We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend”
Review of New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Ilminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Found in the AA Good Pub Guide as a lunch stop returning from Devon. Not good. A beautiful day so sat in the garden which is much neglected, with tables falling apart and covered in bird poo. The service was chaotic. The food was not good with the sandwiches being poorly put together, no finesse and dry. Not worth the detour and certainly won't be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed for one night in early July.

Dowlish Wake is a very quiet village deep in the country south of Ilminster, made famous by Perry's Cider, whose mill is situated along the road in the middle of the village. The New Inn is at the south end of the village and is the local pub, with very good food. The accommodation consists of 4 bedrooms in a new block built in the back garden of the inn.

We got a warm & friendly reception from the staff and settled in to our room, which had a single and a double bed with a large bathroom with a shower. We were able to relax with drinks in the garden right outside our room. The room was very clean and had a small TV, good enough for us to watch the review of the day's action at Wimbledon!

We had dinner in the pub - and this was very good - nothing fancy, but very well prepared, tasty and served with a smile. Breakfast was excellent, with a range of choices including smoked haddock, which my wife enjoyed.

Dowlish Wake is surrounded by beautiful countryside and there are footpaths to explore in every direction. The church is worth a visit, set on a small hill - and the Cider mill is a must, along with the potter's studio opposite. The charming town of Ilminster is a few minutes drive to the north, well worth exploring.

All in all, a great place to get away from it all...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inglenook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

One of the best B&Bs we have stayed in, rooms spotless, pub warm and cosy, food fersh and scrumptious. Owners very friendly, a gem of a find in a beautiful spot for romantic weekend away.Lovely fields and pathways for a good hike or just a ramble in beautiful countryside. The Cider shop and museum around the corner is well worth a visit with locally collected assorted memorabilia and a chance to sample the various ciders made.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shiv32_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We recently stayed in this delightful pub in the quaint village as we were meeting up with relatives in nearby Cricket St Thomas. Although the pub itself was closed in the afternoon we arrived, we were warmly welcomed and taken to our rooms where nothing was too much trouble. Of the four rooms the pub has to offer, our party of four had two double rooms which were spotlessly clean & comfortable with plenty of clean towels, tea and coffee making facilities etc.
The evening meal in the pub offered excellent choice & was wonderfully cooked, the service was excellent and Alex looked after us all well. We had a visit from cousins from Frome whilst we were dining and Alex set a couple of extra settings for them & made us all feel comfortable.
The feel of the pub was exceptionally friendly & busy with other diners and locals, the Landlord was a great host and spent time chatting with all of us customers.
The breakfast was on the same par as the evening meal, with plenty of choice & served to us by friendly staff where again nothing was too much trouble.
In all i would highly recommend this B&B for its value for money, exceptional service, atmosphere & quiet location. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We live locally and regularly use the pub for informal suppers and for entertaining friends and clients. Everyone we have sent to stay there has enjoyed themselves and all speak highly of the breakfast and the rooms. Many other pubs in the area are either overpriced gastropubs or dismal dives; this one is everything you would expect from a Somerset village pub. You will get a better dinner and a more pleasant atmosphere here than you will anywhere in the nearby market town of Ilminster. They are very good at dealing with the requirements of small babies and there is no nonsense about not allowing dogs, so the whole family can feel at home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

I had recently booked to stay at The New Inn later this year, so decided to make a day out to see what it was all about.
We found the Pub to be located in a very pleasant location, with easy parking. The Bar and Lounge area are really what you would expect from a country Pub. We stayed for Sunday Lunch which was excellent value, the staff were prompt in the serving of the food & they also checked back to make sure that everything was alright with the meal.
The only thing I would say about it, and I know it's not everyone's choice, but I would have liked the plates to have been heated to keep the food warm, but all said there was nothing else I could say that would not make me return to this Great Pub.
It was also nice not to be called "mate" by the staff
A place I would say that very much deserves its rating as a 4**** country pub
Many thanks to the staff

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stopped at The New Inn,just passing through,for lunch,good menu and specials board of home cooked food,ate from both.All mains-Salmon,Crayfish,Rocket Fishcakes,Scampi and Chicken Korma plus desserts-Apple and Cinnamon Pie,Profiteroles and a Cheese Board were tasty,good portions and delivered with a smile.I would recommend this country pub,as a reminder how things used to be before the chain pub/restaurant era, warm and friendly service with a welcoming owners,whom seemed to be pleased to see you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetKeithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilminster
1.8 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton Cross
277 reviews
4.5 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Crewkerne
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
11.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
234 reviews
4.6 mi away
Square & Compass Inn
Square & Compass Inn
#3 of 11 in Ilminster
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn

Address: Cudworth Road | Dowlish Wake, Ilminster TA19 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ilminster
Price Range: £64 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful unspoilt village of Dowlish Wake in the heart of picturesque rural Somerset, the New Inn is a 350 year old stone built pub and is situated just 200 yards from the ever popular Perry's Cider Mill and Museum.We have two separate bar areas both with wood burning stoves, a stunning non smoking Restaurant serving lunches and evening meals and a large secluded beer garden which is perfect for those warm summer evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Inn Ilminster, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing