We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fattoria La Palazzina
Ranked #3 of 3 Radicofani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2010

La Palazzina is located on a mountain road near Radicofani. It is a very nice old house with a swimming pool. The staff was very friendly and the athmospere is very relaxing. The food is really good. We had a room with a great view on the mountains, the bed was a bit soft, but ok.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2010

Great place, quiet, beautiful, super hospitality, honest, best Italian food you can wish, all fresh. Rooms little bit small, but clean. Free wifi. Cheap, als food

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BriBraopreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed ourselves. The things we most noticed were a) the location which is wonderful: the guesthouse is situated in the middle of gorgeous Tuscan countryside, b) the great food (we ate there both nights) and c) the great welcome from Silvano and his team. If you want anonymity in a hotel this is NOT the place for you. Silvano goes out of his way to welcome each guest and make them feel at home. He speaks great English and has an infectious humour. We loved it here.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LetishaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Came here with 3 friends in mid-May 2009, and stayed for a week at Fattoria La Palazzina's farmhouse apartment just down the road from the main house. Accommodations were beautiful, very comfortable and well-supplied. Private pool. Very short drive to the delightful nearby hill town for provisions. A quintessential experience of the Tuscan hill country. Wanted to sink in roots and never leave.

Managers Silvano Mamprin and his wife Eliana Pasquini are deeply and genuinely warm and welcoming, as is their entire team. Couldn't do enough for us. They gave us space to just be, and were equally happy to give us information on anything about the area. Eliana and another Palazzina chef, Rocco, gave me a memorable lesson on making hand-made pasta that made me feel part of the whole life there.

Rolling mountains, olive groves - the fattoria's own olive oil is delicious - make this a fabulous destination to relax, recharge, and explore Tuscany and nearby western Umbria.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galeggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during Easter time. It was highly recommended by a friend and we could see why. It is a big charming and historical B&B where the owners are always there and the husband, Silvano, is gracious and always ready to talk to his guests and help them with anything they need. He speaks English as fluently as his Italian.

What makes it very special is the beautiful dinner prepared every night of four courses and the celebrated red wine of the region in a wonderful spacious dining room. They are very accomodating to any changes you might need in the menu, for example as my wife was pregnant and there were certain things she could not eat. We met an international couple with a baby from Rome and they have returned to this spot numerous times because they can always dine in comfort with a baby monitor on the table while their son sleeps peacefully upstairs. This says a lot. The included breakfast is also lovely. Silvano also gives you homemade oiive oil when you leave- that he makes from olive trees on the premises! Also, the swimming pool looks amazing and is set in the most incredible scenic backdrop.

The little things we would mention are to keep in mind this is a European accommodation which means that for us the shower was very small. Also the lighting in the rooms is not very warm and evenly distributed, but this is something we found every place we stayed in Tuscany. It is probably due to the age of the buildings and inability to wire them a certain way. La Palazzina is also about 10 minutes from Radicofani and in Southernmost Tuscany, so you will have a drive to any place you want to visit. But it is worth the beauty of the spot and the graciousness of the hosts. Our friend Andrea told us for special occasions, ask for the room with the balcony!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BryandYa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

We spent two nights at Fattoria La Palazzina while traveling with friends. This agriturismo is located close to Radicofani in the middle of the beautiful Tuscan countryside (a car is indispensable). We had booked a separate apartment which was some 400m away from the main house. The apartment was furnished in a rustic style which was quite pretty and had wonderful views. It was clean overall although the shower-room was a bit old (and the toilet seat was broken and fixed with sticky-tape!).

The owner was very friendly and helpful and gave us some good tips on places to visit. However he was somewhat pushy about us eating at his restaurant the first night and it put us off. So instead we drove to Radicofani in search of a restaurant there. The village is quite small but there is an excellent restaurant called La Grotta which serves traditional Tuscan cuisine at a very reasonable price. Breakfast at La Palazzina the next morning was rather poor: a few slices of bread, a few jams in weird flavours, warm yogurt, cereal and fruit. There was no ham or cheese. However they had some good cakes. The quality of the breakfast discouraged us from having dinner at La Palazzina so we never got to try it out. Overall however I would say that for the place, setting and value for money I would probably go back again and recommend the place to others.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Travelxidja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2007

September in southern Tuscany is always a special treat. Temperatures are very pleasant, warm during the day and nice and cool in the evening so it is possible to really enjoy what the area has to offer: environment, architecture and art, spas, wine and food. Ok, you shouldn’t be on a diet!

We arrived at La Palazzina on Saturday morning and were welcomed by Mr. Silvano, the owner. He used to be a GM in some 5 star hotels and you can surely see the imprinting on how he runs this little establishment. The décor is exactly how you would expect it to be in a well kept hunting lodge of the top bourgeoisie of the turn of the century (not this one, the 19th…). There are beautifully maintained original pieces of furniture, a sense of “old times” as if coming from an impressionist painting and the most magnificent gardens and views.

The inn is on a high spot not far from the village of Radicofani, at the south tip of the most famous Orcia Valley. As we live in Rome this is the most accessible village for us when driving up the Via Cassia. We dropped our luggage and proceeded directly to the thermal baths of San Filippo, just a short drive away. We basked in the hot water and enjoyed a natural back massage under a waterfall at 40 degrees (Celsius). I must say, after the hot water one gets really hungry so the next stop was Montalcino. I won’t get into any details as the place is known worldwide.

In the late afternoon we were back at La Palazzina. Mr Silvano lured us at the restaurant (we thought we just couldn’t take any more food…) and we started tasting the excellent home wine with some grilled local cheese with crispy spinach. That started it all over again. We ended up having a selection of home made pasta (Contignano ravioli and pici with duck gravy), beef tagliata, roasted local lamb and ended the ordeal with saffron flavoured panna cotta. It was amazing… When we were having dessert we met the chef, Mr Silvano’s wife, Eliana, a charming lady with a total passion for cooking.

The one night visit at La Palazzina was really too short. We didn’t have the time to really enjoy time around the pool or strolling in the gardens. But we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rescue_diver_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Radicofani hotels
5.3 mi away
Podere San Giorgio
Podere San Giorgio
#1 of 3 in Radicofani
122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Podere Pietreta
Podere Pietreta
#2 of 15 in Radicofani
96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Podere Casano
Podere Casano
#3 of 15 in Radicofani
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
La Fattoria Bellandi
La Fattoria Bellandi
#2 of 2 in Contignano
44 reviews
4.1 mi away
Agriturismo La Selvella
Agriturismo La Selvella
#1 of 15 in Radicofani
269 reviews
6.8 mi away
La Montalla Agriturismo
La Montalla Agriturismo
#1 of 2 in Contignano
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria La Palazzina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria La Palazzina

Address: Localita Le Vigne 33, 53040, Radicofani, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radicofani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Radicofani
Hotel Class:3 star — Fattoria La Palazzina 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Palazzina is a hunting villa built in the second half of the XVIIIth century, set on a hill at an altitude of 580 meters above sea level, maintaining its original status of private residence, open to friends and available for rentals.The villa is surrounded by a rich evergreen park with holm-oak and cypress trees and by an olive grove with over 1300 trees, which are sufficient to cover the estate's demand for fresh olive oil. A circular garden adorns the entrance, once utilized as a bird trap for hunting purposes. The villa holds the original traits of a country house used for celebrations of spring harvest festivals.Three large rooms, with fireplaces, as well as a double room with private bathroom, are found on the ground floor leading to a semi-circular outdoor solarium paved with terracotta tiles. Those large rooms are used primarily as a dining room, bar, library and piano room. The 6meters x 12 meters swimming pool offers a breathtaking view of the rolling hills of Tuscany.The first floor has 8 double rooms, 3 with twin size beds and 5 with king size beds, all with private bathrooms and shower. There are 4 rooms facing the front side, overlooking the garden and facing west and the remaining 4 face the valley of Radicofani to the east.The whole villa is furnished with masterpieces from the 1800's and early 1900's.The Main entrance of the building can be reached by car and guests can park their vehicle next to the large plum tree field.Cooking classes, wine tastings, babysitting services, airport transfers, vehicle rentals, self-driven or with private driver, are some of the services that can be organized on request.15% Special discount on entrance ticket to the SPA of San Casciano dei Bagni and to its wellness packages is available to our guest.To reach the villa by car, take the Chiusi-Chianciano Terme exit on A1, turn left at exit and follow SS478 to Sarteano and then to Radicofani. Before you reach Radicofani, turn left at the Celle sul Rigo crossing on the Strada Provinciale della Valle del Rigo road. The villa's cypress tree driveway will be on your right hand side after 2km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Fattoria La Palazzina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria La Palazzina Radicofani, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing