We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr wells”
Review of Shave Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shave Farm
Ranked #1 of 11 Ilminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We were so very pleased that that we chose shave farm. Just a great place to stay. A lovely cottage, great people and the kids loved the interaction on the farm. We will return 100%. So much to do in the area, the Jurassic Coast is only 25mins away( kids love it!!!)

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Stalkerdan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed for two nights after Christmas, as a change from staying with his parents in nearby Chard. SO glad we found this place! The bed was beautifully comfy (led there listening to the rain pound against the windows and the wind howling in the storm; didn't want to leave it!) Our room was clean and plenty big enough for the two of us.
It was easy enough to find (even in the dark!) and (both being from rural backgrounds!) we loved being on the farm and seeing the cows plodding across the yard from our bedroom.
Breakfast was delicious and there was the option of fruit and cereals as well as cooked.
Kate was absolutely lovely and very approachable. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone, and will definitely be back again!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EmyRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Shave Farm is wonderful - from the warm welcome from Kate (with tea and biscuits!) to the lovely decor and warm atmosphere. We loved the residents lounge with its stylish decor and roaring wood burning stove. Our room was superb - very comfortable with a huge bed, lovely bed linens and smart en-suite. Breakfast is delicious and Kate is attentive and friendly but gave us our own space too. Overall, Perfick!!

Room Tip: I'm sure any room would be lovely. We had the large double bed and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilliantomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here one Friday in the summer en route to Lyme Regis.
The farm is very well located, close to Ilminster and a short walk down to the village of Donyatt.
James and Kate were the perfect hosts - helpful and attentive without being intrusive. The room we stayed in was modern and well fitted with an excellent en suite.
Breakfast was excellent. My only niggle was that I couldn't get the WiFi to work but as the farm's private rooms were being decorated this may have been the problem.
The George Inn in Donyatt did an excellent evening meal too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OckbrookFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Lovely working farm with superb accommodation. Great cooked breakfasts and really friendly people. Couldn't ask for more and will certainly recommend to friends! The local pub (George inn) in Donyatt was also superb and only a short walk away...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Beautiful farm in a lovely area. We were given a lovely welcome. Bedroom and en-suite decorated beautifully. Very comfortable queen size bed. Spotlessly clean. Proper farmhouse breakfast. The hosts could not have done more to make our stay any more pleasant. Will be recommending this lovely bed & breakfast to friends & family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Travelling down and stopped for a stay over on the way to Cornwall. The bedroom and breakfast was really great, felt the host was a bit scared to talk us until we paid to leave other than that it was FAB!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Em E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilminster
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton Cross
282 reviews
4.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Woodleigh Bed & Breakfast
Woodleigh Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 11 in Ilminster
47 reviews
1.7 mi away
Square & Compass Inn
Square & Compass Inn
#5 of 11 in Ilminster
157 reviews
3.0 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#4 of 11 in Ilminster
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shave Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shave Farm

Address: Donyatt, Ilminster TA19 0SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ilminster
Price Range: £73 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shave Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shave Farm Ilminster, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing