We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb!”
Review of New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Ilminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2013

One of the best B&Bs we have stayed in, rooms spotless, pub warm and cosy, food fersh and scrumptious. Owners very friendly, a gem of a find in a beautiful spot for romantic weekend away.Lovely fields and pathways for a good hike or just a ramble in beautiful countryside. The Cider shop and museum around the corner is well worth a visit with locally collected assorted memorabilia and a chance to sample the various ciders made.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shiv32_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for New Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

We recently stayed in this delightful pub in the quaint village as we were meeting up with relatives in nearby Cricket St Thomas. Although the pub itself was closed in the afternoon we arrived, we were warmly welcomed and taken to our rooms where nothing was too much trouble. Of the four rooms the pub has to offer, our party of four had two double rooms which were spotlessly clean & comfortable with plenty of clean towels, tea and coffee making facilities etc.
The evening meal in the pub offered excellent choice & was wonderfully cooked, the service was excellent and Alex looked after us all well. We had a visit from cousins from Frome whilst we were dining and Alex set a couple of extra settings for them & made us all feel comfortable.
The feel of the pub was exceptionally friendly & busy with other diners and locals, the Landlord was a great host and spent time chatting with all of us customers.
The breakfast was on the same par as the evening meal, with plenty of choice & served to us by friendly staff where again nothing was too much trouble.
In all i would highly recommend this B&B for its value for money, exceptional service, atmosphere & quiet location. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We live locally and regularly use the pub for informal suppers and for entertaining friends and clients. Everyone we have sent to stay there has enjoyed themselves and all speak highly of the breakfast and the rooms. Many other pubs in the area are either overpriced gastropubs or dismal dives; this one is everything you would expect from a Somerset village pub. You will get a better dinner and a more pleasant atmosphere here than you will anywhere in the nearby market town of Ilminster. They are very good at dealing with the requirements of small babies and there is no nonsense about not allowing dogs, so the whole family can feel at home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

I had recently booked to stay at The New Inn later this year, so decided to make a day out to see what it was all about.
We found the Pub to be located in a very pleasant location, with easy parking. The Bar and Lounge area are really what you would expect from a country Pub. We stayed for Sunday Lunch which was excellent value, the staff were prompt in the serving of the food & they also checked back to make sure that everything was alright with the meal.
The only thing I would say about it, and I know it's not everyone's choice, but I would have liked the plates to have been heated to keep the food warm, but all said there was nothing else I could say that would not make me return to this Great Pub.
It was also nice not to be called "mate" by the staff
A place I would say that very much deserves its rating as a 4**** country pub
Many thanks to the staff

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stopped at The New Inn,just passing through,for lunch,good menu and specials board of home cooked food,ate from both.All mains-Salmon,Crayfish,Rocket Fishcakes,Scampi and Chicken Korma plus desserts-Apple and Cinnamon Pie,Profiteroles and a Cheese Board were tasty,good portions and delivered with a smile.I would recommend this country pub,as a reminder how things used to be before the chain pub/restaurant era, warm and friendly service with a welcoming owners,whom seemed to be pleased to see you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetKeithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Is a lovely local 'village' pub located in the pretty Somerset village of Dowlish Wake with the famous Perry's Cider Mill just around the corner, if you catch it just right, you can even watch them crushing the apples and making the cider.

Back to the New Inn. We dropped in for lunch whilst out and about. It is run by very friendly people and offers a good menu choice - but there were no sandwiches, rolls or baguettes. There was a garlic baguette or garlic baguette topped with cheese, but no other choices. Having said this, they were so friendly that I would guess that, had we asked, they would have made us some up, assuming they had the fillings.

Instead, I opted for the ham eggs and chips and it was thoroughly enjoyable. The ham was not supermarket slices, but ham carved off-the-bone. The ham portion was generous the eggs tasted very fresh and the chips great, but not so good for my waist!

Sue, why are women so good, had the Fish pie and new potatoes & veg. The fish pie was very tasty, but we wondered whether this had been made in-house or was bought-in, either way, it was generous and contained plenty of fish.

I had a local ale - Otter which was excellent but they also had Butcombe on tap as well. Sue had white wine which was fine and went well with her fish pie.

Personally we think that it would be well worth a visit in the evening for dinner as they had a great selection of food probably more appropriate for those who prefer to eat a meal in the evening. For the younger ones, who can still eat three cooked meals a day - they would love it.

It also has rooms so you can stay there overnight, for a weekend break or longer. Ilminster is about 5 minutes away in the car and is a great, rural town to wander around. It has the Minster, a couple of pubs, a fantastic 'Q' Butcher (thank you Mr Bonner for wonderful local meat) an Italian which is well worth a visit along with other shops to browse at your leisure.

You would get a wheelchair in the pub but I did not check the loos for accessibility and have no idea if they have any accessible rooms.

Note:
The car park is opposite the pub and the rear of the carpark backs-on to a ditch. There are sleepers between you and the ditch, but on a dark night should you be enthusiastic in your reversing, you could end-up in the drainage ditch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StocklinchTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stumbled across the New Inn after visiting Perry's Cider Mills. We were made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff and owner. Food was good and well priced, we will certainly be making a return visit and may even stay next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank RockyIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilminster
1.8 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton Cross
269 reviews
6.8 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Crewkerne
48 reviews
4.6 mi away
Square & Compass Inn
Square & Compass Inn
#4 of 12 in Ilminster
153 reviews
3.0 mi away
Shave Farm
Shave Farm
#1 of 12 in Ilminster
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn

Address: Cudworth Road | Dowlish Wake, Ilminster TA19 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Ilminster
Price Range: £63 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful unspoilt village of Dowlish Wake in the heart of picturesque rural Somerset, the New Inn is a 350 year old stone built pub and is situated just 200 yards from the ever popular Perry's Cider Mill and Museum.We have two separate bar areas both with wood burning stoves, a stunning non smoking Restaurant serving lunches and evening meals and a large secluded beer garden which is perfect for those warm summer evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Inn Ilminster, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing