We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never better”
Review of Moor of Rannoch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinloch Rannoch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moor of Rannoch
Certificate of Excellence
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never better”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have been returning to the Moor Of Rannoch Hotel, almost on an annual basis, to fish Loch Laidon, since 1967. During that time, the hotel has changed hands six times. Each new owner has improved the facilities but unfortunately the public bar was closed some years ago. Over the last few years, things remained static, with few improvements and the proprietors adopted a somewhat unfriendly attitude to non residents.
All that has changed in the year since Scott and Steph took over. Improvements to the public rooms and the bedrooms have been made and for the first time, there is an endless supply of hot water. They are the most welcoming of hosts and Steph now caters superb meals, with excellent choice, all at a very reasonable price for such a remote location. The added touch of complementary after dinner coffee and cheese board makes the meal a little special. Non resident guests can book for an evening meal when space allows.
Scott now stocks an ever increasing range of malt whiskies, both Scottish and foreign. His knowledge about how each one is produced and matured is amazing and we certainly enjoyed sampling several during our stay.
For those wishing to fish Loch Laidon, this can be arranged through George, the keeper. It is full of small brown trout, averaging about five ounces, but with several up to twelve ounces and the odd ferrox trout in the eight pound range. The fish take almost any fly offered with gusto.


Ian Shenkin
Channel Islands

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ishenkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott-and-steph, Owner at Moor of Rannoch, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi ishenkin,

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed another succesfull visit to Rannoch Moor. We both enjoyed showing you the renovations that we have carried out since you visit last year and are delighted that our new boiler & heating system is up to the job.

Steph continues to produce a new menu each day so that there is always something new for you to try. Dinner is served each evening from 6.30pm and non-residents are welcome with prior booking essential. Our 3 course dinner which as you mention includes tea/coffee and a complementary cheese board is priced at £29. A 2 course option is available for £23.

The malt whisky list continues to grow and change as Scott continues to add to the classic range of malts by sourcing a number of different and intereting whiskys that our guests may not have come across before.

Loch Laidon is great for fishing and can be arranged by contacting Rannoch Estate.

We look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Regards,

Scott & Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
118
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We arrived at the Moor of Rannoch after a long day of hiking. It is located in a wonderfully remote spot. Our room was fantastic with a very comfortable bed and a wonderful tub for soaking. The evening meal we had was amazing. One of the best vegetarian meals we have ever had in a restaurant. If you are out and about during your stay, ask for a packed lunch, ours was amazing! A lot of excellent food. Overall one of the best stays that we had while we were in Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott-and-steph, Owner at Moor of Rannoch, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Jill C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Moor of Rannoch.

We are glad that you were able to relax after your long days walk and that a warm bath was able to relieve the sore muscles.

We are very fortunate to have a number of our vegetables and all of our salad grown locally especially for us. This ensures that our vegetables are as fresh as possible and helps Steph to create a wide range of vegetarian dishes. We are able to cater for all dietary requirements but due to our remote location we do require some advanced notice.

Our menu changes daily and consists of 3 starters, 4 main courses and 3 desserts. Our 3 course dinner is priced at £29 and includes tea/coffee as well as a Scottish cheese board which is served in the bar at 9pm each evening. A 2 course option is priced at £23.

We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your packed lunch as you crossed the moor the following day. We hope that you are able to return to Rannoch the next time that you visit Scotland.

Regards,
Scott & Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
163 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Been around now for 2weeks, and this is the top. Location over looking the moor and the perfect point for walks is as expected, but the food is just excellent and the couple running the hotel are just so nice and hospital, that you feel more at home than in a hotel.

Room Tip: Come and go by train, but check the schedules
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott-and-steph, Owner at Moor of Rannoch, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi palle w,

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your two weeks exploring Scotland and that you were able to sample the wilderness of Rannoch Moor. Our location beside the West Highland Railway Line provides great access to a variety of walks and day trips.

We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed Steph's cooking as we try to showcase some of Scotland's best produce and use a number of local suppliers.

We hope that you are able to return again in the future.

Regards,
Scott & Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

took Mum on trip on the West Highland Line - stopped overnight at Moor of Rannoch Hotel run by Scott and Steph who have had the place for last 13 months. Scott met us at the station and carried Mum's bag over the bridge which was a wonderful help. He suggested a small walk down to the little sandy bay which was perfect before supper. Supper was tasty and we saw the Jacobite train go past on it's way to Fort William from our table. A bit surprised that there were no potatoes on the menu atall, you gotta get your stocks correct when you are based on Rannoch Moor! Our room was comfortable and had a bath. I think the prices for the accommodation, the meal and the wines are all slightly too high. I also found the lounge areas very sparce and lacking in atmosphere - no music, pretty austere really. Overall however we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: ask for one at the front - they have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moor-of-Rannoch, Owner at Moor of Rannoch, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Annette s,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Moor of Rannoch Hotel. We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your visit to Rannoch Moor and were able to have a short walk to experience the wilderness of the moor and see the fantastic views across Loch Laidon from the beach.

It is also pleasing to hear that your dinner was tasty and that you were lucky to see one of the steam trains passing. We work hard to produce our food and take pride in using a number of local suppliers to showcase some of the area’s best produce. Our menu changes each day to allow us to cook using the freshest ingredients. Each evening our menu consists of 3 starters, 4 main courses and 3 desserts. Tea/Coffee and a Scottish cheese board are also included in the price of £29 for a 3 course meal. For those wishing a lighter meal we offer 2 courses at £23.

As our menu changes each evening we do not always have potatoes on the menu as we try to vary the accompaniments to each dish. The lack of potatoes was not caused by an issue with stock levels as we are fortunate enough to work with a number of local suppliers and are able to have deliveries each day of the week if require. Given notice we are able to cater for all dietary requirements or preferences.

We will continue to monitor our guests feedback regarding our prices but we believe that we have set our prices at a reasonable compared to other businesses in the area and taking into account the higher costs involved in operating in a remote area of Scotland.

We feel the Moor of Rannoch is a great place to escape and unwind as we do not receive a TV or Radio signal, mobile phones generally do not work and we do not have Wi-Fi. Many of our guests enjoy the numerous books & board games as well as the constant communal jigsaw puzzle. We even provide a guitar for use by any of our guests. We find that many of our guests enjoy the interaction and conversations which the lack of digital distractions helps to promote.

We hope that one day you may return to Rannoch Moor on your next trip on the West Highland Railway Line.

Regards,
Scott & Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
215 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We went on a family weekend of walking and had fantastic weather (which always helps) with 3 couples and an aunt. The hotel is right at the end of the track (so a long way from anywhere), the owner - Scott - is great, very friendly and helpful with his wife running the catering. The rooms are refurbished and perfect for a long weekend, the food was very good and varied with some excellent fresh, local produce being used; the bar well stocked with local booze (local beer, local Gin and - of course - whiskey) the wine menu not too long but fine. Scott and Steph were very nice and helpful both on the food choices but also the various walks around the area.

I noticed that several walkers, cyclists etc came in looking for a cup of tea, beer etc after their walks and were turned away - which with hindsight was good as the place would have quickly filled with passers-by and the hotel-guests would have been outnumbered. Good move Scott!

All in all - a great place for a relaxing, unhassled weekend away with good food (and an excellent breakfast) and well made G&T's looking out across some stunning views

Excellent find ..............

Helpful?
Thank Gavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott-and-steph, Owner at Moor of Rannoch, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi Gavin J,

It is great to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us on Rannoch Moor. The hotel is situated at the very end of a long road and it is often easier to reach us by using The West Highland Railway Line as Rannoch Station is right on our doorstep.

We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and drink so we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the dinners and the selection of Scottish drinks behind the bar. Currently we have 69 malt whisky's so there is bound to be something for everyone to try.

During the day we spend our time cleaning the guest rooms and preparing our dinner menu which changes each day. This means that we are unable to offer tea/coffee to non residents during lunch times.

The restaurant is open to non-residents each evening from 6.30pm (booking is essential) with a 3 course dinner including tea/coffee priced at £29.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Scott & Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had a 3 course meal here on 14th May and it was fantastic. Scott was there to greet us when we arrived and I assume it was Steph who prepared a delicious meal. Rannoch station is a fascinating place and so peaceful. I have travelled by train to Mallaig from here 3 times now and I consider it to be the best rail journey I have ever taken. To sum up I would say that this is not just a perfect meal but an experience not to be missed.
Kevin and Sue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElyKevin_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott-and-steph, Owner at Moor of Rannoch, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi ElyKevin_S,

It was great that you were able to join us for dinner last week to finish your day travelling on the West Highland Railway Line. We fully agree that a journey on the line is a fantastic experience and the route is a regular contender in the top 10 railway journeys in the world.

You can depart from Rannoch in the morning and take the train north to visit places such as Fort William, Glenfinnan with its famous viaduct as seen in the harry potter films, Arasaig & Morrar with their pristine white sand beaches or all the way to the end of the line at Mallaig.

The evening train returns you to Rannoch at 1836 just in time for dinner. Steph's menu changes daily and uses a number of locally sourced ingredients. It is £29 for a 3 course dinner including tea/coffee and a Scottish cheese board is served at the bar each evening at 9pm. A 2 course option is priced at £23. Booking is essential due to our limited capacity and remote location.

We hope that you are able to return to us the next time that you are travelling on the West Highland Line.

Regards,
Scott & Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

If heading north on the West Highland railway line, here's a helpful tip: DON'T break your journey at Fort William, but stop a bit short at Rannoch Moor instead.

We were met off the train by the owner, walked through the secluded Rannoch community of six houses to this peerless, perfect little hotel. Lovely snug public rooms awaited, matched by excellent country bedrooms with very good beds. Absolutely no TVs and definitely no buzz of wifi, so take a book and expect to be tranquil about it.

Dinner and breakfast were both good, sensible, well proportioned feasts, with breathtaking views to match (wandering deers included). With an exact and spectacular wooded 10k run towards Glencoe thrown in, and a lovely morning walk to the beach base of Loch Laidon, this is without doubt the best way anywhere to recharge batteries for long distance rail travel.

We will be back, many times we hope.

Room Tip: Obviously, a room facing out over Loch Laidon and the railway line for preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbonotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott-and-steph, Owner at Moor of Rannoch, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi jimbonotts,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Moor of Rannoch. The West Highland Railway Line is the perfect way to arrive at Rannoch giving you fantastic views across the Moor including areas that cannot be seen or visited by road. Rannoch Station is at the centre of our small community and much of the day revolves around the arrival of our 8 daily passenger services.

The track past Loch Laidon and across the moor is a great explore whether as a gentle walk or more energetic run. It is also a great route to take one of our bikes which are available for hire to help you explore a greater area of Rannoch.

It would be great to see you back at the Moor of Rannoch soon so you can sample some more of Steph's feasts.

Regards,
Scott & Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinloch Rannoch
14.3 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,213 reviews
14.8 mi away
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
43 reviews
20.8 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
24.3 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
631 reviews
14.1 mi away
Loch Rannoch Highland Club
Loch Rannoch Highland Club
#1 of 1 in Kinloch Rannoch
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moor of Rannoch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moor of Rannoch

Property: Moor of Rannoch
Address: Rannoch Station, Kinloch Rannoch PH17 2QA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinloch Rannoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kinloch Rannoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the idyllic wilderness of Rannoch Moor with views onto Loch Laidon and along the West Highland Railway LIne, the Moor of Rannoch offers an escape from the demands of modern living. A chance to experience some of Scotland's most rugged landscape. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moor Of Rannoch Kinloch Rannoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing