across the moor is a great explore whether as a gentle walk or more energetic run. It is also a great route to take one of our bikes which are available for hire to help you explore a greater area of Rannoch.

It would be great to see you back at the Moor of Rannoch soon so you can sample some more of Steph's feasts.

Regards,
Scott & Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel in March 2014. We found the experience as welcoming and relaxing as the website suggested. The surroundings were lovely, the tranquillity welcome and the atmosphere one of friendliness coupled with an excellent local knowledge for advice on what to do. The food was beautiful and all in all a luxury, relaxing time away

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott-and-steph, Owner at Moor of Rannoch, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi Lisa K,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the tranquillity of Rannoch Moor. The lack of Internet/TV's/Mobiles helps to create the relaxed atmosphere and ensures that you are able to fully enjoy the wilderness and landscape.

There are lots of things to see and do in the area and we are always willing to give advice on some of our favourite activities. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed Steph's cooking as we try and showcase some of Highland Perthshire's best local produce.

We look forward to your next visit to Rannoch Moor.

Regards,
Scott & Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

In the Moor of Rannoch hotel it actually feels like home here: quite nights in front of the fire, lovely chat with Scott and Steph, who are always more that eager to help with planning a walk or meeting you at a station from the train, home-made meals (and oh what a size of portions they have!), simply delicious drambuie porridge for breakfast (full breakfast is also very-very tasty), hot bath after a long day's walk on the hills and in the forest, pet stags that come every evening to dine in front of a loinge and a real feeling of re-energizing, detoxing (no wi-fi or any other busy connections)! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaBazoeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moor-of-Rannoch, Owner at Moor of Rannoch, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi VictoriaBazoeva,

We are delighted to hear that you felt at home in the Moor of Rannoch as we hope that all of our guests are able to relax and unwind after a hard days exploring.

Steph's breakfasts are a great way to start the day and the porridge with Drambuie and cream always seems popular. Dinner is cooked fresh each evening and we use a number of local ingredients whenever possible, smaller portions are available if required so that you have room to sample one of the deserts.

The hinds & stags do make a regular appearance during dinner time and often pose for guests photos outside the dining room. A word of caution, all the deer are wild animals and even if they appear tame they should always be given the respect they deserve. Antlers are very strong and pointy!!!

We are glad that you managed to spend some time with us on your first visit to Scotland and we hope that you may return someday to see more of the country.

Regards,

Scott & Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

What a fantastic place the hotel was faultless and the meals outstanding.
We also had room 3 with lovely views. We were there for a family 60th party.
I dont know anywhere so remote beautiful countryside and so peaceful.
A long drive to get there but well worth it. Scott and Steph are the most amazing hosts,
Scott is full of information and nothing is too much trouble for him and Stephs cooking
well you just have to go there and try it.
Would recommend the place too everybody. We only stayed a couple of days but would happily spend longer if we get the chance next time.

Thanks Scott & Steph


Kevin & Marigold

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moor-of-Rannoch, Owner at Moor of Rannoch, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi Kevin S (& Marigold),

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Rannoch Moor with the rest of your family for the 60th Birthday celebrations.

The moor certailally is peaceful with just 6 of us living in over 130km of true wilderness. It is a long drive to get to us (1 hour 15 minutes from the A9 at Pitlochry) so it is often easier to arrive by train on the scenic West Highland line that runs from Glasgow Queen Street to Mallaig. We also have a twice daily direct rail link to London on the Caledonian Sleeper.

Hopefully you will be able to make a return visit so that you can try some more of Steph's cooking. As we change the menu on a daily basis there is always something new to try.

Thanks for your review,

Regards,

Scott & Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here on 23rd April whilst visiting the West Highland line. The hotel is lovely and Scott and Steph are excellent hosts. When I arrived I was met by Scott and shown to my room, number 3. It was pretty faultless and obviously a lot of time and money has been spent on it, in fact it put many 5 star multiple chain hotels to shame. and was REALLY cosy with stunning views of absolutely nothing apart from snow capped mountains in the distance, peat bogs and streams and locks. I loved it and I particularly liked the little steps to get into bed. the ensuite was huge and well stocked but one niggle was that the shower doors and screens were covered in water and soap stains although the shower tray itself wasn't. For dinner I had pork fillet with savoy cabbage, black pudding, butternut squash with an apple sauce. It was that good I felt like a taster on Masterchef. I went for a walk after dinner but as the signs say walking on the moor can be dangerous.... when I got back I had some cheese from the board, a good book and sunk into a comfortable chair. Following morning I got up about 6.30 and went for a walk the area is just stunning. At the rail station from where there is actually a direct service to London a poster proclaims that this line has been voted worlds best rail journey three years running. That's pushing it a bit, the Settle - Carlisle is just as good in a different way and what about the line in Peru that staggers upto 17000 feet above sea level. the West Highland is in the premier league of rail lines but I think there are better. Back to the Hotel for breakfast and it was by a mile the best I have ever had, porridge with Drambuie and cream followed by back, free range egg, black pudding and mushrooms and two cups of really nice coffee. I could have lingered longer but had to get the 0843 back to civilisation. As a railway enthusiast I quite often do long journeys - for some reason Mrs Kentish Traveller isn't - We have stayed in hundreds of hotels over the years
and the Moor of Rannoch joins a very select list of favourites Thanks Scott and Steph, I had a lovely stay, cant wait to see you on Masterchef

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentishTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott-and-steph, Owner at Moor of Rannoch, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Hi KentishTravellers,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at Rannoch Moor.

As you say Rannoch is a very remote area with spectacular scenery to explore and the station benefits from regular connections to Glasgow, Oban, Fort William & Mallaig, as well as the daily service on the Caledonian Sleeper direct to London.

The West Highland Line is a great journey with fantastic views and it regularly makes in into lists of the Top 10 rail journeys in the world. The contract for running the network is currently out for tender so we have our fingers crossed that the next operators invest in the route and help develop it further.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed Steph's cooking however we are not sure if we can fit in time to enter Masterchef so we may just have to invite them to the Moor and introduce them to the joys of cooking on an Aga!!

As you mention we have carried out a number of renovations over the winter months and have changed a number of the rooms. We must apologise for the water marks on the shower screens in your room. Our remote location means that we have a private water supply which due to the peat bogs has a distinct taste and colour owing to the high levels of iron/manganese. It is great to drink but it does leave residue on surfaces especially glass. Removing the build up requires the use of a very strong Acid solution. Our waste water eventually ends up back on the moor so we do try and keep the use of such strong chemicals to a minimum to reduce the impact on Rannoch's unique habitat. We will continue to monitor the shower screens (the shower tray surfaces are not affected in the same way) and will increase the frequency of our cleaning schedules as required. We hope this matter did not detract too much from your enjoyment of Rannoch Moor and look forward to seeing you on your next train adventure.

Regards,

Scott & Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE England
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My son & I stayed here on a walking trip. Friendly helpful and great food. I found it hard to fault and appreciated Scott's advice. I am not sure I can add more except I hope to go back again in the not to distant future

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 48Fred48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moor-of-Rannoch, Owner at Moor of Rannoch, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi 48Fred48,

It is great to hear that you and your son enjoyed your visit to Rannoch Moor.

Walking is a great way to explore the moor and experience its wilderness. On your next visit you could try exploring other areas by bike or using the West Highland Railway Line to access other stations on the route.

Steph continues to cook a fresh menu which changes daily and we are always on the look out for new local suppliers so it is good to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us.

We look forward to your return in the future.

Regards,
Scott & Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinloch Rannoch
14.3 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinloch Rannoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
19.9 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
23.1 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
20.8 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
15.2 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moor of Rannoch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moor of Rannoch

Property: Moor of Rannoch
Address: Rannoch Station, Kinloch Rannoch PH17 2QA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinloch Rannoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kinloch Rannoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the idyllic wilderness of Rannoch Moor with views onto Loch Laidon and along the West Highland Railway LIne, the Moor of Rannoch offers an escape from the demands of modern living. A chance to experience some of Scotland's most rugged landscape. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moor Of Rannoch Kinloch Rannoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing