We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find”
Review of New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Ilminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good find”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Friendly and welcoming staff, comfortable room, great food and ale. Delighted we found this pub in the lovely village of Dowlish Wake. Very accommodating kitchen, preparing gluten free meals when asked, and clearly understood what 'gluten free' really means! The breakfasts are probably the best we've had in a B&B and that's saying something. We'd thoroughly recommend a stay, and would certainly drive the Morgan back there!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richandnicky, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, it was very nice to meet you both (and the Morgan). Will hopefully see you both again soon. Rich & Nicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    30
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
53
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just spent 6 good nights at this village pub in a quite village just outside Ilminster.

We found all the staff very helpful & friendly willing to make our stay enjoyable as can possible be. The 4 rooms our made up of, 1 family/disable room & 3 doubles in an annex that has been built connected to the pub by a covered walkway to the back of the pub. There is no parking at the back of the pub garden but you can drive your car round for loading & unloading luggage if you don't what to take it through the pub. When the pub is closed there is a short walk around to the car park, just across the road from the pub, the front of the pub is right on to a quite village road.

The breakfast on offer is the Full English, contact them in advance if you want anything different for breakfast & they do their best to accommodate you. The pub also does dinner & evening meals, which as we ate there for 5 out off 6 nights of our stay. We found along with the special boards the choices were very good. All the food is cooked to order so arrives hot & fresh. If you want to eat dinner on your nights stay I would suggest you book a table be you leave for the day as the evenings can be very busy, most nights. We had no completes about the food or the service we received during our stay.

This pub is well placed if your thinking of visiting South Somerset or North Dorset with they many attractions. We intend to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the family & has the disable access, also is the closet to the rear dinning area were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickTw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richandnicky, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Nice to hear from you , really good review from you - thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, Essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night on our way to Devon and wished we could have stayed longer.The inn is close to the A303 and Perry's cider farm.
The lovely pub has 4 rooms all with own access from the gardens so you can come and go as you please. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.
We would have no hesitation in staying here again. Well done !

Room Tip: Room 1 is closest to the pub room 4 at the end of the row.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAYKICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richandnicky, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

stayed here for 1 night , very welcoming ownwers and staff, spottless clean and very comfortable room, excellent food menu, will deffinatly be booking again to visit this picture postage friendly village.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lovely friendly country pub in beautiful surroundings. Staff always very helpful, and food very good and eat here often. Dog friendly too, and lovely beer garden. Would highly recommend. If I had to criticise, I would ask that the main menu might change, as have been going here for a long time and menu is still the same, although there is usually a specials board.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
175 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Called in again as in the area, we had my wife's auntie and dog with us,knowing this is a dog friendly pub. Good service and decent well presented food,we ate from the Specials Board,my pork steak with black pudding was excellent but as mentioned in previous reviews,a few more vegetables would be good.The cod,chips and mushy peas was plenty for my wife and auntie's cheddar ploughman's was more than enough for her.
Enjoyable lunch and would visit again,nice country feel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetKeithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for a night after a friends wedding. The staff were really friendly and helpful and let us check in early at no extra charge. The room was modern and clean. We also had lunch which was reasonably priced and very tasty. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 91Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilminster
1.8 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton Cross
254 reviews
6.8 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The George at Donyatt
The George at Donyatt
#8 of 12 in Ilminster
79 reviews
4.7 mi away
Square & Compass Inn
Square & Compass Inn
#4 of 12 in Ilminster
143 reviews
1.6 mi away
Duke of York
Duke of York
#7 of 12 in Ilminster
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn

Property: New Inn
Address: Cudworth Road | Dowlish Wake, Ilminster TA19 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Ilminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — New Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful unspoilt village of Dowlish Wake in the heart of picturesque rural Somerset, the New Inn is a 350 year old stone built pub and is situated just 200 yards from the ever popular Perry's Cider Mill and Museum.We have two separate bar areas both with wood burning stoves, a stunning non smoking Restaurant serving lunches and evening meals and a large secluded beer garden which is perfect for those warm summer evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Inn Ilminster, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing