We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing with excellent food”
Review of Dalmunzie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dalmunzie Castle
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Lovely old shooting lodge in beautiful surroundings. A wee bit tired but the managers were telling us about the refurbishment plans under the new owner, should be great with an orangery log burners and upgraded rooms. We stayed in a oak panelled suite which was comfortable and clean, and our friends in a four poster. The hotel has a 9 hole golf course lovely walks, and a really nice welcome back in from the cold. Scottish cask ale and reasonably priced cocktail bar. Dinner was excellent, relaxed service menu limited but interesting, scallops fois gras and venison loin were the standouts from meal, with a tasty albarino. Breakfasts cooked to order and again very tasty. No doubt the refurbishment will take significant capital and the prices will need to rise, but as it is, theres a charm about these classic Scottish shooting lodges and I just hope that the refurb is sympathetic to its history and charm!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, General Manager at Dalmunzie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for you review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the castle soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I had a nights break at this castle.We brought our dog with us.The reception we got was warm and friendly.Very dog friendly place to stay.Loads of beautiful walks in this area.The food was amazing.Our room was beautiful over looking the mountains.The staff where very friendly and relaxed.We would highly recommend this place .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie-sutherland123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, General Manager at Dalmunzie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Many thanks for a great review and we were glad to see you dog enjoyed him self.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Dalmunzie castle hotel this weekend and felt very much looked after by the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and in fact everyone went out of their way to ensure you had the best experience possible. Amazing customer service & lots of establishments could learn from them!

The room we stayed in was the Winton and was a fabulous spacious room with great views.

The food was excellent with great attention to detail, though a little more choice on the evening menu would have been great.

A great venue and would recommend to anyone looking for a romantic highland break!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Colette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, General Manager at Dalmunzie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for your kind word and we look forward to welcoming you back to the castle soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Booked a special offer 1 night break here in early Feb, with dinner and breakfast. We thought it would be a great location not far from the ski slopes, to enable us to get in our first skiing of the year. We really looked forward to returning to a warm, cosy country house hotel after a day on the hill, perhaps sitting close to an open fire with a large dram. Dream on !! The main chimneys were out of action - meaning no open fires, and the only heating in the public areas was provided by very inadequate electric fires. The shower was cold, and our room barely comfortable. There are no TV's in the room or hotel ( no reception) and there is barely any mobile phone connection ( unless you go outside into the cold).
So, how to amuse ourselves until dinner ?? This hotel probably saw good times many decades ago, but facilities have barely been upgraded for some time, so everything is from another era. Spa ? pool ? sauna ? - no chance. We played bar billiards in the snug; darts in the bar; and talked to the other guests, sharing equally bemused opinions about the dearth of comfort and basic facilities. Actually, we had quite a good evening, particularly when we had dinner which was well cooked and presented, with a range of menus from either a tasting menu, set house menu or a la carte. I had one issue with a main course of salmon which tasted of damp cardboard, but apart from that we were delighted with the food quality. Breakfast was equally good, with a great selection of "cooked to order" choices in addition to standard full Scottish.
Leaving in the morning, you couldn't help but notice the water running down the INSIDE of the walls in the lobby area. I know it was a particularly wet day - but this gives you an idea of how much care and attention this place needs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weenieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, Manager at Dalmunzie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We are in the middle of refurbishing the hotel. many of the rooms have been redecorated and had new carpets fitted. We are having new TVs fitted over the next few months. We are fitting new log burners as the old fires are not safe to us at the moment.
New lounge furniture has been brought in and the castle is being sympathetically renovated over the next few years.
I was glad to read that you enjoyed the food and service all apart from the salmon with the chef did apologise for.
As for the running water which was a slight over exaggeration, 2014 has been a rather poor year so far for weather and as part of the refurbishment we will make good the building.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We really enjoyed our time here. From first moment to last, everyone was very welcoming and friendly. We chose this hotel, because we wanted to ski in near ski centre- Glenshee, but first day of our break was almost all day snow storm outside, so we spent a lot time inside and thoroughly enjoyed atmosphere of the castle. Everyone was very helpful and attentive. We were given our keys early(very appreciated :) Room was really nice and cosy, although small. Bed very comfortable, could sleep there till midday. Food was fabulous. From tasty full scottish breakfast to amazing sticky toffee pudding in end of the day everything was delicious. We would like to thank all the staff for their great work and we are looking forward for our next stay :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaLikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, Manager at Dalmunzie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for such a great review and we look forward tow welcoming you back to the Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had an overnight stay at Dalmunzie Castle courtesy of a discount voucher and, having previous experience with discount vouchers, were unsure what to expect. What we got was a room with an extremely comfortable and cosy bed, fabulous evening meal, enjoyable breakfast and a whole heap of snow! The staff were helpful and friendly - extra thanks for the assistance in getting us out of the snowbound car park when we were leaving. The room was a bit shabby and the shower, although it did the job, was very oddly positioned as it came out of the wall at the side of the bath. Whilst I am saying that the room was shabby it was in keeping with the age of the building - it just needed a little bit TLC. The sitting area at the open fire with the squashy, hard to get out of sofas was absolutely the best after you had been out in the freezing cold.
The only other comment would be that although it appeared that there were other rooms available we were given one that overlooked the delivery area and the bins and was beside an air conditioning unit (or something) that made strange sounds bumping on and off. If we had been there for longer than the one night I would possibly have requested a different room.
Overall it was a very enjoyable stay and we would certainly have no hesitation in paying a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, Manager at Dalmunzie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Great to see you enjoyed your stay and we look forwards to seeing you again at the Castle,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We loved this place! It is so different from the chain hotels that could be anywhere in the world. But it would not suit you if you like modern furniture and fittings or if you're a minimalist! Our room was quirky with a big comfy sleigh bed. We had a wee hall and a toilet separate from the bathroom. The room was cosy, but the toilet and (large) bathroom were a bit on the cold side (it was snowing and blowing a gale!). The furniture was old, dark wood and suited the room, but it would not pleease everyone. The armchairs were a little too worn, but we didn't mind. Our only complaint was the lack of really hot water. I showered and washed my hair in warm water, thinking it would become hotter, but it didn't! Also we had only small handtowels in the bathroom (I'm sure they woukd have given us bath towelsh ad we asked, but I was already in the shower when I noticed!). By the way, the complementary toiletries were unusual and lovely. The public areas were very comfortably furnished with big sofas and lots of cushions by the log fire. There were a selection of newspapers, local and national, and other reading material scattered around. Everywhere there are old pictures and mirrors in huge, ornate gilt frames. You really feel like you're in someone's home, not a hotel. I loved it! The dinner was fabulous! Perfect service, beautifully presented food, and absolutely delicious. It ranks number two in my list of the best meas I have ever had (number one was in a Michelin starred restaurant). The wine list was a bit pricey, though (cheapest was £23, and was out of stock!). Breakfast was delicious with a buffet for juice, cereal and baked goods, and cooked to order choices including eggs benedict ( fabulous!). Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, but would have preferred the heating turned up a bit, and hotter water.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, Manager at Dalmunzie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for your review of the castle. We are refurbishing the hotel over the next few years and have started in the bed rooms and new furniture in the lounge area,
I was glad to see that you enjoyed your meals with us and we are very proud of our head chef Joes work to ensure our guests enjoy there stay.
Sorry to see we did not have the wine you wanted as we do have several wines between £20 and £25. We look forward to welcoming you to the Castle again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spittal of Glenshee
12.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,912 reviews
13 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
205 reviews
21.7 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,117 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
12.9 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmunzie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmunzie Castle

Address: Glenshee, Spittal of Glenshee PH10 7QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Spittal of Glenshee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spittal of Glenshee
Price Range: £107 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalmunzie Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant, turreted castle and former laird's residence dating from 1510, Dalmunzie Castle is a traditional hotel on a 6,500-acre estate with mountain views, and is situated 5.9 miles from the Glenshee Ski Centre and 24.8 miles from Pitlochry train station. The individually designed, antique-furnished rooms all include en suite bathrooms. Complimentary breakfast is served in an expansive, white-tablecloth dining room, which also offers a fine-dining menu of Scottish cuisine made from locally sourced produce. There are wood-panelled lounges, a library and a snug bar, as well as a 9-hole golf course, a tennis court and numerous hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Dalmunzie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmunzie Hotel Blairgowrie
Dalmunzie Castle Spittal Of Glenshee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing