We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“picture postcard village inn”
Review of New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Ilminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

stayed here for 1 night , very welcoming ownwers and staff, spottless clean and very comfortable room, excellent food menu, will deffinatly be booking again to visit this picture postage friendly village.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lovely friendly country pub in beautiful surroundings. Staff always very helpful, and food very good and eat here often. Dog friendly too, and lovely beer garden. Would highly recommend. If I had to criticise, I would ask that the main menu might change, as have been going here for a long time and menu is still the same, although there is usually a specials board.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Called in again as in the area, we had my wife's auntie and dog with us,knowing this is a dog friendly pub. Good service and decent well presented food,we ate from the Specials Board,my pork steak with black pudding was excellent but as mentioned in previous reviews,a few more vegetables would be good.The cod,chips and mushy peas was plenty for my wife and auntie's cheddar ploughman's was more than enough for her.
Enjoyable lunch and would visit again,nice country feel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetKeithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for a night after a friends wedding. The staff were really friendly and helpful and let us check in early at no extra charge. The room was modern and clean. We also had lunch which was reasonably priced and very tasty. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 91Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights here, midweek in April. It is a nice pub, serving very good food. The room was fine, and the service was excellent from the moment we arrived, from the landlord, through to the breakfast lady, and the youngsters behind the bar. Very nice breakfast, but could have done with a little more! Our only criticisms would be that the cleaner turned the heating off, so our towels were not dry for an evening bath, and that the wifi booster was also turned off at inconvenient times. Lovely village too, with the superb Perry's cider farm just down the road. We would happily return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Mother's day and my mum's birthday. A special day spoilt by poor service. Set 2 courses £12.99 good menu but when it arrived only given 2 small plates of vegetables between 6 of us. Dished up very small portions leaving 2 people with one small potato and one with a teaspoon of cabbage only. Asked for an appropriate amount of vegetables and waited and waited and waited. Asked again to be told that the two plates were enough for 6 and they were very busy. Also sauce missing from the plaice dish apparently i should have asked for it even though it was written on the menu as plaice with tangy tartare sauce. This was by a waitress with pink hair and very little idea of customer service. Waited again. The chef appeared, very apologetic but still no vegetables. By then meal finished eaten cold when gave up waiting. Pudding - not enough chocolate cake so given chocolate sponge and one spare. Meal topped off with cold coffee which we were told was complimentary due to the vegetable situation. Accepted the coffee but on reflection should have refused to accept cold coffee as compensation. Left hungry and fed up. Suggest the waitress receives customer service training and if you book your restaurant full buy enough vegetables and cake!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank HEW65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Food pretty good. Butter, not butter....please put it in a dish then we can choose whether to use or not. Fire would've been nice, hubby kept his coat on all evening because it was cold. Food was very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyfulbichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilminster
6.8 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
2.3 mi away
Woodleigh Bed & Breakfast
Woodleigh Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 11 in Ilminster
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Square & Compass Inn
Square & Compass Inn
#3 of 11 in Ilminster
158 reviews
3 mi away
Shave Farm
Shave Farm
#1 of 11 in Ilminster
150 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Five Dials Inn
The Five Dials Inn
#1 of 1 in Horton Cross
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn

Address: Cudworth Road | Dowlish Wake, Ilminster TA19 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ilminster
Price Range: £64 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful unspoilt village of Dowlish Wake in the heart of picturesque rural Somerset, the New Inn is a 350 year old stone built pub and is situated just 200 yards from the ever popular Perry's Cider Mill and Museum.We have two separate bar areas both with wood burning stoves, a stunning non smoking Restaurant serving lunches and evening meals and a large secluded beer garden which is perfect for those warm summer evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Inn Ilminster, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing