We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant and friendly Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Square & Compass Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Ilminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham
1 review
“Brilliant and friendly Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed at the Square and Compass on business for six weeks and felt welcome straight away. The rooms are spacious and private as they are in a separate dwelling which means you don't have the problem of feeling uneasy about being in someones house.Chris and Janet make run the business extremely well and being there for that amount of time its clear to see they have got it right! The staff are fantastic and are a credit to the place,so attentive and friendly.The food was very good.I have left with very fond memories of the staff and the locals, I could'nt have asked for a better place to stay,I'd reccommend it to anyone!Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    36
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
29
76
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My partner booked this for a weekend getaway after I placed the information in his inbox!! On paper the Square & Compass was perfect for us, as we are a couple that loves to walk our two active dogs all day whilst we are away, have dinner close by so we can both have a glass or two of wine & a quiet room to sleep in as we tend to all fall asleep early!! In life it was also perfect.
When we arrived we were so impressed, even in February the place looked lovely & welcoming. We were greeted by the owners and felt instantly at home. We had room number one at the Stables which was ideal as there was a grassed area next to us so the dogs could pop out should they need to.
The room itself was beautiful, clean, airy, & large. The bed was the biggest thing I had ever seen and so comfortable. The bathroom was breathtaking, beautifully done, with a bath and wet room & again very clean.
We decided to eat in the pub that night.
The pub is my type of place, old fashioned country pub, with a great sense of comfort & welcoming. The staff were lovely really friendly & helpful. We asked to change tables but only so our dogs could be out of the way as they are unnecessarily friendly & love to say hello to everyone passing which can be unwanted.
We sat it a lovely cozy, romantic corner & relaxed with a glass of wine or two. That night my partner had the mixed grill & I have the Rump steak. The mixed grill was huge, much to my dogs pleasure! The meat was all cooked beautifully and obviously fresh. My rump steak was served on a hot griddle & cooked to perfection. The meat was so tender, one of the best I have ever had. For dessert I have the chocolate fudge cake which I would definately recommend & my boyfriend had the crumble, which beat him!!
We had an amazing nights sleep.
Breakfast was also beautiful, nice sized portion, fresh, cooked perfectly & served with a friendly smile.
The food was so lovely we decided to eat at the resturant for the second night also. I had the lamb, which was out of this world & my partner had the seabass, highly recommended.
All in all it was a perfect stay, gorgeous food, wonderful accomodation & great staff.
We want to say a personal thank you to the owners who took time to chat to us and make us feel at home. They made this trip for us & we will be back. Thank you all of you at the Square & Compass.

Room Tip: The end room has a grassed area outside so are ideal for dogs or children. Dont worry if there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaT871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This was our 2nd stay with Chris and Janet and their staff and despite the busy festive season they were as attentive, friendly and helpful as previously. The room was delighful with plenty of space, comfy beds, hanging space, Tv etc and the bathroom was almost as big! The walk in wet room/shower room was a treat with loads of clean towels and cosmetic goodies with plenty of hot water for that wonderful power shower. The restaurant menu was as excellent as our last trip with a vast selection of freshly cooked food at such reasonsble prices and breakfast the following morning again offered a vast choice. The surrounding countryside was so peaceful at such a hectic time of year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

People make a place! The owners and staff at The Square and Compass could not have done more to make us feel welcome. The rooms are very warm and comfortable and the proximity to the excellent pub made the weekend for us. The food in the pub (including the breakfast) is very good - though beware, portions are super big! The surrounding countryside provided good walks and the trip to the Jurassic coast is easy - so this is a good all round venue in terms of position. We loved it - and just wish the pub were closer to where we live!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMO8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This is a brilliant pub and hotel. My partner, young son and myself stayed just after Christmas and were totally impressed with the food, the service and the room, which was immaculately laid out and prepared. The landlord and staff were friendly and helpful...nothing was too much trouble. This is a great place to eat and stay and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others...book early though, once word gest around I expect people to be beating a path to the door!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Shame on you Amandajane of Dorset, The Square and Compass has not had a cat for at least five years!
This pub is a favourite of ours - it has everything going for it. The staff are always friendly, the beer is always excellent and the food devine. What more could you wish for , maybe somewhere to stay ? Yes, they even cater for that with lovely fresh rooms which are very spacious and delightful and a fantastic breakfast served in the morning. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset.UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I read the one bad review before I booked and was naturally wary but all my fears vanished on arrival. I'm inclined to agree with Chris the owners comment that this is a deliberate act by a rival as my experience here could not have been bettered and there wasn't a Cat to be seen! Friendly reception, superb meal (more than I could eat) comfortable and roomy with great walk in open bathroom/shower area. I couldn't fault it and will definately stay again.

Room Tip: My room (no2) had a huge bed and although there was Rock music in the outlying venue I heard absolu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojodave50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilminster hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton Cross
260 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Five Dials Inn
The Five Dials Inn
#1 of 1 in Horton Cross
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#4 of 12 in Ilminster
107 reviews
2.2 mi away
The George at Donyatt
The George at Donyatt
#9 of 12 in Ilminster
81 reviews
3.1 mi away
Woodleigh Bed & Breakfast
Woodleigh Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 12 in Ilminster
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Square & Compass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Square & Compass Inn

Property: Square & Compass Inn
Address: Windmill Hill | Ashill, Ilminster, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Ilminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Square & Compass Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, PitchUp, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Square & Compass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Square & Compass Inn Ilminster, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing