We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, country break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Certificate of Excellence
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cosy, country break”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely weekend break here. Room was huge, staff were friendly and hotel was warm and cosy. We had a great bar meal one night and breakfast was cooked to order. The hotel is in a good location for exploring the area - museums, cider farm, countryside.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eh999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    97
    36
    11
    3
See reviews for
37
115
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

What is always interesting with the Best Westerns is that you although you are booking a chain hotel, when you arrive, they are often run by individuals and it feels like it's not. The Shrubbery had quite a history, with the key staff having worked there for many years and the hotel seemed at the hub of the local community going by the list of organisations holding meetings/functions there. But as it's not very big and has kept that small hotel feel. Very helpful on reception ( Mike ) and we were upgraded to an Executive room (in the newer part of the hotel ) which was quite large with a good view over the gardens to the hills beyond. Food excellent, quite a small restaurant but food also served in the bar. I would imagine if there was a function on, it would take it over. Staff very helpful, whoever we encountered. A short distance out of town, good situation to explore the are. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rauma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Situated in a nice part of the world the Shrubbery has recently had a makeover. The staff are pleasant and efficient, local home from home folk who enhance the stay. Food is good but menu is repeated for the three nights we were there. Breakfast is excellent. Busy hotel with dance, wedding and 16 year old party.... Often recipe for disaster but was well handled and no disturbance during the night. Good hotel if you want to stay in Illminster

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

What a surprise this hotel was - fantastic room, fabulous, friendly, helpful staff. Food delicious, nothing too much trouble - even had smoked haddock and poached egg for breakfast - such value for money!
Stayed in room 7, it was huge! Decor was great, huge four poster bed - First time slept in one of those.
Had an evening meal in the hotel - that exceeded all expectations - has scallops to start and sea bass for main - Mmmmm.
Staff were great, so friendly and helpful
Area is nothing to shout about but there are lots of lovely villages around, and the air museum is well worth a visit. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Cider is the best I have ever tasted
Will be going back!!!

Room Tip: stayed in room 7 - 1st time in a 4 poster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Great find, great hotel. We got a good deal with hotel and had originally booked for 2 nights, but the weather was that nice we decided to stay an extra night. The check in was smooth and easy, we had been given an upgrade to an executive room on the top floor. The room, number 19, was large and airy with a very nice view over the Somerset countryside and the outside swimming pool - I bet that's great in the summer, but not on cold February days. We had tea and coffee making facilities with satellite TV. There a couple of small moans, duvets instead of blankets would have been better, I always "fight" with sheets and blankets, and the air-conditioning/heating was quite noisy and couldn't be adjusted because it was centrally controlled.
We only had breakfast with our stay with a very good choice ranging from full english, cooked to order, or continental style breads and croissants.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times now, and it doesn't disappoint. Very clean and tidy, staff excellent, especially Barb, food very good, couldn't fault it. On sunday morning breakfast when chef didn't have any beans to go with the full english, he sent out a large dish of sauteed potatoes, they were delicious, well made up for not having beans! Plus the lamb we had on Sat night was absolutely excellent. There was entertainment on Friday night, which was a bonus (Elvis impersonator), which was very good, he did have a very good voice. Think it was a charity event. Very enjoyable evening. A dog friendly hotel, we always have Rm 21 at back of hotel which is ideal for our dogs, and OK to take them in the bar, if not too busy. Only disappointment was no biscuits in the room with the tea tray, especially when you have travelled some distance, and fancy a nice cup of tea and a biscuit to keep you going til dinner! But other than that, excellent.

Room Tip: If you have dogs, rooms at back of hotel are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Bedrooms are great, massive, very comfy bed and all the facilities you could wish for. Bathroom again massive, very nicely finished and very clean. Hotel has free WiFi which is a bonus. The bar is lovely with a real fire and tv if any sports on. Restaurant lovely and food was really excellent. A very pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Brdly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilminster
4.4 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
4.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shave Farm
Shave Farm
#1 of 12 in Ilminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Woodleigh Bed & Breakfast
Woodleigh Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 12 in Ilminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Shrubbery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shrubbery Hotel

Property: Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Address: Station Road, Ilminster TA19 9AR, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Shrubbery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilminster in Somerset provides a fantastic base for breaks. Visit this quiet market town and enjoy the stunning countryside that lies on our doorstep. Ilminster is a charming town home to medieval streets, independent shops and regular markets. It is a great base to explore the many cycling routes, National Trust Houses & Gardens that Somerset has to offer. Located just half a mile from the A303 and 10 minutes from the M5, the hotel makes a great base from which to explore the beautiful county of Somerset. Individuals, tours and groups of varying sizes are welcome – the hotel has 23 bedrooms to choose from in a variety of styles. The hotel has ample car parking with easy access for guests. Recently, the hotel’s reception, bar and restaurant areas have all been refurbished. The bar, lounge and Revival restaurant are open all year around. Enjoy a simple snack, tasty carvery or more formal a la carte dining. This 3 star Edwardian Country House is a great venue for small intimate weddings, large receptions and civil wedding ceremonies. The hotel's ballroom (the largest in the area) can seat up to 250 guests for a wedding reception venue and there are 4 licensed rooms where a civil wedding ceremony can take place. Guests can stay in one of our 23 individually furnished en-suite bedrooms. We'll get involved from the initial planning stages right through to the big day itself. Our aim is to make your wedding day as special as it can be while alleviating some of the stresses along the way. For all enquiries, please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Shrubbery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Taunton
Taunton Best Western
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel Ilminster, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing